Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2005-111 (Wedding Dress) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1902 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:purple dot
photo
About purple dot
FL USA
Member since: 6/26/04
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/29/10 4:50 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful. I think you better get on with those bridesmaids dresses! What are you thinking??
5/29/10 6:23 PM
Aroura said...
Wow, three days away! The brides dress looks really lovely though. Simple but elegant, I've always liked that best in a wedding gown, too. The lace is just beautiful. Great job!
5/29/10 6:25 PM
Re Becca said...
Incredible! Especially since you hadn't had a fitting since December, I am amazed that she even stayed the same size. You did a great job, better than the photo I think.
5/29/10 7:41 PM
Seaspur said...
Absolutely beautiful! Your sister is very lucky.
5/30/10 0:33 AM
sugarduck said...
Very pretty wedding dress! Great job and good luck with the bridesmaid dresses!
5/30/10 3:42 AM
JoanneM said...
wow! looks lovely!!!!
5/30/10 7:43 AM
Auntchelle said...
I love the back! A perfect dress for a beach wedding. Well done.
5/30/10 10:06 PM
SoVintage said...
Stunning
5/31/10 11:15 PM
Jobie said...
Amazing
6/1/10 0:00 AM
MaryDB said...
Gorgeous dress, beautiful work, lucky sister.
6/1/10 0:26 AM
purple dot said...
Thanks for all of your lovely comments! The wedding went very smoothly (the bridesmaids had dresses!), and we had beautiful weather.
6/1/10 10:42 PM
Nancy K said...
beautiful! I love the lines and elegance of your dress.
6/2/10 10:58 PM
Nancy K said...
beautiful! I love the lines and elegance of your dress.
6/2/10 10:58 PM
alviana said...
awesome! i'm going to vote for you. u look absolutely georgous!
6/2/10 11:05 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Utterly gorgeous! I hope my wedding gown turns out half as beautiful. And I totally understand about the handstitching...
6/4/10 7:10 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely dress, and great wedding gift.
6/5/10 9:27 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. What more can I say.
6/8/10 7:04 PM
Sew it seams said...
I love your dress. I really love the lace over the straps.
6/8/10 8:50 PM
melaniejade31 said...
You did an absolutely INCREDIBLE job!
6/10/10 2:27 AM
DesignsByDenise said...
Beautiful dress. Hand sewing isn't quite the chore that most people think it is, and you get so much return for your time! We'd love to see a picture from the wedding if you can get one! I like the way the hem stands out just a little - I'm sure that made it much easier for the bride. Lovely job all around!
6/11/10 2:07 PM
Meredith P said...
Wow! I can't believe you hadn't done this before (formalwear sewing). You handled it like a pro! I'm off to search for bridesmaids dresses. I hope you have or will review them, or post pictures here :-)
6/12/10 1:23 PM
Raye Ann said...
Very, very beautiful. I hope you have enough recovery time before your own wedding to tackle a gown of your own!!
6/13/10 12:55 PM
Robin Denning said...
What an accomplishment! Congratulations on a superb gown. Your sister looks like a model for BWOF. Love the choices, too ... the charmuese, the silk, etc. Truly spectacular.
6/13/10 1:12 PM
Karendee said...
This is the star of your sister's wedding and a gift to last a lifetime. You are a one of a kind generous sister. Congratulations on your beautiful garment.
6/13/10 7:38 PM
rozzybabe said...
I have found that the 2 reference books you used can take a sewer that hasn't done structured, intricate formalwear before & make them look like a pro first time. Your construction & design changes obviously worked very well, & for a "non" hand sewer, that's top notch as well! Gorgeous bride & bridal party, I hope you'll remember your achievement for a long time!
6/13/10 8:22 PM
pipet said...
Wow, absolutely beautiful! I love your adaptation and it looks like you've been sewing formalwear for years. You're sister is so lucky and looks stunning in your creation!
6/15/10 9:01 PM
ClioBklyn said...
So elegant!
6/16/10 3:45 PM
amy in mpls said...
The bride and dress and gorgeous! What a great sister :)
6/16/10 9:59 PM
khurtdvm said...
Georgeous!
6/16/10 10:19 PM
RobinMCPA said...
Wow, that is so impressive! Congratulations on winning the contest, also. What a great accomplishment!
6/20/10 11:18 AM
ChristineX said...
Gorgeous!
12/5/10 0:15 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Vogue Patterns 7608 Misses' Jeans
photo
Review by Renren on 6/30/13
Read Review

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Peplum Skirt Digital Pattern
Salme Peplum Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Waikiki Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3463
photo
Review by Sue Parrot... on 5/8/13
Read Review

Vogue 8355 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 8355 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1924 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 1924 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us