SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 6085 (Misses' Shirt)

15 more reviews
Viewed 353 times 
Reviewed by:rrswife
photo

 
 
About rrswifestar
MO USA
Member since: 3/8/10
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 11
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/9/10 8:45 PM
Last Updated:5/11/10 1:26 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $11.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
A pity it doesn't fit - it looks nice, so I hope it goes to a good home! It is wise to check the actual measurement of a finished garment, usually given on the tissue, and compare it with your own measeurements. Sometimes if there is little ease in a garment, I feel I might as well go up a size. In other cases, you might just need to alter the tissue in some way. You might find McCall's Palmer/Pletsch range helpful as each pattern contains detailed advice on getting the fit right.
5/10/10 4:53 AM
JudiBee2 said...
It really looks nice. Nancy Zeiman has a book, Fitting Finesse, about fitting with pivoting or adding tissue. If thid fits the neckline, I would give it another go. Just don't sew body , fitting darts
5/11/10 8:58 AM
rrswife said...
THANK YOU for the tips.... I'm VERY new to sewing clothing... trying to learn more about it so I can make clothes that fit and not just the big loose gathered stuff. ha! I didn't even realize there were measurements on the pattern itself... (embarrassed face) I look for that book by Nancy Zeiman, too. Thanks! I did edit the review and add some pics of me wearing it (at the end of the review). I found some more room in a few seams so I can wear it now. It sort of lost it's shape -- but, I guess the shape wasn't fitting me. Ok.... I'll accept this as a noble effort. ;) Now to make strides to improve on the next one. :)
5/11/10 1:29 PM
psgates said...
I don't know about you - but I learn best when I have to "Fix" things
5/11/10 1:52 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I think this top looks so nice after you got it let out and fixed. Just trace the pattern and draw/slash in the changes you need and the next one will be a fun sew. Keep reading on here as there is a lot of info given on adjusting the patterns in reviews and on blogs. Lots on here make muslins before the garment is cut and sewn to work out fit changes. You are sewing some great looking pieces. Thanks for reviewing this pattern.
5/12/10 8:29 AM
carolynw said...
I think it looks quite nice - there are a lot of good books that will help you get the perfect fit - my particular fave is Palmer/Pletch "Fit For Real People" - your local library may have this and other books on fitting? It does take a while to get the fit you want and feel good about so just hang in there - this shirt is a great start!!
5/12/10 9:24 AM
Debby Ebby said...
You are so cute. You remind me of myself. I like to just take the pattern out of the envelope, sew it, and hope for the best. However, I am learning to read the measurements on the pattern pieces, too. I like sewing with knits because they are forgiving when it comes to fit. Your shirt (after the adjustments) looks very nice on you.
6/23/10 10:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Buy Now