SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> American Weekly 9110 

Viewed 390 times 
Reviewed by:Selina
photo

 
 
About Selinastar
OR USA
Member since: 9/23/06
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/10 0:20 AM
Last Updated:4/30/10 0:21 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EyeSew1 said...
Your alterations were perfect. Great fit, great looking dress on you. Good choices all around.
5/17/10 1:21 PM
wreninrome said...
fabulous! way to go
5/4/10 8:41 AM
DesignsByDenise said...
The dress is very flattering on you. I really like the yoke - it lays flat with no gaping, a major fitting challenge. Great job - all eyes will be on you at the wedding - you'd better not stand too close to the bride!
5/3/10 11:20 AM
fourkid said...
I fully concur with your conclusion! Great dress.
5/3/10 10:37 AM
Margaret said...
Wonderful dress, congratulations!
5/3/10 1:32 AM
AnneM said...
Right on style! What a classic. Very nice.
5/2/10 7:49 PM
aireal said...
Gorgeous dress on you, love the alterations details. I'm really loving these vintage styles and reviews. Would love to see it with the bolero.
5/1/10 7:29 PM
Selina said...
Thank you all for the kind praise! This was so much fun, and I actually entered a contest on time! homejewel, the fabric swap I went to is through the Meetup Portland Sewing Circle. I think they are hostimg another one soon. It was much more of a sale than a swap per se, but it was neat to see some people's stashes!
5/1/10 4:27 PM
colorkitten said...
I can see why you love it! congrats and well done!
5/1/10 9:00 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I love this pattern. I am going to start a search for it. Great style. I think you look damn good in it also. Very flattering style for you. Great job!
5/1/10 8:05 AM
maryfrana said...
Wonderful shape to this dress.
4/30/10 7:39 PM
JillyBe said...
What a flattering look for you! Great job, & I appreciate the altering comments you gave - it gives me hope for grading or altering a vintage pattern!
4/30/10 3:59 PM
RLL said...
That is a fabulous dress. You did yourself proud and ,yes, you do look damn good in it!
4/30/10 1:34 PM
Marie_P. said...
The dress fits you beautifully and its such a classic color. You can dress it up or down.
4/30/10 11:24 AM
MagpieJen said...
Wonderful work! I can so why you are so proud of it! On the slideshow you wrote that you thought you raised the waist-seam a little too much - I think it looks great as is! I bet the dress is meant to be narrowest where you are narrowest (on most people this is just at the bottom of the ribs) and on the back photo you can see that you pretty much nailed it! So flattering on you!
4/30/10 11:02 AM
Scheryka said...
Ha ha. I agree you do look awsome. This dress is very well made. Lovin the bodice. The back ddarts are perfect.
4/30/10 10:47 AM
MaryDB said...
I am in love with that pattern! The dress turned out great - and what a perfect style that's current today.
4/30/10 10:46 AM
psgates said...
Fabulous!
4/30/10 8:22 AM
snuzal said...
You do look great in this! The shape really suits you, love the neckline. You've done a wonderful job of the construction, but of course the dress would look nothing on a coathanger! Loving it
4/30/10 5:17 AM
mendospot said...
Gorgeous!!!
4/30/10 1:35 AM
homejewel said...
Great job on your classy dress. The fit is wonderful. I'm intrigued about that PDX fabric swap (I'm in PDX area).
4/30/10 1:06 AM
lyndle said...
Great dress! Well spotted pattern! Thanks for the detail about how you made these alterations, I have been wondering about back bodice alterations and your photos and description have taught me quite a bit. Will look forward to seeing the finished dress.
4/27/10 3:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2011-126

photo
by: Elizabeth ...

Review
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Buy Now
Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now
Butterick 5496

photo
by: slmstyle

Review