Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: Vintage 2931 (ca. 1938 Daytime/Evening Gown) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 450 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
NA GERMANY
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 290
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 270
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/10 11:54 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aroura said...
Oh, pretty pretty! I really like that, a lot. It looks fantastic on you. You might not like the mutton chop sleeves (lol), but that dress is VERY becoming on you. And the slip to match. So great! Awesome and very informative review too!
5/28/10 0:16 AM
rachel5000 said...
I think that's BEAUTIFUL!!! I agree though that the sleeves are a bit overwhelming. You did great. Rachel
5/28/10 1:05 AM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely dress in a gorgeous colour.
5/28/10 2:15 AM
Sanibelle said...
A beautiful gown and a great review. :)
5/28/10 4:15 AM
squirrellypoo said...
This looks fantastic! I love the cool seam lines and you did SUCH a nice job on the finishing here.
5/28/10 7:55 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"snap placket"--Cool!! Very pretty gal in her vintage dress!! ;)
5/28/10 9:02 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress
5/28/10 9:18 AM
Re Becca said...
Very pretty! This was a lot of work, but so worth the effort, you have a fabulous dress.
5/28/10 10:17 AM
Margaret said...
Wow, thanks everyone for your kind comments!
5/28/10 7:12 PM
Jane S said...
Wow, fabulous dress on you and your review was a sewing lesson in itself. Beautiful lines in this dress, wonderfully flattering.
5/28/10 7:23 PM
Jacqui315 said...
Such a gorgeous dress!
5/29/10 1:49 AM
Margaret said...
Thank you!
5/29/10 11:16 AM
AnneM said...
Great information. The dress does look very nice. I'm not a big sleeve person for myself, but it certainly seems OK for you.
6/5/10 9:45 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks! I'm usually not either, but I like a lot of the design elements from the 30s and the patterns often come with the big sleeves... I think having dark, soft, and/or sheer fabric helps minimize them some.
6/6/10 8:58 PM
lesleysews said...
HI Where are you in MOntreal I am in Beaconsfield...love the dress!
6/15/10 6:35 PM
Margaret said...
Lesley, thanks!! I'll PM you
6/23/10 12:17 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

brerrabbit.com Lucinda Skirt Lucinda Skirt
photo
Review by MayenDesig... on 5/2/13
Read Review

Burda 8341 Pattern
Burda 8341 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5992 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 5992 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2008-20 Rose Dress
photo
Review by 21wale on 2/8/13
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Amy's Peplum Top Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Amy's Peplum Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us