SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5321 

2 more reviews
Viewed 1125 times 
Reviewed by:vande
photo

 
 
About vandestar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/08
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/26/10 4:57 AM
Last Updated:5/5/10 8:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
addicted2fabric said...
I would love to be able to see the photos of this dress, it sounds divine but when I click the links it wants me to sign in to a website I am not a member of. Is there anyway you can link so we dont have to be logged in to see them?
4/26/10 5:27 AM
svetlana said...
I made this skirt 3 times last prom season. Thankfully this years client did not want a skirt with pick ups because I think I would scream if I had to do that one again for at least another couple of seasons. No matter what the material you use or how much horsehair, you need a petticoat underneath to give it the total full look. The weight of the skirt makes it fall in on itself. I also liked the horsehair application and have added to the dress I made this year even though it didn't call for it. Much nicer definition.
4/26/10 8:28 AM
sewrelaxed said...
I made this dress for my son's girlfriend for prom last year. Yes it does need a petticoat to achieve the look. I ended up using yards & yards of horsehair; I also attached a tulle ruffle to the bottom of the stay. We also decided to add a few more pick ups here and there. And just for her convenience I added a zippered pocket to the skirt lining for her essentials for the evening (she didn't want to hassle with a purse).
4/26/10 3:12 PM
Re Becca said...
That bodice really fit well! If I were you, I would find a place to rent a petticoat instead of making one and attaching it.
5/2/10 10:09 AM
Yu Kikuyu said...
Wow. I love this bodice. The dress is gonna be gorgeous!
5/3/10 11:02 AM
Re Becca said...
It looks fabulous! This was really worth all your hard work, the fabric choice and the skirt all look perfect.
5/5/10 10:54 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Just stunning, what a beautiful dress!
5/5/10 11:37 PM
Paris75008 said...
Love the black bias velvet at the top of the bodice. It really gives the dress a special touch. The dress came out lovely. What a shame the pattern companies don't give enough information as to how they achieve the look in the pattern photo. That doesn't happen in food photography.
5/6/10 6:19 AM
JEF said...
Stunningly beautiful!
5/6/10 7:14 AM
Jeannine1976 said...
Beautiful! I also love your use of black on the bodice. Sounds like the dress was a bit of a pain, but the end result is really incredible. :)
5/6/10 9:46 AM
RLL said...
Absolutely beautiful. Lucky girl!
5/6/10 11:57 AM
vande said...
Thank you all for your kind comments and suggestions. Yes, Svetlana and Sewrelaxed - it really does need a petti - and I think (if I had time that the ruffle would have helped as well. Re Becca - renting was a good idea - there just wasn't anywhere handy in time - so I had to plough on regardless, with what I had or could manufacture in the timeframe. Overall, the pattern was good - shocking waste of fabric with the cutting - I just think that perhaps I wasn't quite ready to tackle such an advanced pattern - and I would really like to have them put on the envelope what else would be needed to make the dress like the picture (ie underpinnings). Once again, thanks for your kind comments!
5/6/10 5:17 PM
carolynw said...
You did a fantastic job - it is a really beautiful dress and I am sure the young lady was pleased and happy as all get out to be wearing it. Congratulations on a job so well done
5/6/10 9:34 PM
MagpieJen said...
This is a super-helpful review! Despite the challenges, the end product is stunning! A very special dress I'm sure she'll always remember fondly.
5/7/10 12:53 PM
Jea1978 said...
Wow - you did an amazing job on this dress! It looks gorgeous.
5/8/10 11:04 AM
SoVintage said...
Beautiful! I will add this pattern to my wish list....never know when I might need something like this.
5/19/10 7:51 PM
AnneM said...
I suspect this style will always use a lot of fabric. But very nice results. Congratulations.
6/5/10 9:36 PM
ElizabethDee said...
beautiful gown, and such a wonderful review. i can't imagine making such a garment. what skill you have.
6/10/10 1:22 PM
nancy2001 said...
Simply breathtaking, and flawlessly executed. Bravo!
6/10/10 1:57 PM
Christas said...
This dress is amazing. The bodice fits so perfectly. I'll bet she felt like a princess at the prom!
9/29/10 8:32 AM
saramiriam said...
Hi! These comments are so helpful! I was thinking of purchasing this pattern to make just a skirt. And I also do not want it floor length...but around calf length. Does anyone know how this will play out, with the tacks and all? It's for my dd's friends wedding, so I dont want her wearing a maxi, since she's not part of the bridal party, but i do like the tack-look, with the poofs and all. Any pattern recommendations? - Miriam
9/4/11 10:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Burda 7493

photo
by: MariannaSe...

Review
Butterick 5559

photo
by: knitsewmuc...

Review

Pattern

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Buy Now