SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2005-111 (Wedding Dress)

Viewed 1932 times 
Reviewed by:purple dot
photo

 
 
About purple dot
FL USA
Member since: 6/26/04
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/29/10 4:50 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful. I think you better get on with those bridesmaids dresses! What are you thinking??
5/29/10 6:23 PM
Aroura said...
Wow, three days away! The brides dress looks really lovely though. Simple but elegant, I've always liked that best in a wedding gown, too. The lace is just beautiful. Great job!
5/29/10 6:25 PM
Re Becca said...
Incredible! Especially since you hadn't had a fitting since December, I am amazed that she even stayed the same size. You did a great job, better than the photo I think.
5/29/10 7:41 PM
Seaspur said...
Absolutely beautiful! Your sister is very lucky.
5/30/10 0:33 AM
sugarduck said...
Very pretty wedding dress! Great job and good luck with the bridesmaid dresses!
5/30/10 3:42 AM
JoanneM said...
wow! looks lovely!!!!
5/30/10 7:43 AM
Auntchelle said...
I love the back! A perfect dress for a beach wedding. Well done.
5/30/10 10:06 PM
SoVintage said...
Stunning
5/31/10 11:15 PM
Jobie said...
Amazing
6/1/10 0:00 AM
MaryDB said...
Gorgeous dress, beautiful work, lucky sister.
6/1/10 0:26 AM
purple dot said...
Thanks for all of your lovely comments! The wedding went very smoothly (the bridesmaids had dresses!), and we had beautiful weather.
6/1/10 10:42 PM
Nancy K said...
beautiful! I love the lines and elegance of your dress.
6/2/10 10:58 PM
Nancy K said...
beautiful! I love the lines and elegance of your dress.
6/2/10 10:58 PM
alviana said...
awesome! i'm going to vote for you. u look absolutely georgous!
6/2/10 11:05 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Utterly gorgeous! I hope my wedding gown turns out half as beautiful. And I totally understand about the handstitching...
6/4/10 7:10 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely dress, and great wedding gift.
6/5/10 9:27 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. What more can I say.
6/8/10 7:04 PM
Sew it seams said...
I love your dress. I really love the lace over the straps.
6/8/10 8:50 PM
melaniejade31 said...
You did an absolutely INCREDIBLE job!
6/10/10 2:27 AM
DesignsByDenise said...
Beautiful dress. Hand sewing isn't quite the chore that most people think it is, and you get so much return for your time! We'd love to see a picture from the wedding if you can get one! I like the way the hem stands out just a little - I'm sure that made it much easier for the bride. Lovely job all around!
6/11/10 2:07 PM
Meredith P said...
Wow! I can't believe you hadn't done this before (formalwear sewing). You handled it like a pro! I'm off to search for bridesmaids dresses. I hope you have or will review them, or post pictures here :-)
6/12/10 1:23 PM
Raye Ann said...
Very, very beautiful. I hope you have enough recovery time before your own wedding to tackle a gown of your own!!
6/13/10 12:55 PM
Robin Denning said...
What an accomplishment! Congratulations on a superb gown. Your sister looks like a model for BWOF. Love the choices, too ... the charmuese, the silk, etc. Truly spectacular.
6/13/10 1:12 PM
Karendee said...
This is the star of your sister's wedding and a gift to last a lifetime. You are a one of a kind generous sister. Congratulations on your beautiful garment.
6/13/10 7:38 PM
rozzybabe said...
I have found that the 2 reference books you used can take a sewer that hasn't done structured, intricate formalwear before & make them look like a pro first time. Your construction & design changes obviously worked very well, & for a "non" hand sewer, that's top notch as well! Gorgeous bride & bridal party, I hope you'll remember your achievement for a long time!
6/13/10 8:22 PM
pipet said...
Wow, absolutely beautiful! I love your adaptation and it looks like you've been sewing formalwear for years. You're sister is so lucky and looks stunning in your creation!
6/15/10 9:01 PM
ClioBklyn said...
So elegant!
6/16/10 3:45 PM
amy in mpls said...
The bride and dress and gorgeous! What a great sister :)
6/16/10 9:59 PM
khurtdvm said...
Georgeous!
6/16/10 10:19 PM
RobinMCPA said...
Wow, that is so impressive! Congratulations on winning the contest, also. What a great accomplishment!
6/20/10 11:18 AM
ChristineX said...
Gorgeous!
12/5/10 0:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Vogue Patterns 2611

photo
by: Erinaceous

Review
Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Fit For Art Trouser Details for Eureka Pants

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now