Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Downloadable: 6062 (Alexander blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 454 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/10 9:27 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gelbean said...
Cute blouse! I really like the sleeves.
6/8/10 9:38 AM
starryfish said...
Very nice blouse, your belt really complements the fabric. I like the peplum feature.
6/8/10 9:57 AM
Ericaeli said...
This is such a pretty blouse, and it looks so nice on you. I really like the peplum on it.
6/8/10 9:59 AM
Mufffet said...
Oh this is so nice! Pretty fabric, great style on you - I am going to see if my DD would like this pattern - so SUMMERY as well. :)
6/8/10 10:34 AM
MNBarb said...
What a nicely detailed review. I love all of the photos since descriptions are so difficult to understand. Your final result is a very cute top that looks super-cute with the green (linen?) skirt. Nice work.
6/8/10 11:46 AM
sugarduck said...
Super cute! I never would have thought to match this pattern with that fabric, but the result is perfect. Great job!
6/8/10 12:17 PM
pterion said...
Very cute style! Sort of retro-looking. I agree that the belt really enhances the style.
6/8/10 12:31 PM
MissTaraTara said...
Very nice!!!
6/8/10 12:37 PM
Auntie Allyn said...
Lovely, just lovely . . . your hard work really paid off, and the style & fabric really suits you!
6/8/10 1:04 PM
fuzzygalore said...
It looks like a Liberty fabric, isn't it? Cute blouse, and I so understand about the swearing :-)...

But it's too bad you underlined - cotton lawn is so perfect for the summer, feels like a breeze, and would be perfect for that pattern. Now it's a bit stiff, and less cool. Underliining is something to do when you just have to have the wrong fabric for the use you're putting it to, but when you start with the perfect fabric it's just too bad.

You know, it's funny, I was in the Marche St Pierre last weekend and I had to calm the saleswomen down before I could get my fabric cut, they were all in a terrible huff because a bunch of american tourists had come in and bought nice linen, and then insisted on buying bemberg rayon to line it. What a waste of good fabric they all cried! Why can't they just buy something hot if that's what they want, and leave the linen to people who'll appreciate it? I tried to explain about patternreview fads, and technical competitiveness, but I don't think I was very successful :-)..
6/8/10 4:59 PM

FreyaStark said...
Lovely!
6/8/10 6:14 PM
heapha said...
as usual it looks fantastic... Now I want want. I love the retro feel on a modern look, the fabric is perfect and really complements your colouring.
6/8/10 7:43 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Cute blouse
6/9/10 5:24 AM
nicegirl said...
Fuzzygalore, I underlined because lawn is quite sheer. Cotton batiste underlining is MUCH cooler than a fitted knit camisole, which is what I would otherwise have had to wear to be decent in public. In addition, had I not underlined the facing would have shown through along the front opening and back neck, so I would have a really obvious facing line that would take away from the print.
6/9/10 9:05 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
So cute! The fabric and the style are perfect for you.
6/9/10 9:36 AM
Grammy Gin said...
I love your fabric choice! You look adorable...nice match with this skirt or any of the ones you've made (or are making).
6/9/10 11:52 AM
waltzqueen said...
THANK YOU for including your take on fitting pear shapes. I'm fairly tall and have worn long trumpet skirts which I thought should be flattering, but I always just looked big. I'm definitely trying the knee length now. Can't wait to see how the new length works!
6/9/10 3:20 PM
janet said...
Another winner! You look like a doll in this.
6/9/10 8:09 PM
amy in mpls said...
You are the cutest ever! I love this top, so great in the floral!
6/9/10 10:57 PM
amy in mpls said...
You are the cutest ever! I love this top, so great in the floral!
6/9/10 10:58 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Oh my, very cute! I really like the peplum. It has a nice combination of a bit of ruffle, but still a bit tailored in shape. Very cool. Thanks for the links to your pear shape discussion. You do a good job at picking the right shapes because I never would have guessed you were pear shaped!
6/9/10 11:06 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Love how this blouse looks on you! Excellent review and thank you for all the tips.
6/10/10 10:36 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

McCall's 5510 pjs for girls
photo
Review by chunter on 7/20/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sassy Bag
Sassy Bag

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at home)

Details
Price: $11.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Kitchen curtains
photo
Review by sewsunny37 on 9/20/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2165 Pattern ( Size ALL )
Simplicity 2165 Pattern ( Size ALL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8727 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8727 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us