SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 04-2005-111 (Wedding Dress)

Viewed 1944 times 
Reviewed by:purple dot
photo

 
 
About purple dot
FL USA
Member since: 6/26/04
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/29/10 4:50 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ChristineX said...
Gorgeous!
12/5/10 0:15 AM
RobinMCPA said...
Wow, that is so impressive! Congratulations on winning the contest, also. What a great accomplishment!
6/20/10 11:18 AM
khurtdvm said...
Georgeous!
6/16/10 10:19 PM
amy in mpls said...
The bride and dress and gorgeous! What a great sister :)
6/16/10 9:59 PM
ClioBklyn said...
So elegant!
6/16/10 3:45 PM
pipet said...
Wow, absolutely beautiful! I love your adaptation and it looks like you've been sewing formalwear for years. You're sister is so lucky and looks stunning in your creation!
6/15/10 9:01 PM
rozzybabe said...
I have found that the 2 reference books you used can take a sewer that hasn't done structured, intricate formalwear before & make them look like a pro first time. Your construction & design changes obviously worked very well, & for a "non" hand sewer, that's top notch as well! Gorgeous bride & bridal party, I hope you'll remember your achievement for a long time!
6/13/10 8:22 PM
Karendee said...
This is the star of your sister's wedding and a gift to last a lifetime. You are a one of a kind generous sister. Congratulations on your beautiful garment.
6/13/10 7:38 PM
Robin Denning said...
What an accomplishment! Congratulations on a superb gown. Your sister looks like a model for BWOF. Love the choices, too ... the charmuese, the silk, etc. Truly spectacular.
6/13/10 1:12 PM
Raye Ann said...
Very, very beautiful. I hope you have enough recovery time before your own wedding to tackle a gown of your own!!
6/13/10 12:55 PM
Meredith P said...
Wow! I can't believe you hadn't done this before (formalwear sewing). You handled it like a pro! I'm off to search for bridesmaids dresses. I hope you have or will review them, or post pictures here :-)
6/12/10 1:23 PM
DesignsByDenise said...
Beautiful dress. Hand sewing isn't quite the chore that most people think it is, and you get so much return for your time! We'd love to see a picture from the wedding if you can get one! I like the way the hem stands out just a little - I'm sure that made it much easier for the bride. Lovely job all around!
6/11/10 2:07 PM
melaniejade31 said...
You did an absolutely INCREDIBLE job!
6/10/10 2:27 AM
Sew it seams said...
I love your dress. I really love the lace over the straps.
6/8/10 8:50 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. What more can I say.
6/8/10 7:04 PM
AnneM said...
Lovely dress, and great wedding gift.
6/5/10 9:27 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Utterly gorgeous! I hope my wedding gown turns out half as beautiful. And I totally understand about the handstitching...
6/4/10 7:10 AM
alviana said...
awesome! i'm going to vote for you. u look absolutely georgous!
6/2/10 11:05 PM
Nancy K said...
beautiful! I love the lines and elegance of your dress.
6/2/10 10:58 PM
Nancy K said...
beautiful! I love the lines and elegance of your dress.
6/2/10 10:58 PM
purple dot said...
Thanks for all of your lovely comments! The wedding went very smoothly (the bridesmaids had dresses!), and we had beautiful weather.
6/1/10 10:42 PM
MaryDB said...
Gorgeous dress, beautiful work, lucky sister.
6/1/10 0:26 AM
Jobie said...
Amazing
6/1/10 0:00 AM
SoVintage said...
Stunning
5/31/10 11:15 PM
Auntchelle said...
I love the back! A perfect dress for a beach wedding. Well done.
5/30/10 10:06 PM
JoanneM said...
wow! looks lovely!!!!
5/30/10 7:43 AM
sugarduck said...
Very pretty wedding dress! Great job and good luck with the bridesmaid dresses!
5/30/10 3:42 AM
Seaspur said...
Absolutely beautiful! Your sister is very lucky.
5/30/10 0:33 AM
Re Becca said...
Incredible! Especially since you hadn't had a fitting since December, I am amazed that she even stayed the same size. You did a great job, better than the photo I think.
5/29/10 7:41 PM
Aroura said...
Wow, three days away! The brides dress looks really lovely though. Simple but elegant, I've always liked that best in a wedding gown, too. The lace is just beautiful. Great job!
5/29/10 6:25 PM
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful. I think you better get on with those bridesmaids dresses! What are you thinking??
5/29/10 6:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Simplicity a2684

photo
by: kathieh9

Review
Chelsea

Chelsea

More Info
Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

Christine Jonson Fitted Jacket

More Info