SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2007-126 (Simple Hooded Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 476 times 
Reviewed by:Barbara V
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Barbara Vstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 181 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/13/10 5:39 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
margk said...
This coat looks Great! Your sleeve-fix is very stylish. I love it!
5/13/10 5:53 PM
Leora said...
Nice save! I love that fabric, what a nice raincoat.
5/13/10 5:59 PM
denese said...
Barbara. as usuall you look wonderful i thought it was the same pattern that we discussed. We do not get that mag in aust. I only have to put the buttons on mine and will send photos with my daughter wearing it. thank you for being an inspiration, i need a bit at the moment. thank you keep them coming.
5/13/10 6:45 PM
Ann Smith said...
You are amazing drafting your own gussets. Great save. I had forgotten about this project but remember when you bought the fabric.
5/13/10 6:52 PM
mylittleelephant said...
I have almost forgotten this pattern by now, I love the way it looks on you so much that I will have to put this back to my sew list! Thanks for the review.
5/13/10 7:58 PM
Catbird said...
That is one cool, clever, chic raincoat! Your changes and fabric choice give this even more style than the original. I love it!
5/13/10 8:27 PM
Christas said...
Barbara, you are SO talented! I have so much trouble sewing gussets - can't even imagine drafting them. Your jacket looks wonderful on you!
5/14/10 0:41 AM
sfshaza said...
Gorgeous coat! I can't believe it, but I (and two friends) have this same fabric. None of us have sewn it yet. :) This looks *great* on you!!
5/14/10 3:07 AM
kerrynw said...
You have done a fantastic job resurrecting this jacket. Looks great on you!
5/14/10 3:35 AM
Kayseri said...
I was looking at this the other day, it's lovely to see it made up - your's looks far better than Burda's. Great save with the sleeves.
5/14/10 6:08 AM
Elke said...
Great looking coat...it looks fabulous on you. Nice choice of fabric too!
5/14/10 6:28 AM
eugenia123 said...
Fabulous coat. I am so impressed with the changes you have made to really make this work for you. I love it!
5/14/10 9:51 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Excellent! Love, love it.
5/14/10 1:24 PM
Twinset said...
Great raincoat! I love the elegant simplicity of it and the big hood, of course!
5/14/10 1:57 PM
DorothyK said...
This coat is fantastic. Amazing how you saved it from tight sleeve syndrome. The entire look is fabulous on you.
5/14/10 2:12 PM
Heatherrique said...
I am so glad that you rescued this chic jacket from "hiding"! You definitely will be stylishly and practically ready for the wet weather
5/14/10 5:40 PM
AuntieShel said...
Stunning jacket--how brave to just make up your own underarm gussets. These are one of my most favorite things in the world.
5/15/10 9:51 AM
Annette1 said...
Hello, gorgeous! Now that's what I call perseverance, making your own G-U-S-S-E-T-S. Not only do I try to AVOID them altogether, I can't imagine drafting my own. That being said, I LOVE the look and the fit of anything with G-U-S-S-E-T-S. They just make ALL the difference (I say). This raincoat is so chic, and, of course, your addition of those unique buttons over the snaps just make it. :o)
5/15/10 7:44 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Great save on this oh, so chic jacket. You took a casual rather plain style and created an interesting, stylish raincoat. As always, another beautiful piece of work, Barbara.
5/22/10 11:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2009-110

photo
by: Sigrid.

Review
Butterick 5785

photo
by: Andreahg

Review
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Buy Now