SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1061 (MISSES' TUNIC AND PANTS)

10 more reviews
Viewed 727 times 
Reviewed by:addicted2fabric
photo

 
 
About addicted2fabricstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 2/8/07
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/25/10 9:26 PM
Last Updated:4/26/10 3:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
margk said...
How disappointing for you after all the work. I agree the back is gorgeous! And your sewing looks fabulous. Maybe if you put it away for a while, when you get it out it might work for you
4/25/10 9:43 PM
nikarphar said...
Could you try putting some seams in the front to reduce bulk? how disappointing! your sewing is fab !
4/25/10 10:00 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
What a disappointment. Thankyou for the heads up on this pattern. It's too bad it doesn't work.
4/25/10 10:04 PM
snuzal said...
I LOVE the back of that, what a shame the front isnt practical. The back is absolutely gorgeous though.
4/25/10 10:57 PM
sewrelaxed said...
Absolutely love the back and sleeve detail. If this were my project I would re-cut that front, get rid of the wrap detail - go with a center closure of some type....just a thought. I don't know if you want to put more work into it, but if you won't wear it as is...?
4/26/10 0:35 AM
Athene said...
This is a gorgeous top. I love all the seam detailing work that you did. I hope you can save the front somehow so that you would enjoy wearing it.
4/26/10 2:37 AM
seweibhlin said...
I think you did a fabulous job. I am curious what fabrics they suggested for you to use? knits perhaps? that is the only thing that might have made a difference. thank you for your review.
4/26/10 7:09 AM
lamstu said...
perhaps you could remove the hood entirely from the garment? (I don't understand the whole hoodie thing, except on rain coats and winter jackets.) And sewrelaxed might be onto something with the CF closure. I hope you will try to save your top. I have learned much from similar situations. Good luck!
4/26/10 10:53 AM
JodieT said...
Your sewing is fabulous! I too love the back. I am like you on hoods, why have them unless needed for warmth or raincoat. Thank you for review.
4/26/10 11:42 AM
susiestitcher said...
Your top is lovely and I, too, am sorry that you don't like how it looks on you. I see no reason why you couldn't cut off the current sleeves at the appropriate place and add regular set-in sleeves. For the front, I agree that maybe you could re-shape the front with a CF opening and possibly cut down the hood (or remove it entirely). If you love the back and want to try making it more wearable, I'd go for it. If not, donate it to someone and try choosing another pattern in which you might be able to interchange the beautiful back pattern deisgn (with the sleeve part cut off).
4/26/10 12:59 PM
snuzal said...
Can't wait to see the altered version!!!
4/26/10 4:25 PM
DorothyK said...
I think you did a fabulous job with this. Perhaps it would have worked better for you if you had used a lighter, thinner fabric. I find my version very comfortable - I made it twice, with a bamboo knit and an RPL. Also, if you had a different fabric, you might like the sleeve styling better.
4/26/10 4:31 PM
becca a said...
I agree, the back is gorgeous as is your sleeve seam detail. I hope you can find a way to salvage the back. Good luck with the Jalie fronts. It sounds lovely unless the fleece is too bulky. I look forward to seeing your frankenpattern results.
4/26/10 5:50 PM
Tere Sews said...
I had the same issue with the look of the front and made it more of a cardigan. I trimmed the fronts so that they met at my center front and sewed in a small elastic ponytail band on one side and a statement button on the other. Try it.
4/26/10 5:51 PM
ClaireEmily said...
What a pity this didn't work out! It looks so promising and the back is gorgeous and really unusual. Thanks for your very helpful review.
4/26/10 6:37 PM
TJSEWS said...
Thank you for your honest review. I have this pattern in my stash. I purchased it because I do like the back detailing and the sleeve detailing. However, I am busty and have a tummy and now that you pointed out the problems you have had with the front, I believe I would have similar problems so I will not be making this one. You have saved me time and aggravation - thanks!
4/26/10 9:08 PM
grey ann said...
I am so sorry this didn't turn out for you. I think the suggestion to make a CF alteration is a good one. One reason for the disappointment might be your fabric choice - fleece, even a litewt. one, does not have the 'drape-ability' of a softer knit. It seems like the reviewers who liked this pattern used a drapey knit. Just a thought. But your review will help others ALOT!
4/27/10 8:29 PM
whistlin dixie said...
I, too, own this pattern, but have been hesitant to make it because of the design of the front. I love the surplice look, but my body might not look so great in it. Looking at the other reviews, it appears the front requires some tweaking to make the darts end in the right place, and for the fabric to drape properly. I agree that a drapey knit would be a better fabric choice. The back is, indeed, lovely. Hopefully it will work better for you with the Jalie pattern. I'm looking forward to seeing that version!
4/27/10 9:43 PM
Margasweet said...
Thanks for your great review. I've made this pattern (shorter version without the hood) and was also disappointed. Used cotton jersey, and I think it really needs a thinner drapier knit. As everyone else has said, the back is stunning. Wrap fronts just don't seem to work well on me, so I'm going to try to change mine into a front-closed cardigan--thanks for the tip, sewrelaxed.
7/5/10 9:56 PM
shaleenymay said...
I agree,I also have one disappearing boob,and one emphasized big one lol.and like you,when I try it on I have to adjust,adjust,to get it right and when I move,ugh.It also makes me look fat and disgusting,in the front.I'm so disgusted with mine that I don't want to finish the hem on it.I do like the luxurious big hoodie on it though! I plan to wear mine as a cardigan,it looks better on me that way.
11/19/10 6:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

New Look 6095

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Petite Plus 502 Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Buy Now