SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1203 (Tank Top and Shell)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1918 times 
Reviewed by:Cynthia Saska
photo

 
 
About Cynthia Saskastar
TX
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/12/04 3:43 PM
Last Updated:4/13/04 7:17 PM


Review Rating: Needs More Info by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Johsews said...
I've been using this pattern a lot too. Did you have to size up for the linen?
4/12/04 8:44 PM
Liana said...
Sounds like I need this pattern. I like the LH patterns I've made.
4/13/04 0:08 AM
Rebecca D said...
How was the fit in the armholes? Also, did you have to do a full bust adjustment? I'm looking for a tank top shell pattern and just want one good one. Maybe this is it.
4/13/04 6:12 AM
Mini said...
I have made both the shell and the tank. The tank seems best suited for knits, or for figures with a B cup or smaller. I am 5'4" with a C bust, and can wear the shell unaltered (but just barely.) I usually raise the armholes on TS patterns, but didn't need to with these. The shell does seem to work in lots of fabrics, and can be layered like a vest over a close fitting tee.
4/13/04 9:26 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Have not tried this pattern but your shell looks good and obviously you have had great success with this pattern.
4/14/04 5:50 AM
Cynthia Saska said...
No, I don't change the size for different fabrics, but it is interesting to see how the same pattern can vary so much depending on the fabric used. The tops don't have darts, but the side seams are graded into slight curves and slightly eased creating some shape in the front. I don't need to make a full-bust adjustment.
4/14/04 9:54 AM
anna mermaid said...
Cynthia, your work is very inspiring. Could you tell us how the Textile Studio shell differs from the Sewing Workshop shell that comes with the Mission Jacket pattern. I noticed you have made both of them.
4/14/04 5:34 PM
Cynthia Saska said...
I compared this top (in size L) with the Mission tank (size M)--the armhole is cut in more on the Textile Studio shell. The Mission tank sort of A-lines down to the hem whereas the curve on the shell is more subtle. The tank is 1 1/2" longer and feels a little boxier to me since there's more ease through the waist and hips.
4/18/04 3:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2012-136b

photo
by: KAHooke

Review
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Buy Now