SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 4174/4058 Vintage OOP (1960 Vogue Special Design)

Viewed 667 times 
Reviewed by:MaryDB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MaryDBstar
WA USA
Member since: 2/9/08
Reviews written: 53
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/10 10:41 PM
Last Updated:5/3/10 12:34 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 25 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lynn67 said...
Brilliant! Beautiful jacket and the buttons are amazing! Gorgeous fabric too. Thanks for the great review!
4/30/10 11:15 PM
lyndle said...
Gorgeous!! I covet your jacket. The buttons are genius, too.
4/30/10 11:18 PM
MagpieJen said...
Oh wow! I love it! It's so beautifully finished too - wonderful job!
4/30/10 11:47 PM
Patti B said...
Isn't this lovely? Wonderful frankenpatterning (a new verb!). Beautiful sewing too.
4/30/10 11:50 PM
khunter said...
Love the jacket especially the buttons! I am going to try that !! Thanks
5/1/10 0:23 AM
Vonnevo said...
A Fabulous Jacket !!!!! Love your buttons too :) Thank you so much for your VH review :)
5/1/10 0:45 AM
mm said...
This is so well made.
5/1/10 1:11 AM
tess said...
Your jacket looks absolutely amazing thank heavens it didn't become a tablecloth! Your review is really interesting and informative and I liked the link to your machine, I also have an old pfaff 260 semi industrial machine which is a joy to work on and copes with any thickness of fabric and goes really fast!!
5/1/10 5:36 AM
BJ1400 said...
So nice! Your buttons are great!
5/1/10 8:38 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful.
5/1/10 8:42 AM
colorkitten said...
Wow! Stunning. And that is awesome that you had one of the original labels!
5/1/10 9:16 AM
DaisyEsq said...
Simply beautiful! Thanks for the excellent review and idea for the buttons.
5/1/10 9:18 AM
JudyP said...
Beautiful jacket!! So creative an chic! I'm very interested in how you made your shoulder pads. Sometimes a jacket needs a little something, but purchased pads are not right. Can you post a tip or something explaining what you did in more detail?
5/1/10 9:33 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Beautiful job, Mary and I love the color. Those buttons -- I'm in awe!
5/1/10 9:43 AM
Paris75008 said...
Oh, that jacket is a stunning knockoff and so beautifully sewn too. I just love how you did the covered buttons.
5/1/10 9:45 AM
RisaJ said...
Absolutely gorgeous. The buttons are amazing; thanks for explaining how you made them. Plus a vintage machine to go with the whole process. What a kick!
5/1/10 10:43 AM
cmarie12 said...
Stunning, simply stunning! And what a wonderfully helpful review especially the instructions on how you made the buttons which really caught my eye since they are so original! Great job! And I don't care what you say...you sew FAST!!!
5/1/10 10:56 AM
MaryDB said...
JudyP, thanks for your kind comments. I did not make the shoulder pads. I used purchased ones I bought at the Puyallup Sewing Expo at the Professional Sewing Supplies booth. She had three thicknesses; I bought the thinnest. Professional Sewing Supplies does not have a website, just shows and mail order. They carry many quality notions and tools from Japan. Contact is PO Box 14272, Seattle, WA 98114-4272 or call 206-324-8823, Profsewingsupplies@comcast.net
5/1/10 11:28 AM
Kathi R said...
Your creativity with this fabric is inspiring and the buttons are a brilliant idea. Thanks for the review.
5/1/10 1:56 PM
chicagochef said...
Beautiful jacket! And the vintage label - how sweet is that! Great work! Thanks for the inspiration.
5/1/10 3:39 PM
Heatherrique said...
Eyecatchingly gorgeous! Beautiful work on this!
5/1/10 8:27 PM
MNBarb said...
I think you can upgrade your sewing skills level to "expert" after creating this beautiful garment out of a combination of patterns. Yikes! Too cute for words.
5/1/10 8:54 PM
manola6176 said...
You rock stunning
5/2/10 1:39 AM
MsMaryO said...
The jacket i sooo cool. definitely Mad Men style. I love it! And those buttons are fabulous. I'm going to have to find that article.
5/2/10 9:31 AM
clgangi said...
Wow! Gorgeous!
5/2/10 8:30 PM
graustark said...
This is too awesome! I love the styling, and those buttons are incredible. How did you ever think to do that?
5/2/10 11:23 PM
Margaret said...
This looks like it's SO nicely made, and a great use for this fabric! I love the buttons!
5/3/10 1:28 AM
fourkid said...
Beautiful jacket - not only did you make it - but you "designed" it as well. You are so creative!
5/3/10 10:26 AM
carolynw said...
Gorgeous - you did a lot of wonderful work on this - looks like really high end Coture!!
5/3/10 2:07 PM
JillyBe said...
What a great job - I'm in awe!
5/3/10 2:08 PM
Rhoda K said...
Great jacket and wonderful idea for the buttons.
5/3/10 6:22 PM
Kayseri said...
Gorgeous jacket. Those buttons just add the perfect finishing touch.
5/3/10 8:36 PM
kremmer said...
Beautiful beautiful beautiful!
5/4/10 2:27 AM
wreninrome said...
wow that is fabulous! congratulations
5/4/10 9:04 AM
fattyboomboom said...
Lovely jacket! Great job!
5/4/10 10:13 AM
jewelea said...
Bravo! To me, this is what sewing is all about: creating something unique, that you wouldn't be able to just go buy somewhere. And you've done it beautifully. Nicely written review, too.
5/4/10 4:57 PM
Jeannine1976 said...
Fantastic work. The jacket is timeless and I'm totally in love with the buttons. :)
5/6/10 11:48 AM
Carol Mendoza said...
Fantastic job! The color, fabric, style, fit and those buttons!!!
5/7/10 2:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Buy Now