Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: American Weekly 9110 - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 390 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Selina
photo
About Selinastar
OR USA
Member since: 9/23/06
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/10 0:20 AM
Last Updated:4/30/10 0:21 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lyndle said...
Great dress! Well spotted pattern! Thanks for the detail about how you made these alterations, I have been wondering about back bodice alterations and your photos and description have taught me quite a bit. Will look forward to seeing the finished dress.
4/27/10 3:20 AM
homejewel said...
Great job on your classy dress. The fit is wonderful. I'm intrigued about that PDX fabric swap (I'm in PDX area).
4/30/10 1:06 AM
mendospot said...
Gorgeous!!!
4/30/10 1:35 AM
snuzal said...
You do look great in this! The shape really suits you, love the neckline. You've done a wonderful job of the construction, but of course the dress would look nothing on a coathanger! Loving it
4/30/10 5:17 AM
psgates said...
Fabulous!
4/30/10 8:22 AM
MaryDB said...
I am in love with that pattern! The dress turned out great - and what a perfect style that's current today.
4/30/10 10:46 AM
Scheryka said...
Ha ha. I agree you do look awsome. This dress is very well made. Lovin the bodice. The back ddarts are perfect.
4/30/10 10:47 AM
MagpieJen said...
Wonderful work! I can so why you are so proud of it! On the slideshow you wrote that you thought you raised the waist-seam a little too much - I think it looks great as is! I bet the dress is meant to be narrowest where you are narrowest (on most people this is just at the bottom of the ribs) and on the back photo you can see that you pretty much nailed it! So flattering on you!
4/30/10 11:02 AM
Marie_P. said...
The dress fits you beautifully and its such a classic color. You can dress it up or down.
4/30/10 11:24 AM
RLL said...
That is a fabulous dress. You did yourself proud and ,yes, you do look damn good in it!
4/30/10 1:34 PM
JillyBe said...
What a flattering look for you! Great job, & I appreciate the altering comments you gave - it gives me hope for grading or altering a vintage pattern!
4/30/10 3:59 PM
maryfrana said...
Wonderful shape to this dress.
4/30/10 7:39 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I love this pattern. I am going to start a search for it. Great style. I think you look damn good in it also. Very flattering style for you. Great job!
5/1/10 8:05 AM
colorkitten said...
I can see why you love it! congrats and well done!
5/1/10 9:00 AM
Selina said...
Thank you all for the kind praise! This was so much fun, and I actually entered a contest on time! homejewel, the fabric swap I went to is through the Meetup Portland Sewing Circle. I think they are hostimg another one soon. It was much more of a sale than a swap per se, but it was neat to see some people's stashes!
5/1/10 4:27 PM
aireal said...
Gorgeous dress on you, love the alterations details. I'm really loving these vintage styles and reviews. Would love to see it with the bolero.
5/1/10 7:29 PM
AnneM said...
Right on style! What a classic. Very nice.
5/2/10 7:49 PM
Margaret said...
Wonderful dress, congratulations!
5/3/10 1:32 AM
fourkid said...
I fully concur with your conclusion! Great dress.
5/3/10 10:37 AM
DesignsByDenise said...
The dress is very flattering on you. I really like the yoke - it lays flat with no gaping, a major fitting challenge. Great job - all eyes will be on you at the wedding - you'd better not stand too close to the bride!
5/3/10 11:20 AM
wreninrome said...
fabulous! way to go
5/4/10 8:41 AM
EyeSew1 said...
Your alterations were perfect. Great fit, great looking dress on you. Good choices all around.
5/17/10 1:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Kwik Sew 0000
photo
Review by PittyPat on 5/22/11
Read Review

Vogue 8813 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8813 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6173 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6173 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2014-138
photo
Review by Elaray on 1/29/14
Read Review

Sis Boom Marissa Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marissa Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Suzi Purse Insert
Suzi Purse Insert

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us