Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2570 (Misses Pants, Skirt, Jacket, D) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 418 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Annette Wright
photo
About Annette Wrightstarstarstar
KS USA
Member since: 10/22/08
Reviews written: 76
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/10 4:58 PM
Last Updated:5/27/10 5:01 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhoda K said...
The dress looks good on you.
5/27/10 5:04 PM
RadarRadiance said...
I think it looks great on you. Fit is perfect, back and front lay smooth.
5/27/10 5:16 PM
sideseams said...
I think you did such a great job on the fit. It looks so nice on you!
5/27/10 6:32 PM
Rebecca D said...
You got an amazing fit on this dress. As for looking like a sack, it is a bit of a plain style, but sometimes a dress like this is a nice background for accessories, or would you feel differently if you added a jacket? I like it.
5/28/10 6:37 AM
RLL said...
I agree with rebecca d. A little short sleeve jacket and you have a really nice and comfortable outfit.
5/28/10 3:13 PM
barbcl said...
Very pretty, and the color is gorgeous.
5/28/10 3:45 PM
Annette Wright said...
Thanks for the suggestions of a short jacket. I think I'll set the dress aside until Fall (it's not really summer weight fabric) and try it again then. Hopefully it will be too large by then...lol.
5/28/10 4:03 PM
ryan's mom said...
I like your dress, but you're right :) ! I'm not crazy about the style of the dress front either. You have a nice figure, and your awesome LBD you made shows it off. This style hides it. It's one of those dresses we all have that is perfect for a backyard BBQ, but if you really want to rock it, that LBD style dress is terrific on you. I wonder how adding a few fisheye darts would look? Just a slightly slimmer dress profile might change the overall look. The back looks great, so maybe some little vertical fisheyes in the front? Duh! I forgot about maybe a self fabric belt? Loosely cinch in the waist? That might do it too.
5/29/10 7:01 AM
marec said...
I love this color on you, and love the dress. I agree with Rebecca that it needs accessories or a jacket/cardi. You know, sometimes those of us with grey hair need a more dramatic styling to avoid smoothly blending in. I think the style of the dress, the fabric chosen and the color of your hair blend-and all I'd do is experiment with a chunky necklace, or a scarf in a bold,contrasting color. Then your gorgeous hair and eyes would be highlighted. Love the dress.
5/29/10 10:08 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Burda 8479 Co-ordinates
photo
Review by Oziroo on 1/8/05
Read Review

Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern
Victory Satsuki Dress and Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Evelyn Dress and Swing Top Digital Pattern ( Size 18 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Evelyn Dress and Swing Top Digital Pattern ( Size 18 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3797
photo
Review by Gold on 6/10/09
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Simone Paper Pattern
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3762 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 3762 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7214 Pattern
Burda 7214 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us