SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7828 

3 more reviews
Viewed 4452 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/12/04 2:17 AM
Last Updated:4/12/04 11:01 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
clematis said...
I found this review very helpful. For example, I know to stitch all the tucks closed as I don't need any extra bulk around the tummy. Examples of fabric type to use are also helpful.
9/5/04 4:07 PM
Sue Anfang said...
Hi Ann! I think the neckline is very flattering but I agree it is a tricky fit & the fabric suggestions are not good. It is not apparent from the flat pattern where alterations should be made. This Armani, original I saw was made from very drapey (to the point of floppy) looking fabric like a thin georgette. You should try it again in another fabric if you have the patience, as it is really a nice cut. I think sewing the tucks to the end would be a good save on this one. Mine is almost jacket-like as the fabric has a lot of body to it, even though it is silky. Probably a drapey knit would work well like a rayon lycra knit. As Ann says it is not difficult to sew, so if you like it try a muslin first.
4/13/04 6:57 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Good review and I think I know I will stay away from this pattern. I have to adjust things too much on a plain jane style. I can not buy RTW wrap blouses that I like, so I am out of this fashion loop. Your blouse is lovely though and maybe after putting aside for a day or two you will think better of it.
4/13/04 4:58 PM
AnneM said...
I just bought this pattern. I think other tops look nicer on you, and show off your wonderful figure better. I confess that I feel that way about both the front and the side view. I like the neckline on you. I will keep the fabric comments in mind when I (finally) make the top for myself.
4/13/04 12:58 PM
wildhoney269 said...
I love the look of that pattern but as a beginner, it seems way too frustrating!
4/13/04 11:48 AM
stasia said...
This top was certainly well-made. There was an earlier review of this pattern that prompted me to purchase it. I have made a muslin mockup to get the fit and now I am wondering what fabric to use. I don't understand their suggestions, and now after reading your review, I am going to go out on a limb and experiment with a drapey fabric. Thank you so much for your review. I wouldn't have had the courage to experiment otherwise. Don't be so hard on yourself. I am sure that with your talent, you will find a creative way to salvage your top.
4/13/04 8:10 AM
layla said...
Thanks for the Review Ann. I also have this pattern (waitng to be made) In fact I love a lot of the stuff you review and have bought some of the patterns you have. The only diffence is you actually MAKE the stuff!! Me, I just keep reading reviews like yours. I think you should make this or the other version in a drapey earth tone fabric. Green, browns, golds, reds (jewel tones) look wonderful on you.
4/12/04 10:07 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Ann, I LOVE the fit of the bustline and the neck is WOW! But I tend to agree with your opinion wrt the hemline area. Maybe a lighter fabric will prevent the pop effect in the next one. Do you think that you couldl salvage this one by evening out the hemline? It would still be a unique top but may be a bit more flattering ... that's my two cents worth (and at the Canadian US exchange rate, that's not much!).
4/12/04 2:54 PM
Georgene said...
Ann, its the fabric...I think the lycra is making it "pop". The top is great and I think you should try it again in a silk broadcloth or something like that.
4/12/04 2:42 PM
Ann Smith said...
I add the "unflattering" photo between the comments from Skymom and Rhonda. Big difference in opinions. The front is not so bad, but that side view!
4/12/04 1:04 PM
Jules/Vancouver BC said...
I'm going to go against the majority and side with Rhonda on this one - it is beautifully made, but I agree, it doesn't flatter you as much as your other garments do. I think the fabric recommendations are too bulky - this would probably be better, as you suggest, in a thin silk or gauze. Like Rhonda - not meant to be mean, just agreeing with your thoughts about fit & flatter.
4/12/04 12:44 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
Ann, terrific review as usual, and I have to say I think the finished blouse looks beautifully made. But I'm going to go out on a limb and admit that although the top looks beautiful, I don't think it is as flattering to you as your clothes usually are. It's not my intention to be mean here; I'm just trying to kindly deliver an honest opinion to someone I consider a cyber friend. :-)
4/12/04 11:21 AM
Skymom said...
I agree with the others--I think this looks really nice on you. Maybe the cuffs could be a little narrower, but the shaping through the bodice is quite attractive. Obviously not elementary to get there, but as usual, you prevailed beautifully.
4/12/04 8:53 AM
Hilary said...
Yes, this is very very pretty on you, Ann! It sounds like a lot of work, but I think the finished product is beautiful~very stylish and flatters you! Maybe if you look at it again in a week or so it will look good to you too :o)
4/12/04 8:43 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
I also like this one on you! It is a lovely pair with the skirt in the photo. I'm sorry you're not pleased with it, and I think that you're right, this pattern looks like it would lend itself to a drapey fabric. I really do like it, however!
4/12/04 8:29 AM
Sharon M said...
Ann, the blouse looks wonderful on you! I look forward to seeing your reviews since I have to do alterations very similar to yours :-) I agree with Katy, put it away for a few weeks and try it on again when the aggrevation isn't so fresh! Thanks for the review (and being willing to show us a photo of yourself in the blouse even though you don't consider it flattering to yourself)
4/12/04 8:08 AM
jlg said...
I agree that you look pretty in the blouse (as always). I think that the neckline on this blouse is just beautiful.
4/12/04 7:19 AM
Deepika said...
Ann, the pattern does seem very complicated (atleast for me). But it looks very good on you. Really!
4/12/04 7:16 AM
Katy M said...
I always click on the picture of the garment before I read the review, and when I saw the finished garment I immediately added this pattern to the wishlist! I think it looks really good on you, its a very unique shirt! Maybe you've worked on it so much that you're seeing all the bad things and none of the good! I do that a lot. I didn't pick up any of those things that you pointed out about how it looks on you - it really does look good! Maybe put it in your cupboard for a couple of weeks and pull it out again when you've forgotten all the annoying parts about it!
4/12/04 4:05 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Japanese Pattern Books Drape Drape 3: Dress 2

photo
by: meggipeg

Review
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Buy Now
Simplicity 5581

photo
by: brissmith

Review