SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Advance Pattern Company> 3025 (Misses dress)

Viewed 554 times 
Reviewed by:graustark
photo

 
 
About graustarkstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/7/08
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/20/10 8:39 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Alison Cummins said...
I'm with Beek. The dress might not be what you'd envisioned, but the dress you ended up is very sophisticated. I really, really like it on you.
6/27/12 9:02 PM
Beek said...
Truly, I think this dress looks great on you. Very artsy in a cool kind of way.
5/23/10 11:05 AM
jso4fun said...
P.S. Sorry for my long-windedness! This pattern is pretty seductive, isn't it??! I somehow really want to make it work for you!
5/21/10 9:40 PM
jso4fun said...
I agree that this dress on you does not look like the pattern drawing. But I think it's pretty cute on you, anyway! Maybe if you put it away and then took it out later you would like it more? I do think there is hope for it, and maybe you don't have to abandon your fantasies about this dress... Like if you raise the waist a little bit and wore a petticoat of some kind to add fullness maybe you'd like the skirt part better? And what about lowering the neckline just a bit? Keep the curve, but have it drop down maybe an inch more in the front, curving back to the shoulders? That would add a bit more skin showing, which would do away with some of the "nunishness"... Also maybe add a contrasting binding, to add some excitement up there? With those high boat necks, if you have a lot of bust to fill it, it draws the eye to that ampleness. (That could be the intent, come to think of it, maybe?) But if you aren't quite that ample, it's "just" an expanse of fabric. So maybe lowering the neckline just a bit, and accenting it would give the eye something more to be looking at, jazz it up a bit? Part of me wants to suggest a really big standy-up collar, but that would really change the look a lot.. And maybe you don't want to fiddle with it that much. Anyway, I think there is potential here, but it's more in the styling than the pattern itself. And I do think it's really cute on you, just pretty different than the pattern drawing. I'd love to hear or see what you do if you do attempt this pattern again!
5/21/10 9:37 PM
MNBarb said...
I think the dress looks nice on you. I see your point about the fit in relation to the pattern view. Maybe if you want it to be a bit more snug you could take it down another size and use fabric with some stretch so it's fitted but not tight.
5/21/10 11:13 AM
stitchywitch said...
I'm long waisted the same way you are, and I've had to train myself to deal with dresses at my natural waist. I think if you took the extra length out it would look better right away - waists back then were high! I've also found a ton of ease in the bodice. Since the ideal figure back then was more voluptuous, I suppose that patterns were fitted that way, and women wore undergarments to match. I fear sewing true vintage for that reason - sometimes the bust is so huge, I don't know how to fix it! Good for you for trying!
5/21/10 0:17 AM
drsue said...
I've commented before that vanity sizing goes wayyy back. Clearly they oversized this dress. You did a nice job, though, none the less. Next time do a muslin and be prepared to make big alterations.
5/20/10 11:39 PM
bananaoil said...
Now see___ This is confirms my suspicion about the vintage pattern in general. I've noticed how seductive those illustrations are but it always crosses my mind that the only real women I've ever seen that look like that were in movies, think Jayne Mansfield or Marilyn Monroe. Don't forget that women usually wore foundation garments to add and subtract where needed. Also the crinoline slip kept that skirt standing out at attention which would also facilitate the wasp waisted look.
5/20/10 10:01 PM
graustark said...
Thanks for the input! I actually did remove a ton from the armpit, but perhaps not enough: it was scary to make such a big alteration to something that was supposedly "my size". I'm not sure I want to open this one up again -- the seams are finished now, and I think there are some other alterations I need to make too. But given my irrational love for this pattern I will try bringing the sides and armpit in more in the next attempt ... which will definitely start with a true muslin!
5/20/10 9:54 PM
Diane Tucker said...
In my opinion, this dress could be tweeked to look more like the pattern drawing. The bodice is too large. See all the wrinkles in the bodice? Sleeve too. The underarm seam in the sleeve should be almost in the armpit. If you rip out the side seams and lower part of sleeve, you recut after matching the next size smaller sleeve to your sleeve. Then go back and increase the side seams. This way you won't have to recut the whole thing. These changes will give a tighter fitting bodice like the very tight fit in the diagram.
5/20/10 9:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 9958

photo
by: wendybirde

Review
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Victory Hazel Paper Pattern

Buy Now