Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5132 (Civil War Costume Gown) - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 185 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:timetravelcostumes
photo
About timetravelcostumesstar
FL USA
Member since: 1/28/09
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/20/10 1:27 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aroura said...
You did great, considering it wasn't a very period pattern. In my somewhat limited experience, of the big 4 pattern comanies, Butterick has the BEST period patterns in general. I have a friend who used this Simplicity pattern though: http://cgi.ebay.com/Victorian-Civil-War-Dress-Bodice-Costume-Pattern-1860s-/140407771295?cmd=ViewItem&pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item20b0f4909f, for her wedding 6 years ago, and she said that it was fantastic! It is OOP though. Good luck, I know you'll find something that works for you, and I'm sure it will be beautiful, because your attention to detail is veryapparent. Great try, helpful review too! I won't ever buy this one.
5/20/10 1:53 PM
Aroura said...
oops, I didn't mean to link an e-bay auction :( The pattern number that I have "heard" was very authentic was Simplicity 9761. OOP. Always enjoy your reviews/blog!
5/20/10 2:12 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
5/20/10 2:35 PM
Paris75008 said...
The undergarments are amazing. Hard to believe that women really dressed like that once upon a time.
5/20/10 5:34 PM
droxy said...
What a wonderfully feminine costume! I think I have this pattern. I want to make it. I also have a Civil war men's uniform pattern. I know historcal folks are into being true for history, but average spectators will not notice this. When making a dress over a waist trainign grade corset, take measurements with the corset on and adjust the pattern to that. (even if you use a historical pattern)
5/20/10 6:18 PM
MCBurbage said...
Simplicity has put out several Civil War era patterns that are supposed to be very authentic, some even say what dress they're bsed on on the envelope back. There are still a couple in print. I've been warned that you need to watch the sizing, though, because they have a more modern amount of ease with the period shape.
5/21/10 5:25 AM
jewelsew said...
You might try Truly Victorian patterns, which you can shop for on their website. They are very good to work with and offer a lot of styles.
5/21/10 4:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

J Stern Designs 0037 Misses' Jeans
photo
Review by annakeeton on 7/24/13
Read Review

Simplicity 1475 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 1475 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6407 Pattern
New Look 6407 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Bells and Whistles
photo
Review by Nikki on 5/27/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl USB Fob Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl USB Fob Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 150 Pattern
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us