SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4745 (Civil War Costume)

13 more reviews
Viewed 235 times 
Reviewed by:timetravelcostumes
photo

 
 
About timetravelcostumesstar
FL USA
Member since: 1/28/09
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/17/10 2:25 PM
Last Updated:5/17/10 2:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Paris75008 said...
You did an absolutely fantastic job on that jacket. Gathered sleeves? I'm sure no Union officer would have been seen dead in sleeves with gathers. How sissy! Your husband looks the perfect officer and gentleman in that uniform.
5/17/10 3:22 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
5/17/10 3:36 PM
droxy said...
This is the one I am going to try to make. I made the pants from this for another costume and to do alot of adjustment, but I was fitting it to me. I want to do this jacket for another costume but alter the Military style front on it. Thansk for tips on the potential potholes on this one.
5/20/10 6:26 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
This is an incredible project! I wouldn't have known that you had so much trouble with it. I know that Union officers didn't have gathered sleeves, as I've been to several reenactments and never have I seen a gathered sleeve on a man; maybe women. Your husband looks so authentic! I had to look closely to see if he was real. And your website is absolutely stunning!
6/13/12 3:35 PM
vkl said...
The sleeve top on this is really badly drafted. Wish I had thought to read this review before cutting it out - as it was I had to push most of the gathers to the back. Dress coats of the 1839s did have gathered sleeves but this is a uniform and no solider would want to look like a sissy!
11/27/13 7:55 PM
sewsuzanna said...
I am making this pattern now for my 12 year-old son and am having this same TERRIBLE issue with the sleeves! They are puffed with a ridiculous amount of gathering (not just "ease"). I like your idea of folding the pattern in the middle and making a narrower sleeve. Everything was going so beautifully 'til I got to the sleeves! I am probably going to have to take the sleeves out, rip out the stitches, and cut them narrower. What in the world??! The photo on the pattern envelope does not have puffed sleeves. Ugh. I rarely sew clothing (mostly bags and some home dec). This pattern does NOT make me want to give apparel-sewing another go!
3/24/14 2:28 PM
K D said...
I am presently making this jacket (Size L) and having the same problems with the sleeves. So glad to read this and find out I'm not the only one! I took about 1" out of the width of the upper sleeve, and about 5/8" from the width of the under sleeve. These 2 adjustments made a big difference in getting the sleeve to fit without any gathers.
4/9/14 7:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Simplicity 2603

photo
by: Josnazz

Review
Vogue Patterns 8827

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Buy Now