Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Hollywood: 1471 (Dress from 1937) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 771 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/10 10:14 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
44 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wreninrome said...
oh, Peter. how am I to compete against you and Cathy? love it and I want that pattern!
4/23/10 10:19 AM
marec said...
Cathy's slideshow=quite camp; dress is divine. I wish I had Cathy's lean figure.
4/23/10 11:23 AM
pterion said...
OMG, my colleagues are wondering what I'm chuckling away at here in my cube. I adore this dress. The color is a personal favorite. The accessories are perfection. Love the photo essay, so clever!
4/23/10 12:32 PM
valerie sews said...
Peter, I admire your feat of vintage sewing but I want to thank you for your sense of humour even more. Thank you.
4/23/10 1:03 PM
Aixoise said...
The dress is a stunner, and so is Cousin Cathy. What a great story. Where did you find the NYC photos? Too nostalgic! Love it.
4/23/10 1:29 PM
crazycurlgirl said...
So jealous of the uberchic cousin Cathy. I wish i had all of my grandma's patterns she made everything she and her girls wore.
4/23/10 1:52 PM
carolynw said...
Nice Peter - very nice. Cathy is so gorgeous - great photography!!
4/23/10 2:23 PM
MagpieJen said...
Your slideshows are brilliant - my heart skipped a beat to see that Cathy was going to catch a James Cagney show (my all-time favorite actor!) Cathy looks fantastic in the late '30s silhouette, and purple is a great colour for her porcelain complexion :-) A beautiful, polished dress fit for a star!
4/23/10 2:40 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Love the dress and your photos are fantastic.
4/23/10 3:07 PM
Knitters Delight said...
Cousin Cathy has evoked two words that truly describe my feelings : Gel-us. lol - Simply Fabulous
4/23/10 3:21 PM
Margaret said...
That is just a wonderful dress! I can't imagine how much time is put into the photo essays... but they really make my day! Thanks! (And wow, I think that's the most perforations I've ever seen on a pattern piece!)
4/23/10 3:52 PM
lynne1nor said...
You are too funny! Lovely looking dress. Definitely entire it in the Vintage pattern contest!
4/23/10 4:04 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Oh my gosh! what a great way to end a day of work! reading about Cathy's adventure. IT was the best! Oh and the color looks lovely on you. And great with all the accessories! You ae a sight to behold!
4/23/10 4:59 PM
FreyaStark said...
Another gorgeous frock! Cathy's a lucky girl. Good luck in the vintage sewing challenge.
4/23/10 5:52 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, all! Margaret, we never take more than about an hour to shoot the photos (which is about as long as my feet hold out). My partner Michael and I -- oh yeah, and Cathy -- just sort of run around the neighborhood looking for inspiration. There's no rhyme or reason to it. Then I look at what we have and try to craft it into some sort of narrative. That's the fun part. It doesn't always take a lot of time; it depends on how inspired I'm feeling. I find the "filler" photos to round out the story on Google images. The minimal photo editing I do in iPhoto. That's it. They're very fun to make.
4/23/10 6:10 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Love it, love it ... great job on the dress and Cathy's adventures are always a joy. Look forward to seeing your entry in the Vintage Challenge.
4/23/10 8:42 PM
MaryDB said...
Wow - love the pattern, and the result. Nice work. Looks terrific.
4/23/10 9:28 PM
Nikoo said...
Peter, you are just the best and so creative. I so enjoy reading your reviews and viewing your work. It is just a pleasure. Thanks for sharing.
4/23/10 9:31 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Very cool vintage dress and great photo essay!!!
4/23/10 9:48 PM
marthamyers said...
The pattern is wonderful. What a great find! Thanks for the detailed shots of it as you opened it up. And, of course, your resulting garment is fabulous too.
4/24/10 0:08 AM
annie1129 said...
Absolutely fabulous from start to finish!!
4/24/10 1:32 AM
Maree P said...
This is a great dress Peter, gorgeous style and colour and oh so well made - I envy your collar points. Your styling is also enviable - the animal print looks great with purple.
4/24/10 2:02 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
I loved the story of "Cathy Models." Very cute.
4/24/10 2:24 AM
gabrielle said...
I love the dress and its narrative. It's such an excellent idea to build a story around an outfit. I so want a Hollywood Pattern of Youth.
4/24/10 5:28 AM
Sic said...
Gorgeous color! Beautiful dress! And, tell Cathy I love her hat!
4/24/10 7:50 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous dress Peter. I like the style and the colour. Great photo shoot as usual. Michael is quite the photographer, and Cathy a wonderful model.
4/24/10 8:45 AM
1SewSweet said...
Peter, Peter, Peter, what a goregous dress and your cousin Cathy wears it so well too! I must admit, there was something about the yellow phone against your purple dress that sent the inspirations tingling pleasantly down my spine! Great Job!
4/24/10 8:54 AM
manola6176 said...
I've said it on your dress but the dress is so fantastic that I will say it one meore time, This dress is fabulous. Peter you are amaziing and qwe love you!!!!!!!!!!!
4/24/10 10:07 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress! For just starting to sew about a year ago, you do very, very well.
4/24/10 10:17 AM
Raye Ann said...
Cathy look terrific in her new day dress- the photo essay was so much fun! I imagined my so-chic grandmother, and my turn in "1940's Radio Hour" from high school... I wore a purple dress very much like Cathy's!
4/24/10 11:33 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Hey, I was in "1940's Radio Hour" too. I sang "You Go to My Head" (and wore pants).
4/24/10 11:51 AM
Raye Ann said...
I sang "That Old Black Magic"! Also did a very simple dance routine to Blue Moon- which my ballroom-competing grandmother choreographed:) Fun show, huh?
4/24/10 4:50 PM
JEF said...
Gorgeous dress; wonderful story. Great, great, great!
4/25/10 10:20 PM
BrightFeather said...
Oh, Peter! How is my piddly little embroidered toddler dress supposed to compete against such purple gorgeousness?
4/26/10 1:20 AM
Michele19 said...
what a great dress! It really does nice things for Cathy's curves! Great photo shoot! thanks again!
4/26/10 5:57 AM
lore h said...
None of us entrants can compete with you and Cathy. Frigging hilarious. Great dress too.
4/26/10 7:10 AM
Paris75008 said...
Oh I love those photo essays almost as much as I love to see Cathy modelling the lovely creations. She looks gorgeous as usual and the dress is a stunner!
4/26/10 9:20 AM
Rachelking1980 said...
Gorgeous dress Peter. I wish I had a cousin who made me such wonderful frocks. I love the accessories too. It looks a perfect fit.
4/27/10 5:01 AM
maryfrana said...
I love stories and dresses with stories and vintage and hats....made my day.
4/30/10 7:41 PM
Heatherrique said...
Geez, I am having major collar and sleeve envy here! Cathy is so glamourous in this late 30's medley! As always, Peter, you have a knack of taking something from the past and making it fresh and captivatingly gorgeous!
5/1/10 11:48 AM
AnneM said...
Nice style, love the color. If you were a little shorter, you could send the dress to me instead of Cathy. ;)
5/2/10 7:51 PM
fourkid said...
Love the dress - love the review - love the "story". I agree wiht Margaret - I don't htink i have ever seen that many perforations - they do make sense after awhile - but I have to stare at them for a bit. You always do such a great job.
5/3/10 8:40 AM
oldpatterns said...
Just amazing! Wonderful walk through of the process of using a vintage sewing pattern. The Hollywood ones are quite different from some of the others in that era. Excellent way to show off the dress! Loved the blog. Bravo!
5/3/10 11:58 AM
Englishstitch said...
fantastic!!..I adore the puff sleeves especially and stunning colour. Great photo shoot and I love your blog too ;-)
5/8/10 5:35 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Vogue Patterns 8386 Jersey dress
photo
Review by Blooms on 12/9/07
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )
Oliver   S A Day in the Park Backpack Tote Digital Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 02-2005-03 Fairy dress
photo
Review by EveS on 9/30/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 0172 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0172 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7185 Pattern
Burda 7185 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us