Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2938 (Princess Seam Tank) thumbsup - Type:Tops
Review submitted in Natural Fibres Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 1348 times 33 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/10 11:27 AM
Last Updated:5/24/12 10:59 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Plus    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
So cute-and the fabric is great with your coloring. I agree with you on the woven top issue and have found that S2917 can be used as a top even without a zipper.
5/4/10 11:51 AM
Mirakel said...
Very nice - I like the adjustments that you made - deleted the facing and used the binding as a design feature, it adds a little extra interest!
5/4/10 12:26 PM
Terri A said...
Is this the one you did the burn test on (podcast) and realized it was even better than you thought? It is very pretty. Wow stretch silk charmeuse for only three dollars a yard...
5/4/10 2:18 PM
Mufffet said...
GREAT fabric, and this top is extremely flattering on you. Quite versatile a piece, as you mention!
5/4/10 2:48 PM
poplin said...
Am I ever glad that I've remembered to add you to my faves... I'm learning so much from you and you inspire me to sew, sew, sew! Thanks a bunch. BTW, you look awesome in this tank top.
5/4/10 3:57 PM
Andrea670 said...
I love the fabric on this one. Nice job as always.
5/4/10 5:20 PM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely top, and a nice job on the neck and sleeve bindings, too.
5/4/10 6:17 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice top. I've been contemplating sewing this in a knit so knowing the bindings work for this pattern is helpful. Thanks.
5/4/10 7:50 PM
Big in Japan said...
Love the fabric. Death to facings! Bindings rule!
5/4/10 10:07 PM
colorkitten said...
How cute! And I love your bias binding on the neck. I think it's a definite improvement!
5/5/10 9:49 AM
gsp1066 said...
The bias binding is a big improvement. Do you think you could have omitted the zipper in a nonstretch woven?
5/9/10 12:21 PM
nicegirl said...
GSP, I hadn't even noticed that it called for a zipper! I didn't use one. I added that to the review.
5/10/10 8:05 AM
kristinlala said...
Super cute!!!!!
6/30/11 11:39 PM
JEF said...
Wonderful and great explanation/photos of the FOE. Thanks.
5/24/12 3:06 PM
velosewer said...
This is very pretty. I'd go back to Vietnam at a moments notice. It's such a great place to visit.
5/24/12 7:04 PM
Barbara V said...
Both versions are really nice. I agree, for a woven fabric, these are a nice shape and flattering and also look nice belted.
5/24/12 8:02 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Very pretty!
5/24/12 8:29 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
What a great top and perfect pullover! Thanks so much for the great review!
5/25/12 7:16 AM
wendyrb said...
Wonderful top and review. Your info on FOE is better than most I've found from internet searches, so double thanks for that. Based on your detailed review, I may add this pattern to my comically long project line up.
6/2/12 1:13 PM
homewerk said...
Winner! Cute top and great fabric.
6/4/12 1:56 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Butterick 5454 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by imsewcrazy on 1/2/12
Read Review

Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern
Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Fresh Bloom Frock Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Fresh Bloom Frock Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Named Clothing Andy coat Andy coat
photo
Review by thewall on 12/22/13
Read Review

Burda 7207 Pattern
Burda 7207 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8652 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8652 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us