SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2570 (Misses Pants, Skirt, Jacket, D)

6 more reviews
Viewed 427 times 
Reviewed by:Annette Wright
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette Wrightstarstarstar
Member since: 10/22/08
Reviews written: 88
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 59 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/10 4:58 PM
Last Updated:5/27/10 5:01 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
I love this color on you, and love the dress. I agree with Rebecca that it needs accessories or a jacket/cardi. You know, sometimes those of us with grey hair need a more dramatic styling to avoid smoothly blending in. I think the style of the dress, the fabric chosen and the color of your hair blend-and all I'd do is experiment with a chunky necklace, or a scarf in a bold,contrasting color. Then your gorgeous hair and eyes would be highlighted. Love the dress.
5/29/10 10:08 AM
ryan's mom said...
I like your dress, but you're right :) ! I'm not crazy about the style of the dress front either. You have a nice figure, and your awesome LBD you made shows it off. This style hides it. It's one of those dresses we all have that is perfect for a backyard BBQ, but if you really want to rock it, that LBD style dress is terrific on you. I wonder how adding a few fisheye darts would look? Just a slightly slimmer dress profile might change the overall look. The back looks great, so maybe some little vertical fisheyes in the front? Duh! I forgot about maybe a self fabric belt? Loosely cinch in the waist? That might do it too.
5/29/10 7:01 AM
Annette Wright said...
Thanks for the suggestions of a short jacket. I think I'll set the dress aside until Fall (it's not really summer weight fabric) and try it again then. Hopefully it will be too large by then...lol.
5/28/10 4:03 PM
barbcl said...
Very pretty, and the color is gorgeous.
5/28/10 3:45 PM
RLL said...
I agree with rebecca d. A little short sleeve jacket and you have a really nice and comfortable outfit.
5/28/10 3:13 PM
Rebecca D said...
You got an amazing fit on this dress. As for looking like a sack, it is a bit of a plain style, but sometimes a dress like this is a nice background for accessories, or would you feel differently if you added a jacket? I like it.
5/28/10 6:37 AM
sideseams said...
I think you did such a great job on the fit. It looks so nice on you!
5/27/10 6:32 PM
RadarRadiance said...
I think it looks great on you. Fit is perfect, back and front lay smooth.
5/27/10 5:16 PM
Rhoda K said...
The dress looks good on you.
5/27/10 5:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2010-133

photo
by: tiadia

Review
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Buy Now