Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2796 (Skort and Shorts) thumbsup - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 405 times 28 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Steph A
photo
Friend of PR
About Steph Astar
ON CANADA
Member since: 4/23/09
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/10 4:43 PM
Last Updated:5/8/10 4:49 PM


See other patterns in this category: Activewear    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhoda K said...
Very nice skort. This pattern looks like it would make a great swimsuit bottom.
5/8/10 6:13 PM
Patti B said...
Thanks so much for reviewing this; it's on my soon to sew list. Yours looks very nice -- I hope mine will turn out as well.
5/8/10 6:33 PM
Time4me said...
Love the colour. Very nice looking skort.
5/8/10 8:58 PM
MNBarb said...
These are too cute for the gym. I love the side detail, very flattering. I think you have chosen the perfect fabric for this pattern.
5/8/10 9:21 PM
Heidi Ho said...
Very nice looking workout wear!! I'll have to give this one a try!
5/8/10 9:54 PM
drsue said...
Nice job! I really need to get going and make up some of these. It's been on my to do list for a long time.
5/8/10 11:51 PM
Sewnla said...
Very impressive! your Skort looks great.
5/9/10 1:08 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Thanks for the great review!
5/9/10 1:28 AM
mhk3boys said...
Wow! Your skort looks great! Can this be used as a bathing suit bottom?
5/9/10 7:08 AM
Steph A said...
In answer to the bathing suit bottom question, I think these could be used quite nicely. You could make the skort with the pants instead, and probably use the short waistband, as the regular one comes up quite high. Good idea! I'll have to give a try too.
5/9/10 9:45 AM
WildWyoming said...
If you use the skort with the higher waistband, it would provide additional compression (smoothing). This might be helpful if you have some fluff to control and your top covers the waist area. However, when I ordered a swimsuit by phone last year, the fitting rep told me that to keep a younger, less frumpy look, it's good to have either top or bottom less covered up. So, if you have a skirted bottom, consider a lower cut top or a bra top (rather than a tankini top). If you have a brief bottom, then a tank type top can still look young. Of course, there are benefits to being all covered up, as in less sun damage, more comfort in various positions, more modesty when that is a priority, etc. Just throwing that in there for what it's worth. I think the lower waisted skort would look really cute with a bra type or halter bra type top, depending on your proportions. Lands End now has skort bottoms that are shorter and are ruched heavily on the sides and ruffled on the bottom. I think this would be pretty easy to copy and could disguise bumps and lumps as well as giving the fabric more holding in power since more of it would be covering the same area. This could be paired with a sweatheart neckline top with the same ruffle in self fabric along the necline edge. There is a top like this in Lands End catalog. It actually has a soft cup bra in it and good support. In black, it's classic and sexy while not being overly revealing. For what it's worth to those who may want ideas in how to use this pattern. If you ruch the skirt part, I guess you'd have to nix the pockets and redraw to eliminate those extra seams and details. Or sew as directed, using swimsuit elastic, and use hook and loop tape to keep the pockets closed if you want to put keys and other necessities in and still swim. Not sure if hook and loop would damage the fabric though. Maybe a tiny nylon zipper and snap instead.
5/9/10 4:30 PM
WildWyoming said...
If you use the skort with the higher waistband, it would provide additional compression (smoothing). The pockets could have a tiny zipper and snap to keep the contents inside while swimming, or a key loop to hook a key onto. What about making this with color blocking reminiscent of a wetsuit and wear a front zippered top that is also color blocked and closely fitted like a tank shape or even short sleeved version to give a sporty diver look and coverage? Another tack could be to add a small ruffle to the bottom of the skirt and also line the neckline of the top with the same ruffle. See Lands End catalog for a black ruffled swim top and ruffled "swimmini" skort bottom.
5/9/10 4:30 PM
Lynn67 said...
Fantastic job!
5/10/10 9:22 AM
poplin said...
Very nice. Thank you for the review and the pictures. Another Jalie pattern for my wish list!
5/10/10 12:51 PM
whirrclunk said...
The skirt + shorts look very well made. Thank you for the great photos, as a result I'm now about to get this pattern!
7/2/10 8:25 AM
plainenglish said...
Stunner -- your version looks like exactly what I need. How did you adjust for swayback? I have the same problem.
3/16/14 10:24 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2009-32
photo
Review by brissie71 on 2/24/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern
You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Ahsley Knit Ruffle Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Ahsley Knit Ruffle Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used No pattern used 2009-01-Baby
photo
Review by katlew03 on 2/20/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1703 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 1703 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6730 Pattern
New Look 6730 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us