SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Hollywood> 1471 (Dress from 1937)

Viewed 774 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/23/10 10:14 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
44 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wreninrome said...
oh, Peter. how am I to compete against you and Cathy? love it and I want that pattern!
4/23/10 10:19 AM
marec said...
Cathy's slideshow=quite camp; dress is divine. I wish I had Cathy's lean figure.
4/23/10 11:23 AM
pterion said...
OMG, my colleagues are wondering what I'm chuckling away at here in my cube. I adore this dress. The color is a personal favorite. The accessories are perfection. Love the photo essay, so clever!
4/23/10 12:32 PM
valerie sews said...
Peter, I admire your feat of vintage sewing but I want to thank you for your sense of humour even more. Thank you.
4/23/10 1:03 PM
Aixoise said...
The dress is a stunner, and so is Cousin Cathy. What a great story. Where did you find the NYC photos? Too nostalgic! Love it.
4/23/10 1:29 PM
crazycurlgirl said...
So jealous of the uberchic cousin Cathy. I wish i had all of my grandma's patterns she made everything she and her girls wore.
4/23/10 1:52 PM
carolynw said...
Nice Peter - very nice. Cathy is so gorgeous - great photography!!
4/23/10 2:23 PM
MagpieJen said...
Your slideshows are brilliant - my heart skipped a beat to see that Cathy was going to catch a James Cagney show (my all-time favorite actor!) Cathy looks fantastic in the late '30s silhouette, and purple is a great colour for her porcelain complexion :-) A beautiful, polished dress fit for a star!
4/23/10 2:40 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Love the dress and your photos are fantastic.
4/23/10 3:07 PM
Knitters Delight said...
Cousin Cathy has evoked two words that truly describe my feelings : Gel-us. lol - Simply Fabulous
4/23/10 3:21 PM
Margaret said...
That is just a wonderful dress! I can't imagine how much time is put into the photo essays... but they really make my day! Thanks! (And wow, I think that's the most perforations I've ever seen on a pattern piece!)
4/23/10 3:52 PM
lynne1nor said...
You are too funny! Lovely looking dress. Definitely entire it in the Vintage pattern contest!
4/23/10 4:04 PM
Laurie Lou said...
Oh my gosh! what a great way to end a day of work! reading about Cathy's adventure. IT was the best! Oh and the color looks lovely on you. And great with all the accessories! You ae a sight to behold!
4/23/10 4:59 PM
FreyaStark said...
Another gorgeous frock! Cathy's a lucky girl. Good luck in the vintage sewing challenge.
4/23/10 5:52 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, all! Margaret, we never take more than about an hour to shoot the photos (which is about as long as my feet hold out). My partner Michael and I -- oh yeah, and Cathy -- just sort of run around the neighborhood looking for inspiration. There's no rhyme or reason to it. Then I look at what we have and try to craft it into some sort of narrative. That's the fun part. It doesn't always take a lot of time; it depends on how inspired I'm feeling. I find the "filler" photos to round out the story on Google images. The minimal photo editing I do in iPhoto. That's it. They're very fun to make.
4/23/10 6:10 PM
SheBear0320 said...
Love it, love it ... great job on the dress and Cathy's adventures are always a joy. Look forward to seeing your entry in the Vintage Challenge.
4/23/10 8:42 PM
MaryDB said...
Wow - love the pattern, and the result. Nice work. Looks terrific.
4/23/10 9:28 PM
Nikoo said...
Peter, you are just the best and so creative. I so enjoy reading your reviews and viewing your work. It is just a pleasure. Thanks for sharing.
4/23/10 9:31 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Very cool vintage dress and great photo essay!!!
4/23/10 9:48 PM
marthamyers said...
The pattern is wonderful. What a great find! Thanks for the detailed shots of it as you opened it up. And, of course, your resulting garment is fabulous too.
4/24/10 0:08 AM
annie1129 said...
Absolutely fabulous from start to finish!!
4/24/10 1:32 AM
Maree P said...
This is a great dress Peter, gorgeous style and colour and oh so well made - I envy your collar points. Your styling is also enviable - the animal print looks great with purple.
4/24/10 2:02 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
I loved the story of "Cathy Models." Very cute.
4/24/10 2:24 AM
gabrielle said...
I love the dress and its narrative. It's such an excellent idea to build a story around an outfit. I so want a Hollywood Pattern of Youth.
4/24/10 5:28 AM
Sic said...
Gorgeous color! Beautiful dress! And, tell Cathy I love her hat!
4/24/10 7:50 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous dress Peter. I like the style and the colour. Great photo shoot as usual. Michael is quite the photographer, and Cathy a wonderful model.
4/24/10 8:45 AM
1SewSweet said...
Peter, Peter, Peter, what a goregous dress and your cousin Cathy wears it so well too! I must admit, there was something about the yellow phone against your purple dress that sent the inspirations tingling pleasantly down my spine! Great Job!
4/24/10 8:54 AM
manola6176 said...
I've said it on your dress but the dress is so fantastic that I will say it one meore time, This dress is fabulous. Peter you are amaziing and qwe love you!!!!!!!!!!!
4/24/10 10:07 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress! For just starting to sew about a year ago, you do very, very well.
4/24/10 10:17 AM
Raye Ann said...
Cathy look terrific in her new day dress- the photo essay was so much fun! I imagined my so-chic grandmother, and my turn in "1940's Radio Hour" from high school... I wore a purple dress very much like Cathy's!
4/24/10 11:33 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Hey, I was in "1940's Radio Hour" too. I sang "You Go to My Head" (and wore pants).
4/24/10 11:51 AM
Raye Ann said...
I sang "That Old Black Magic"! Also did a very simple dance routine to Blue Moon- which my ballroom-competing grandmother choreographed:) Fun show, huh?
4/24/10 4:50 PM
JEF said...
Gorgeous dress; wonderful story. Great, great, great!
4/25/10 10:20 PM
BrightFeather said...
Oh, Peter! How is my piddly little embroidered toddler dress supposed to compete against such purple gorgeousness?
4/26/10 1:20 AM
Michele19 said...
what a great dress! It really does nice things for Cathy's curves! Great photo shoot! thanks again!
4/26/10 5:57 AM
lore h said...
None of us entrants can compete with you and Cathy. Frigging hilarious. Great dress too.
4/26/10 7:10 AM
Paris75008 said...
Oh I love those photo essays almost as much as I love to see Cathy modelling the lovely creations. She looks gorgeous as usual and the dress is a stunner!
4/26/10 9:20 AM
Rachelking1980 said...
Gorgeous dress Peter. I wish I had a cousin who made me such wonderful frocks. I love the accessories too. It looks a perfect fit.
4/27/10 5:01 AM
maryfrana said...
I love stories and dresses with stories and vintage and hats....made my day.
4/30/10 7:41 PM
Heatherrique said...
Geez, I am having major collar and sleeve envy here! Cathy is so glamourous in this late 30's medley! As always, Peter, you have a knack of taking something from the past and making it fresh and captivatingly gorgeous!
5/1/10 11:48 AM
AnneM said...
Nice style, love the color. If you were a little shorter, you could send the dress to me instead of Cathy. ;)
5/2/10 7:51 PM
fourkid said...
Love the dress - love the review - love the "story". I agree wiht Margaret - I don't htink i have ever seen that many perforations - they do make sense after awhile - but I have to stare at them for a bit. You always do such a great job.
5/3/10 8:40 AM
oldpatterns said...
Just amazing! Wonderful walk through of the process of using a vintage sewing pattern. The Hollywood ones are quite different from some of the others in that era. Excellent way to show off the dress! Loved the blog. Bravo!
5/3/10 11:58 AM
Englishstitch said...
fantastic!!..I adore the puff sleeves especially and stunning colour. Great photo shoot and I love your blog too ;-)
5/8/10 5:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

New Look 6115

photo
by: Deepika

Review
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 2675

photo
by: alimmay

Review