SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2938 (Princess Seam Tank)

33 more reviews
Review submitted in Natural Fibres Contest Contest
Viewed 1386 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/10 11:27 AM
Last Updated:5/24/12 10:59 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
So cute-and the fabric is great with your coloring. I agree with you on the woven top issue and have found that S2917 can be used as a top even without a zipper.
5/4/10 11:51 AM
Mirakel said...
Very nice - I like the adjustments that you made - deleted the facing and used the binding as a design feature, it adds a little extra interest!
5/4/10 12:26 PM
Terri A said...
Is this the one you did the burn test on (podcast) and realized it was even better than you thought? It is very pretty. Wow stretch silk charmeuse for only three dollars a yard...
5/4/10 2:18 PM
Mufffet said...
GREAT fabric, and this top is extremely flattering on you. Quite versatile a piece, as you mention!
5/4/10 2:48 PM
poplin said...
Am I ever glad that I've remembered to add you to my faves... I'm learning so much from you and you inspire me to sew, sew, sew! Thanks a bunch. BTW, you look awesome in this tank top.
5/4/10 3:57 PM
Andrea670 said...
I love the fabric on this one. Nice job as always.
5/4/10 5:20 PM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely top, and a nice job on the neck and sleeve bindings, too.
5/4/10 6:17 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice top. I've been contemplating sewing this in a knit so knowing the bindings work for this pattern is helpful. Thanks.
5/4/10 7:50 PM
Big in Japan said...
Love the fabric. Death to facings! Bindings rule!
5/4/10 10:07 PM
colorkitten said...
How cute! And I love your bias binding on the neck. I think it's a definite improvement!
5/5/10 9:49 AM
gsp1066 said...
The bias binding is a big improvement. Do you think you could have omitted the zipper in a nonstretch woven?
5/9/10 12:21 PM
nicegirl said...
GSP, I hadn't even noticed that it called for a zipper! I didn't use one. I added that to the review.
5/10/10 8:05 AM
kristinlala said...
Super cute!!!!!
6/30/11 11:39 PM
JEF said...
Wonderful and great explanation/photos of the FOE. Thanks.
5/24/12 3:06 PM
velosewer said...
This is very pretty. I'd go back to Vietnam at a moments notice. It's such a great place to visit.
5/24/12 7:04 PM
Barbara V said...
Both versions are really nice. I agree, for a woven fabric, these are a nice shape and flattering and also look nice belted.
5/24/12 8:02 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Very pretty!
5/24/12 8:29 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
What a great top and perfect pullover! Thanks so much for the great review!
5/25/12 7:16 AM
wendyrb said...
Wonderful top and review. Your info on FOE is better than most I've found from internet searches, so double thanks for that. Based on your detailed review, I may add this pattern to my comically long project line up.
6/2/12 1:13 PM
homewerk said...
Winner! Cute top and great fabric.
6/4/12 1:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now
Self Drafted Pattern 2069-1001

photo
by: SouthernSt...

Review