SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8650 (Misses' Top)

9 more reviews
Viewed 599 times 
Reviewed by:jewelea
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jeweleastar
TX USA
Member since: 10/19/05
Reviews written: 43
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/10 4:36 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Phillis2 said... (4/26/12 4:38 PM) Reply
Thank you for your very helpful advice. I'm in the midst of making this pattern with an inexpensive knit fabric purchased from JoAnn's red ticket table. It's a black on white flower print and I already believe this top would look best on plain color fabric. I have the pleats pinned but can already see that the neckline is going to be too large. Of all those who've made this top, I believe yours look best.
gabc said... (11/1/11 7:44 AM) Reply
I think your top looks great, but I wish I'd read this review before! I made this top over the weekend in a knit fabric and had the same issues; I suppose the sizing may be right for a woven but that neckline would still be problematic.
pammieh said... (8/1/10 3:14 AM) Reply
I tried to make this work as well with a knit - I just couldn't make it work - I thought big deal - only an hour wasted - after three - four hours . . . wadder!
diane s said... (6/3/10 12:35 PM) Reply
thanks for the info, I'll stick with a woven or firm knit
Kayseri said... (5/5/10 9:45 PM) Reply
Your final top looks lovely. Well worth your perserverance
AquariJenn said... (5/5/10 1:13 PM) Reply
I was looking t this pattern recently. Thank you for the review.
pterion said... (5/5/10 12:02 PM) Reply
This is a lovely top and a really helpful review. I think I want to try this pattern now!
nicegirl said... (5/4/10 9:39 PM) Reply
Thank you for detailing the underpinnings you put into this top--also like the suggestion to make it in a lightweight woven.
carolynw said... (5/4/10 6:47 PM) Reply
Very nice looking top and a really, really helpful review. Have the pattern and think I will make a muslin first (don't usually on a loose fitting casual top) and may do as you suggest and use a light weight woven.
wsm2408 said... (5/4/10 5:09 PM) Reply
The top looks very comfortable and you have picked a great colour. I hope you enjoy wearing it!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8259

photo
by: becca a

Review
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Pattern Details
Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Shapes Three Fold Vest Pattern

Pattern Details