Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4745 (Civil War Costume) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 231 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:timetravelcostumes
photo
About timetravelcostumesstar
FL USA
Member since: 1/28/09
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/17/10 2:25 PM
Last Updated:5/17/10 2:26 PM


See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $13.56 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $13.56  List Price: $16.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Paris75008 said...
You did an absolutely fantastic job on that jacket. Gathered sleeves? I'm sure no Union officer would have been seen dead in sleeves with gathers. How sissy! Your husband looks the perfect officer and gentleman in that uniform.
5/17/10 3:22 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks great!
5/17/10 3:36 PM
droxy said...
This is the one I am going to try to make. I made the pants from this for another costume and to do alot of adjustment, but I was fitting it to me. I want to do this jacket for another costume but alter the Military style front on it. Thansk for tips on the potential potholes on this one.
5/20/10 6:26 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
This is an incredible project! I wouldn't have known that you had so much trouble with it. I know that Union officers didn't have gathered sleeves, as I've been to several reenactments and never have I seen a gathered sleeve on a man; maybe women. Your husband looks so authentic! I had to look closely to see if he was real. And your website is absolutely stunning!
6/13/12 3:35 PM
vkl said...
The sleeve top on this is really badly drafted. Wish I had thought to read this review before cutting it out - as it was I had to push most of the gathers to the back. Dress coats of the 1839s did have gathered sleeves but this is a uniform and no solider would want to look like a sissy!
11/27/13 7:55 PM
sewsuzanna said...
I am making this pattern now for my 12 year-old son and am having this same TERRIBLE issue with the sleeves! They are puffed with a ridiculous amount of gathering (not just "ease"). I like your idea of folding the pattern in the middle and making a narrower sleeve. Everything was going so beautifully 'til I got to the sleeves! I am probably going to have to take the sleeves out, rip out the stitches, and cut them narrower. What in the world??! The photo on the pattern envelope does not have puffed sleeves. Ugh. I rarely sew clothing (mostly bags and some home dec). This pattern does NOT make me want to give apparel-sewing another go!
3/24/14 2:28 PM
K D said...
I am presently making this jacket (Size L) and having the same problems with the sleeves. So glad to read this and find out I'm not the only one! I took about 1" out of the width of the upper sleeve, and about 5/8" from the width of the under sleeve. These 2 adjustments made a big difference in getting the sleeve to fit without any gathers.
4/9/14 7:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 2553 Car Organizers
photo
Review by JTink on 11/29/13
Read Review

Vogue 8878 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8878 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3545 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3545 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3513
photo
Review by JewelLaver... on 7/8/09
Read Review

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)
Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Hug-Me Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Sewing DVD
Pants Sewing DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us