SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8048 (MEN'S VEST, TIE AND BOW TIE)

6 more reviews
Viewed 303 times 
Reviewed by:RobinMCPA
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About RobinMCPAstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 1/13/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/25/10 6:36 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Mens    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
You both look stunning. I love that you made him the vest and tie to match your dress. Very classy!
4/25/10 7:33 PM
ryan's mom said...
Okay. Really, who's going to be looking at the tie and vest when you two make such a striking couple :) ! And yeah, great tie and vest!!
4/25/10 8:53 PM
voet said...
You did a great job. You are correct about the lack of good menswear patterns. All of the pattern companies used to have a small but varied line of patterns for men. Today Kwik Sew, Burda and Islander are about the only ones who seem to be making new patterns for men. I hope you are not discouraged from making your DH another vest. Once you learn his "hot button" issues, hopefully it will get easier for you. Also, all of you talented women out there in Pattern Review land, make something for the men in your life every once in a while. It may encourage the pattern companies to reissue some of their older patterns and maybe even create some new ones.
4/26/10 8:59 AM
mhk3boys said...
Wow! You both look so good together! I would never be brave enough to make the tie! I can't even tie a bow! Well great job!
4/26/10 9:11 AM
RobinMCPA said...
Thanks to everyone for your comments. I had a long talk with my DH about the vest and tie and it turned out his only real issue was the size and stiffness of the buttonholes. I had been paranoid about making the buttonholes too large and also having the silk dupioni fray, so I overcompensated with too small of buttonholes and too much Fray-Check. I will watch that tendency in the future. Also I should probably have lengthened the back waist belt because I had added to the front side seams even though I didn't increase the size of the back pattern piece. I think this would have given a smoother fit in back (which I didn't show, but was just OK.) So the short answer is, I will be making this again in the future. Voet - thanks for the comments from a male perspective. That is always interesting to hear and also thanks for the compliment on how the vest and tie turned out! RLL, Ryan's mom, and Mhk3boys - thank you so much. I really appreciate the nice compliments! Mhk3boys - I was really nervous about the bow tie as I had no clue how one went together. But actually the instructions were very good and walked through step by step what to do. At first I was overwhelmed, but I found that when I just took it a step at a time, it wasn't hard at all.
4/27/10 11:47 AM
MissCelie said...
You're right. Menswear patterns are awfully hard to come by. It's too bad! You guys look stunning. And, I may try this in the future. I hate those rented tie and vest combos. Bleh. This, though, looks excellent.
5/13/10 7:18 AM
AnneM said...
Excellent vest. Yes, it is hard to find good patterns. I'm so thrilled to hear that you figured out what your DH's concerns were, because it certainly looks great on him.
6/5/10 9:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Butterick 6223

photo
by: The Dreams...

Review
EvaDress T30-1930

photo
by: motorharp

Review
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now