SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2796 (Skort and Shorts)

29 more reviews
Viewed 413 times 
Reviewed by:Steph A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Steph Astar
ON CANADA
Member since: 4/23/09
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/10 4:43 PM
Last Updated:5/8/10 4:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Activewear    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
plainenglish said...
Stunner -- your version looks like exactly what I need. How did you adjust for swayback? I have the same problem.
3/16/14 10:24 AM
whirrclunk said...
The skirt + shorts look very well made. Thank you for the great photos, as a result I'm now about to get this pattern!
7/2/10 8:25 AM
poplin said...
Very nice. Thank you for the review and the pictures. Another Jalie pattern for my wish list!
5/10/10 12:51 PM
Lynn67 said...
Fantastic job!
5/10/10 9:22 AM
WildWyoming said...
If you use the skort with the higher waistband, it would provide additional compression (smoothing). The pockets could have a tiny zipper and snap to keep the contents inside while swimming, or a key loop to hook a key onto. What about making this with color blocking reminiscent of a wetsuit and wear a front zippered top that is also color blocked and closely fitted like a tank shape or even short sleeved version to give a sporty diver look and coverage? Another tack could be to add a small ruffle to the bottom of the skirt and also line the neckline of the top with the same ruffle. See Lands End catalog for a black ruffled swim top and ruffled "swimmini" skort bottom.
5/9/10 4:30 PM
WildWyoming said...
If you use the skort with the higher waistband, it would provide additional compression (smoothing). This might be helpful if you have some fluff to control and your top covers the waist area. However, when I ordered a swimsuit by phone last year, the fitting rep told me that to keep a younger, less frumpy look, it's good to have either top or bottom less covered up. So, if you have a skirted bottom, consider a lower cut top or a bra top (rather than a tankini top). If you have a brief bottom, then a tank type top can still look young. Of course, there are benefits to being all covered up, as in less sun damage, more comfort in various positions, more modesty when that is a priority, etc. Just throwing that in there for what it's worth. I think the lower waisted skort would look really cute with a bra type or halter bra type top, depending on your proportions. Lands End now has skort bottoms that are shorter and are ruched heavily on the sides and ruffled on the bottom. I think this would be pretty easy to copy and could disguise bumps and lumps as well as giving the fabric more holding in power since more of it would be covering the same area. This could be paired with a sweatheart neckline top with the same ruffle in self fabric along the necline edge. There is a top like this in Lands End catalog. It actually has a soft cup bra in it and good support. In black, it's classic and sexy while not being overly revealing. For what it's worth to those who may want ideas in how to use this pattern. If you ruch the skirt part, I guess you'd have to nix the pockets and redraw to eliminate those extra seams and details. Or sew as directed, using swimsuit elastic, and use hook and loop tape to keep the pockets closed if you want to put keys and other necessities in and still swim. Not sure if hook and loop would damage the fabric though. Maybe a tiny nylon zipper and snap instead.
5/9/10 4:30 PM
Steph A said...
In answer to the bathing suit bottom question, I think these could be used quite nicely. You could make the skort with the pants instead, and probably use the short waistband, as the regular one comes up quite high. Good idea! I'll have to give a try too.
5/9/10 9:45 AM
mhk3boys said...
Wow! Your skort looks great! Can this be used as a bathing suit bottom?
5/9/10 7:08 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Thanks for the great review!
5/9/10 1:28 AM
Sewnla said...
Very impressive! your Skort looks great.
5/9/10 1:08 AM
drsue said...
Nice job! I really need to get going and make up some of these. It's been on my to do list for a long time.
5/8/10 11:51 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Very nice looking workout wear!! I'll have to give this one a try!
5/8/10 9:54 PM
MNBarb said...
These are too cute for the gym. I love the side detail, very flattering. I think you have chosen the perfect fabric for this pattern.
5/8/10 9:21 PM
Time4me said...
Love the colour. Very nice looking skort.
5/8/10 8:58 PM
Patti B said...
Thanks so much for reviewing this; it's on my soon to sew list. Yours looks very nice -- I hope mine will turn out as well.
5/8/10 6:33 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice skort. This pattern looks like it would make a great swimsuit bottom.
5/8/10 6:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Vogue Patterns 1124

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review
New Look 6205

photo
by: mnitts

Review
Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Liberty Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Buy Now