Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 4174/4058 Vintage OOP (1960 Vogue Special Design) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 667 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:MaryDB
photo
Friend of PR
About MaryDBstar
WA USA
Member since: 2/9/08
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/30/10 10:41 PM
Last Updated:5/3/10 12:34 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
38 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lynn67 said...
Brilliant! Beautiful jacket and the buttons are amazing! Gorgeous fabric too. Thanks for the great review!
4/30/10 11:15 PM
lyndle said...
Gorgeous!! I covet your jacket. The buttons are genius, too.
4/30/10 11:18 PM
MagpieJen said...
Oh wow! I love it! It's so beautifully finished too - wonderful job!
4/30/10 11:47 PM
Patti B said...
Isn't this lovely? Wonderful frankenpatterning (a new verb!). Beautiful sewing too.
4/30/10 11:50 PM
khunter said...
Love the jacket especially the buttons! I am going to try that !! Thanks
5/1/10 0:23 AM
Vonnevo said...
A Fabulous Jacket !!!!! Love your buttons too :) Thank you so much for your VH review :)
5/1/10 0:45 AM
mm said...
This is so well made.
5/1/10 1:11 AM
tess said...
Your jacket looks absolutely amazing thank heavens it didn't become a tablecloth! Your review is really interesting and informative and I liked the link to your machine, I also have an old pfaff 260 semi industrial machine which is a joy to work on and copes with any thickness of fabric and goes really fast!!
5/1/10 5:36 AM
BJ1400 said...
So nice! Your buttons are great!
5/1/10 8:38 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful.
5/1/10 8:42 AM
colorkitten said...
Wow! Stunning. And that is awesome that you had one of the original labels!
5/1/10 9:16 AM
DaisyEsq said...
Simply beautiful! Thanks for the excellent review and idea for the buttons.
5/1/10 9:18 AM
JudyP said...
Beautiful jacket!! So creative an chic! I'm very interested in how you made your shoulder pads. Sometimes a jacket needs a little something, but purchased pads are not right. Can you post a tip or something explaining what you did in more detail?
5/1/10 9:33 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Beautiful job, Mary and I love the color. Those buttons -- I'm in awe!
5/1/10 9:43 AM
Paris75008 said...
Oh, that jacket is a stunning knockoff and so beautifully sewn too. I just love how you did the covered buttons.
5/1/10 9:45 AM
RisaJ said...
Absolutely gorgeous. The buttons are amazing; thanks for explaining how you made them. Plus a vintage machine to go with the whole process. What a kick!
5/1/10 10:43 AM
cmarie12 said...
Stunning, simply stunning! And what a wonderfully helpful review especially the instructions on how you made the buttons which really caught my eye since they are so original! Great job! And I don't care what you say...you sew FAST!!!
5/1/10 10:56 AM
MaryDB said...
JudyP, thanks for your kind comments. I did not make the shoulder pads. I used purchased ones I bought at the Puyallup Sewing Expo at the Professional Sewing Supplies booth. She had three thicknesses; I bought the thinnest. Professional Sewing Supplies does not have a website, just shows and mail order. They carry many quality notions and tools from Japan. Contact is PO Box 14272, Seattle, WA 98114-4272 or call 206-324-8823, Profsewingsupplies@comcast.net
5/1/10 11:28 AM
Kathi R said...
Your creativity with this fabric is inspiring and the buttons are a brilliant idea. Thanks for the review.
5/1/10 1:56 PM
chicagochef said...
Beautiful jacket! And the vintage label - how sweet is that! Great work! Thanks for the inspiration.
5/1/10 3:39 PM
Heatherrique said...
Eyecatchingly gorgeous! Beautiful work on this!
5/1/10 8:27 PM
MNBarb said...
I think you can upgrade your sewing skills level to "expert" after creating this beautiful garment out of a combination of patterns. Yikes! Too cute for words.
5/1/10 8:54 PM
manola6176 said...
You rock stunning
5/2/10 1:39 AM
MsMaryO said...
The jacket i sooo cool. definitely Mad Men style. I love it! And those buttons are fabulous. I'm going to have to find that article.
5/2/10 9:31 AM
clgangi said...
Wow! Gorgeous!
5/2/10 8:30 PM
graustark said...
This is too awesome! I love the styling, and those buttons are incredible. How did you ever think to do that?
5/2/10 11:23 PM
Margaret said...
This looks like it's SO nicely made, and a great use for this fabric! I love the buttons!
5/3/10 1:28 AM
fourkid said...
Beautiful jacket - not only did you make it - but you "designed" it as well. You are so creative!
5/3/10 10:26 AM
carolynw said...
Gorgeous - you did a lot of wonderful work on this - looks like really high end Coture!!
5/3/10 2:07 PM
JillyBe said...
What a great job - I'm in awe!
5/3/10 2:08 PM
Rhoda K said...
Great jacket and wonderful idea for the buttons.
5/3/10 6:22 PM
Kayseri said...
Gorgeous jacket. Those buttons just add the perfect finishing touch.
5/3/10 8:36 PM
kremmer said...
Beautiful beautiful beautiful!
5/4/10 2:27 AM
wreninrome said...
wow that is fabulous! congratulations
5/4/10 9:04 AM
fattyboomboom said...
Lovely jacket! Great job!
5/4/10 10:13 AM
jewelea said...
Bravo! To me, this is what sewing is all about: creating something unique, that you wouldn't be able to just go buy somewhere. And you've done it beautifully. Nicely written review, too.
5/4/10 4:57 PM
Jeannine1976 said...
Fantastic work. The jacket is timeless and I'm totally in love with the buttons. :)
5/6/10 11:48 AM
Carol Mendoza said...
Fantastic job! The color, fabric, style, fit and those buttons!!!
5/7/10 2:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Kwik Sew 2849
photo
Review by JKimes on 12/14/10
Read Review

Simplicity 3878 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 3878 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6296 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8-10-12-14 )
New Look 6296 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6668
photo
Review by beanchor on 5/19/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Flip Flops Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us