Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2589 (Misses Tudor Costume) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 381 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:timetravelcostumes
photo
About timetravelcostumesstar
FL USA
Member since: 1/28/09
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/6/10 11:13 AM
Last Updated:5/7/10 10:21 AM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
5/6/10 3:14 PM
Maggiedoll said...
Looks great! I actually did do the cartridge pleating the way the pattern instructs, and it wasn't nearly as bad as you make it sound. They're meant to be fairly large pleats, and the gingham is partly to make the stitches even and partly as a finish and to make the pleats have more substance. Attaching only the tops of the pleats to the bodice is what makes it spring out so much, so you're also taking about a relatively small amount of hand sewing compared to the amount of fabric that you're attaching. It definitely didn't take me all day.
5/6/10 3:53 PM
timetravelcostumes said...
maggiedoll, I'd love to see photos or construction details on how you did the cartridge pleats! Perhaps I misunderstood the intent on them, since it sounds like you had success with it.
5/6/10 5:14 PM
heapha said...
with there elizabethan I found that i had to hand sew skirt and bodice as the materials were too think to put through a machine, I went through no less than 3 leather strength needles to get through the tapistry, cavas and cotton before giving up and doing a bodgy hand stitch to join them - however they still are attached and the hand stitching was very fast (took about 10 minutes all up)
5/6/10 8:43 PM
MCBurbage said...
I don't think you can cartridge pleat by machine, and I think you'll find that most of the very full skirted gowns through history have the skirts cartridge pleated to either a waistband or a bodice. Did you make the Simplicity undergarments that go with this? If so, how did the neck edges line up? I've had trouble with their gown neck edges being wider than their stays neck edges in the past and wondered how you found this gown to be.
5/7/10 5:25 AM
timetravelcostumes said...
MCBurbage, I didn't make the underpinnings for this gown because the gal I made it for already had her underpinnings. I would like to make them, however, for my own Tudor gown that I made from this pattern. I'm glad you warned me about the necklin fit! I did have that problem with the Simplicity Civil War chemise, so I guess it's not surprising. I wonder if the fact that I shortened the shoulder straps will help?
5/7/10 10:24 AM
JEF said...
This is so impressive and beautiful. Can someone define cartridge pleating for me?
5/7/10 10:48 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Other p56
photo
Review by LuceLu on 12/20/07
Read Review

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Body Shaper Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4647
photo
Review by Sweetiekin... on 2/1/09
Read Review

Burda 9446 Pattern
Burda 9446 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5235 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5235 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us