Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1141 (knit tops) - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 615 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:LynnRowe
photo
Friend of PR
About LynnRowestarstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 3/9/09
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/16/10 12:20 PM


See other patterns in this category: Suits / Separates    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Terri Smith said...
Love them all, and very nice finishing work on the bands. Thanks so much for the review.
5/16/10 12:27 PM
Patti B said...
Love your review -- and the tops. I have this pattern and it sounds as if I should sew it up!
5/16/10 12:39 PM
Jeannine1976 said...
Wow. That top really is fantastic. The details are just right. In fact, I love all four of the pieces offered in that pattern. It's going on the Wish List. Thanks for the review and the heads up!!!!
5/16/10 12:46 PM
beth5646 said...
Thanks for the great review. I have this pattern in my stash. I am going to get it right now and make a muslin. I have been looking for a good knit top pattern like this. Thanks again for the great review--and I do love all your tops.
5/16/10 12:46 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
Thankyou for the tips on this pattern. Your tops are beautiful. I need to get this pattern.
5/16/10 1:31 PM
Michele Lommasson said...
What a fabulous review. You have entirely convinced me that I need this pattern NOW!
5/16/10 1:46 PM
AuntieShel said...
Hey, LynnRowe, what do you think of the knit top in the Vogue 1141 pattern? (grin!) You have convinced me!! I believe this top was in another Vogue wardrobe pattern that was discontinued. I made that one out of an interlock and wasn't happy with it, so got rid of the pattern. I can see I didn't give it enough of a chance so will have to get this one and try again. Yours are gorgeous!
5/16/10 2:02 PM
LynnRowe said...
Vogue 1141, huh, AuntieShel? Hmmm, I dunno...I'd have to think about that one. LOL! You're right, Vogue did this top previously, V2925. The 2925 top just had "turn & stitch" instructions for the neckline and sleeve hems. The 1141 has the bands, a much nicer professional-looking finish. Best fabric is something that has great recovery, so I'd want a good helping of lycra in the knit.
5/16/10 2:18 PM
ryansmumAria said...
just lovely~
5/16/10 3:33 PM
Rhoda K said...
All very nice tops.
5/16/10 4:58 PM
ElizabethDee said...
Great review, and such gorgeous tops! And the rest of us better watch out -- now that you have your camera, you are going to do for pattern-shopping what you have done for fabric-buying....
5/16/10 5:35 PM
madronadesign said...
Nice top Lynn. Now I see why you're such an avid promoter of knits! Do you have both Vogue patterns? I just have the older one (also makes a nice top). I wondered if you or anyone could comment on whether they are exactly the same, with just the bands added?
5/16/10 5:42 PM
Time4me said...
REALLY nice tops Lynn. I love seeing all the fabric you buy made up into tops. Keep these reviews coming!
5/16/10 6:31 PM
Raye Ann said...
based on your accolades- i picked up this pattern today on sale at JAs. thanks for the timely review!
5/16/10 6:32 PM
homejewel said...
Wonder how much $$ Vogue will make off of this review. You sold me. lol!! They all look wonderful.
5/16/10 6:32 PM
LynnRowe said...
Thanks, everyone! Madronadesign, I do have the 2925 as well. They're very close to being identical; the 2925 has a wider shoulder and higher neckline, but a lot of that is just due to the construction of narrow-hemming (2925) versus binding (1141). I wouldn't buy V1141 if you already have V2925, I'd just reduce the seam allowances by the narrow-hemming width and do binding. I don't think there'd be any noticeable difference, if any at all.
5/16/10 7:32 PM
clgangi said...
Great (and entertaining!) review - and all of the tops are beautiful. I'm adding this pattern to my "must buy" list. You are the worst (or is it best?!) of all enablers on PR, by the way. ;-)
5/16/10 9:11 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Love your tops. I am sewing up 2925 at the moment and would like to try the binding. What is the width of the binding strip for 1141?
5/17/10 0:47 AM
Rebecca D said...
My gosh, you've sold me and there is a Club BMV sale coming up this week, hello 1141, welcome to my shopping cart. All these views are just great looking. Thanks for the review.
5/17/10 6:50 AM
lamstu said...
I don't think I've ever been so enthusiastic about a pattern in my life! Something to look forward to... (I am in dire need of new t-shirts so I'll have to order this one in the next sale.) The workmanship is really good in your versions as well.
5/17/10 7:21 AM
LynnRowe said...
Hi QuiltersFan. the band width is 1 1/2" on the nose, sewn with a 3/8" seam. :)
5/17/10 9:13 AM
Moxie Carol said...
I bought this pattern because I loved the skirt - You've sold me on the top. It's going on my list!
5/30/10 2:21 PM
QuiltersFan said...
To follow up: I applied the band to 2925 without trimming the seam allowance (my choice). Love the finish. The lack of trimming worked on the neckline and sleeve top and is OK under the arm. Next time I would trim slightly under arm only. And Lynn is correct. This is one easy and very flattering top.
6/6/10 4:07 PM
NC Carol said...
The Vogue pattern website had OOP's on sale this week and I bought this pattern. Can't wait to try out this top. Thanks very much for the review!
11/17/12 9:08 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Kwik Sew 2732
photo
Review by sassyseams... on 12/4/11
Read Review

Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)
Simple Things The Flight Cap Digital Pattern (004)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2009-131
photo
Review by sky on 1/31/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1182 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1182 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1367 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1367 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us