Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2008-103 (Daphne Dress) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 355 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:Geordie Girl
photo
About Geordie Girlstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/8/05
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/11/10 4:01 PM
Last Updated:5/13/10 4:10 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jeannine1976 said...
I'm sorry you didn't get to wear your dress to the ball. Have tried some heavy duty foundation garments with it, like a girdle or an all-in-one? (I hope that's not too personal!) I have a dress not unlike yours and it needs a little "help" to get that hourglass shape.
5/11/10 4:32 PM
Knitters Delight said...
I agree with Jeannine. That's how I have to wear that type of garment, too. It is a gorgeous looking dress - even if just on your dress form.
5/11/10 7:32 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Too bad you didn't get to wear the dress. It looks very pretty on the form!
5/11/10 9:28 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
Too bad you didn't get to wear the dress. It looks very pretty on the form!
5/11/10 9:29 PM
Lynz said...
I have the same dress sitting on my dress form with the same problems. I had to pull it up at the shoulder as it was too long for my upper body. This helped with the bust. Yours looks lovely but I sympahise with your problems. I fear that mine will never be worn.
5/12/10 6:22 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Beautiful dress, shame you aren't happy with it! I too have a very "straight up and down" figure, but I tend to go for patterns that look well on someone with a waist - I tend to want to make for the figure I WISH I had rather than the one I do have!!! But it is still a fabulous dress, congratulations!
5/12/10 8:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Vogue Patterns 2945 MISSES' TOP
photo
Review by Jrhee on 6/5/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Ice Cream Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Ice Cream Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Moss Mini Skirt
Moss Mini Skirt

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6891
photo
Review by Karen31 on 1/20/10
Read Review

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

WhatNots
WhatNots

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1197 Pattern( Size )
Vogue 1197 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 2767 Pattern
Burda 2767 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us