SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7828 

3 more reviews
Viewed 4448 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 383 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/12/04 2:17 AM
Last Updated:4/12/04 11:01 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Katy M said...
I always click on the picture of the garment before I read the review, and when I saw the finished garment I immediately added this pattern to the wishlist! I think it looks really good on you, its a very unique shirt! Maybe you've worked on it so much that you're seeing all the bad things and none of the good! I do that a lot. I didn't pick up any of those things that you pointed out about how it looks on you - it really does look good! Maybe put it in your cupboard for a couple of weeks and pull it out again when you've forgotten all the annoying parts about it!
4/12/04 4:05 AM
Deepika said...
Ann, the pattern does seem very complicated (atleast for me). But it looks very good on you. Really!
4/12/04 7:16 AM
jlg said...
I agree that you look pretty in the blouse (as always). I think that the neckline on this blouse is just beautiful.
4/12/04 7:19 AM
Sharon M said...
Ann, the blouse looks wonderful on you! I look forward to seeing your reviews since I have to do alterations very similar to yours :-) I agree with Katy, put it away for a few weeks and try it on again when the aggrevation isn't so fresh! Thanks for the review (and being willing to show us a photo of yourself in the blouse even though you don't consider it flattering to yourself)
4/12/04 8:08 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
I also like this one on you! It is a lovely pair with the skirt in the photo. I'm sorry you're not pleased with it, and I think that you're right, this pattern looks like it would lend itself to a drapey fabric. I really do like it, however!
4/12/04 8:29 AM
Hilary said...
Yes, this is very very pretty on you, Ann! It sounds like a lot of work, but I think the finished product is beautiful~very stylish and flatters you! Maybe if you look at it again in a week or so it will look good to you too :o)
4/12/04 8:43 AM
Skymom said...
I agree with the others--I think this looks really nice on you. Maybe the cuffs could be a little narrower, but the shaping through the bodice is quite attractive. Obviously not elementary to get there, but as usual, you prevailed beautifully.
4/12/04 8:53 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Ann, terrific review as usual, and I have to say I think the finished blouse looks beautifully made. But I'm going to go out on a limb and admit that although the top looks beautiful, I don't think it is as flattering to you as your clothes usually are. It's not my intention to be mean here; I'm just trying to kindly deliver an honest opinion to someone I consider a cyber friend. :-)
4/12/04 11:21 AM
Jules/Vancouver BC said...
I'm going to go against the majority and side with Rhonda on this one - it is beautifully made, but I agree, it doesn't flatter you as much as your other garments do. I think the fabric recommendations are too bulky - this would probably be better, as you suggest, in a thin silk or gauze. Like Rhonda - not meant to be mean, just agreeing with your thoughts about fit & flatter.
4/12/04 12:44 PM
Ann Smith said...
I add the "unflattering" photo between the comments from Skymom and Rhonda. Big difference in opinions. The front is not so bad, but that side view!
4/12/04 1:04 PM
Georgene said...
Ann, its the fabric...I think the lycra is making it "pop". The top is great and I think you should try it again in a silk broadcloth or something like that.
4/12/04 2:42 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Ann, I LOVE the fit of the bustline and the neck is WOW! But I tend to agree with your opinion wrt the hemline area. Maybe a lighter fabric will prevent the pop effect in the next one. Do you think that you couldl salvage this one by evening out the hemline? It would still be a unique top but may be a bit more flattering ... that's my two cents worth (and at the Canadian US exchange rate, that's not much!).
4/12/04 2:54 PM
layla said...
Thanks for the Review Ann. I also have this pattern (waitng to be made) In fact I love a lot of the stuff you review and have bought some of the patterns you have. The only diffence is you actually MAKE the stuff!! Me, I just keep reading reviews like yours. I think you should make this or the other version in a drapey earth tone fabric. Green, browns, golds, reds (jewel tones) look wonderful on you.
4/12/04 10:07 PM
stasia said...
This top was certainly well-made. There was an earlier review of this pattern that prompted me to purchase it. I have made a muslin mockup to get the fit and now I am wondering what fabric to use. I don't understand their suggestions, and now after reading your review, I am going to go out on a limb and experiment with a drapey fabric. Thank you so much for your review. I wouldn't have had the courage to experiment otherwise. Don't be so hard on yourself. I am sure that with your talent, you will find a creative way to salvage your top.
4/13/04 8:10 AM
wildhoney269 said...
I love the look of that pattern but as a beginner, it seems way too frustrating!
4/13/04 11:48 AM
AnneM said...
I just bought this pattern. I think other tops look nicer on you, and show off your wonderful figure better. I confess that I feel that way about both the front and the side view. I like the neckline on you. I will keep the fabric comments in mind when I (finally) make the top for myself.
4/13/04 12:58 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Good review and I think I know I will stay away from this pattern. I have to adjust things too much on a plain jane style. I can not buy RTW wrap blouses that I like, so I am out of this fashion loop. Your blouse is lovely though and maybe after putting aside for a day or two you will think better of it.
4/13/04 4:58 PM
Sue Anfang said...
Hi Ann! I think the neckline is very flattering but I agree it is a tricky fit & the fabric suggestions are not good. It is not apparent from the flat pattern where alterations should be made. This Armani, original I saw was made from very drapey (to the point of floppy) looking fabric like a thin georgette. You should try it again in another fabric if you have the patience, as it is really a nice cut. I think sewing the tucks to the end would be a good save on this one. Mine is almost jacket-like as the fabric has a lot of body to it, even though it is silky. Probably a drapey knit would work well like a rayon lycra knit. As Ann says it is not difficult to sew, so if you like it try a muslin first.
4/13/04 6:57 PM
clematis said...
I found this review very helpful. For example, I know to stitch all the tucks closed as I don't need any extra bulk around the tummy. Examples of fabric type to use are also helpful.
9/5/04 4:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

New Look 6807

photo
by: Sherril Mi...

Review
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2007-29

photo
by: KAHooke

Review