SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8650 (Misses' Top)

9 more reviews
Viewed 593 times 
Reviewed by:jewelea
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jeweleastar
TX USA
Member since: 10/19/05
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/4/10 4:36 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wsm2408 said...
The top looks very comfortable and you have picked a great colour. I hope you enjoy wearing it!
5/4/10 5:09 PM
carolynw said...
Very nice looking top and a really, really helpful review. Have the pattern and think I will make a muslin first (don't usually on a loose fitting casual top) and may do as you suggest and use a light weight woven.
5/4/10 6:47 PM
nicegirl said...
Thank you for detailing the underpinnings you put into this top--also like the suggestion to make it in a lightweight woven.
5/4/10 9:39 PM
pterion said...
This is a lovely top and a really helpful review. I think I want to try this pattern now!
5/5/10 12:02 PM
AquariJenn said...
I was looking t this pattern recently. Thank you for the review.
5/5/10 1:13 PM
Kayseri said...
Your final top looks lovely. Well worth your perserverance
5/5/10 9:45 PM
diane s said...
thanks for the info, I'll stick with a woven or firm knit
6/3/10 12:35 PM
pammieh said...
I tried to make this work as well with a knit - I just couldn't make it work - I thought big deal - only an hour wasted - after three - four hours . . . wadder!
8/1/10 3:14 AM
gabc said...
I think your top looks great, but I wish I'd read this review before! I made this top over the weekend in a knit fabric and had the same issues; I suppose the sizing may be right for a woven but that neckline would still be problematic.
11/1/11 7:44 AM
Phillis2 said...
Thank you for your very helpful advice. I'm in the midst of making this pattern with an inexpensive knit fabric purchased from JoAnn's red ticket table. It's a black on white flower print and I already believe this top would look best on plain color fabric. I have the pleats pinned but can already see that the neckline is going to be too large. Of all those who've made this top, I believe yours look best.
4/26/12 4:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Kayla Kennington 721

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Simplicity 2292

photo
by: wildbluest...

Review
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Buy Now