SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> Vintage 2931 (ca. 1938 Daytime/Evening Gown)

Viewed 455 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 291
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 271
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/10 11:54 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aroura said...
Oh, pretty pretty! I really like that, a lot. It looks fantastic on you. You might not like the mutton chop sleeves (lol), but that dress is VERY becoming on you. And the slip to match. So great! Awesome and very informative review too!
5/28/10 0:16 AM
rachel5000 said...
I think that's BEAUTIFUL!!! I agree though that the sleeves are a bit overwhelming. You did great. Rachel
5/28/10 1:05 AM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely dress in a gorgeous colour.
5/28/10 2:15 AM
Sanibelle said...
A beautiful gown and a great review. :)
5/28/10 4:15 AM
squirrellypoo said...
This looks fantastic! I love the cool seam lines and you did SUCH a nice job on the finishing here.
5/28/10 7:55 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"snap placket"--Cool!! Very pretty gal in her vintage dress!! ;)
5/28/10 9:02 AM
carolynw said...
Beautiful dress
5/28/10 9:18 AM
Re Becca said...
Very pretty! This was a lot of work, but so worth the effort, you have a fabulous dress.
5/28/10 10:17 AM
Margaret said...
Wow, thanks everyone for your kind comments!
5/28/10 7:12 PM
Jane S said...
Wow, fabulous dress on you and your review was a sewing lesson in itself. Beautiful lines in this dress, wonderfully flattering.
5/28/10 7:23 PM
Jacqui315 said...
Such a gorgeous dress!
5/29/10 1:49 AM
Margaret said...
Thank you!
5/29/10 11:16 AM
AnneM said...
Great information. The dress does look very nice. I'm not a big sleeve person for myself, but it certainly seems OK for you.
6/5/10 9:45 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks! I'm usually not either, but I like a lot of the design elements from the 30s and the patterns often come with the big sleeves... I think having dark, soft, and/or sheer fabric helps minimize them some.
6/6/10 8:58 PM
lesleysews said...
HI Where are you in MOntreal I am in Beaconsfield...love the dress!
6/15/10 6:35 PM
Margaret said...
Lesley, thanks!! I'll PM you
6/23/10 12:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

PerfectFuse Sheer Black

PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Buy Now