Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1090 (MISSES' DRESS) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 437 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:ConnieBJ
photo
Friend of PR
About ConnieBJstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 12/31/03
Reviews written: 48
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/10 1:31 PM
Last Updated:5/31/10 1:33 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhoda K said...
Very nice - love this pattern.
5/31/10 2:51 PM
Nancy K said...
I also bought this pattern as soon as it came out and I have yet to make it. It looks great on you and thanks for the tips on the sleeves.
5/31/10 3:45 PM
BlossomKyle said...
It was so cool to see it in person!!!
5/31/10 5:44 PM
Gelbean said...
Great dress Connie. So glad I got to see it in person.
5/31/10 7:29 PM
carnelian said...
Yes...rummaging/organizing is inspiring. Thanks for your informative and companionable review.
5/31/10 8:35 PM
jaeng said...
Love this dress. Great fabric and color choice.
6/1/10 9:00 AM
Babe B said...
Groovy!
6/1/10 9:36 AM
moushka said...
Super sixties vibe, smashing in navy and white. Great dress, very flattering.
6/1/10 5:52 PM
Margaret said...
Very nice, love the colors!
6/2/10 11:33 AM
miriamlaila said...
Gorgeous! you've inspired me to try it. I love the colour choice too - looks so sharp and fresh.
1/2/11 9:17 PM
valkyrie01 said...
The dress looks great on you! I am a fellow Canadian who also made it, btw, with linen from the downtown Toronto Fabricland, which (tragically) has closed down! I made the body in a mustard yellow and the hem, cuffs and neckline in orange. It is a VERY comfortable dress. I actually sewed most of this by hand as I was enjoying the feel of the linen. I would suggest that you line it; I lined it in silk chiffon (which actually was more $$ than the linen!) which feels delicious, but you could get away with a regular lining fabric. I find that the dress moves better with the lining and has a bit of weight, which is not thick or cumbersome. It helps the dress hang, swing and sit well. One thing I think is that they should suggest shoulder pads. This is a square shaped dress that is almost independent of the body when worn, so the shoulder pads help it hang by giving the shoulders a better shape. I myself would make it again if I did not already have so many patterns left to be made in my stash! Overall great job and it looks good on you!
8/22/11 1:39 AM
SavageCoco said...
I made this dress last summer. It looks great on YOU. Me - absolutely horrid. I did superb construction, probably the nicest work I've ever done. And it ended up in the recycle pile. DB said it was just horrid. But YOURS - gorgeous on you! Lesson learned - shoulda made a mock-up.
1/6/12 1:17 AM
ImListening said...
Thank your for your review. You refer to other reviews, but as of my viewing, yours is the only review of this pattern here. Your dress looks nice. The color combination you chose looks fresh.
5/26/12 5:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Lingerie Secrets Shortie Legging
photo
Review by Rustybobn on 2/11/08
Read Review

McCalls 4066 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 4066 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6875 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6875 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3786 Misses Tops
photo
Review by SewWil on 3/15/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Reversible Ruffle Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Ruffle Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Nature Walk Pullover & Knit Pants Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Details
Price: $39.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Sheer White
PerfectFuse Sheer White

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us