SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2938 (Princess Seam Tank)

34 more reviews
Review submitted in Natural Fibres Contest Contest
Viewed 1391 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 323
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 319 people
patterns reviewed: 323
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/10 11:27 AM
Last Updated:5/24/12 10:59 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

The Smuggler's Daughter


Online Fabric Store
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
homewerk said...
Winner! Cute top and great fabric.
6/4/12 1:56 AM
wendyrb said...
Wonderful top and review. Your info on FOE is better than most I've found from internet searches, so double thanks for that. Based on your detailed review, I may add this pattern to my comically long project line up.
6/2/12 1:13 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
What a great top and perfect pullover! Thanks so much for the great review!
5/25/12 7:16 AM
imsewcrazy said...
Very pretty!
5/24/12 8:29 PM
Barbara V said...
Both versions are really nice. I agree, for a woven fabric, these are a nice shape and flattering and also look nice belted.
5/24/12 8:02 PM
velosewer said...
This is very pretty. I'd go back to Vietnam at a moments notice. It's such a great place to visit.
5/24/12 7:04 PM
JEF said...
Wonderful and great explanation/photos of the FOE. Thanks.
5/24/12 3:06 PM
kristinlala said...
Super cute!!!!!
6/30/11 11:39 PM
nicegirl said...
GSP, I hadn't even noticed that it called for a zipper! I didn't use one. I added that to the review.
5/10/10 8:05 AM
gsp1066 said...
The bias binding is a big improvement. Do you think you could have omitted the zipper in a nonstretch woven?
5/9/10 12:21 PM
colorkitten said...
How cute! And I love your bias binding on the neck. I think it's a definite improvement!
5/5/10 9:49 AM
Big in Japan said...
Love the fabric. Death to facings! Bindings rule!
5/4/10 10:07 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice top. I've been contemplating sewing this in a knit so knowing the bindings work for this pattern is helpful. Thanks.
5/4/10 7:50 PM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely top, and a nice job on the neck and sleeve bindings, too.
5/4/10 6:17 PM
Andrea670 said...
I love the fabric on this one. Nice job as always.
5/4/10 5:20 PM
poplin said...
Am I ever glad that I've remembered to add you to my faves... I'm learning so much from you and you inspire me to sew, sew, sew! Thanks a bunch. BTW, you look awesome in this tank top.
5/4/10 3:57 PM
Mufffet said...
GREAT fabric, and this top is extremely flattering on you. Quite versatile a piece, as you mention!
5/4/10 2:48 PM
Terri A said...
Is this the one you did the burn test on (podcast) and realized it was even better than you thought? It is very pretty. Wow stretch silk charmeuse for only three dollars a yard...
5/4/10 2:18 PM
Mirakel said...
Very nice - I like the adjustments that you made - deleted the facing and used the binding as a design feature, it adds a little extra interest!
5/4/10 12:26 PM
marec said...
So cute-and the fabric is great with your coloring. I agree with you on the woven top issue and have found that S2917 can be used as a top even without a zipper.
5/4/10 11:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 9836

photo
by: KamiSue2

Review
Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Sewn Square One Small Change Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Buy Now