SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1090 (MISSES' DRESS)

Viewed 445 times 
Reviewed by:ConnieBJ
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ConnieBJstarstar
ON Canada
Member since: 12/31/03
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/10 1:31 PM
Last Updated:5/31/10 1:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ImListening said...
Thank your for your review. You refer to other reviews, but as of my viewing, yours is the only review of this pattern here. Your dress looks nice. The color combination you chose looks fresh.
5/26/12 5:47 PM
SavageCoco said...
I made this dress last summer. It looks great on YOU. Me - absolutely horrid. I did superb construction, probably the nicest work I've ever done. And it ended up in the recycle pile. DB said it was just horrid. But YOURS - gorgeous on you! Lesson learned - shoulda made a mock-up.
1/6/12 1:17 AM
valkyrie01 said...
The dress looks great on you! I am a fellow Canadian who also made it, btw, with linen from the downtown Toronto Fabricland, which (tragically) has closed down! I made the body in a mustard yellow and the hem, cuffs and neckline in orange. It is a VERY comfortable dress. I actually sewed most of this by hand as I was enjoying the feel of the linen. I would suggest that you line it; I lined it in silk chiffon (which actually was more $$ than the linen!) which feels delicious, but you could get away with a regular lining fabric. I find that the dress moves better with the lining and has a bit of weight, which is not thick or cumbersome. It helps the dress hang, swing and sit well. One thing I think is that they should suggest shoulder pads. This is a square shaped dress that is almost independent of the body when worn, so the shoulder pads help it hang by giving the shoulders a better shape. I myself would make it again if I did not already have so many patterns left to be made in my stash! Overall great job and it looks good on you!
8/22/11 1:39 AM
miriamlaila said...
Gorgeous! you've inspired me to try it. I love the colour choice too - looks so sharp and fresh.
1/2/11 9:17 PM
Margaret said...
Very nice, love the colors!
6/2/10 11:33 AM
moushka said...
Super sixties vibe, smashing in navy and white. Great dress, very flattering.
6/1/10 5:52 PM
Babe B said...
Groovy!
6/1/10 9:36 AM
jaeng said...
Love this dress. Great fabric and color choice.
6/1/10 9:00 AM
carnelian said...
Yes...rummaging/organizing is inspiring. Thanks for your informative and companionable review.
5/31/10 8:35 PM
Gelbean said...
Great dress Connie. So glad I got to see it in person.
5/31/10 7:29 PM
BlossomKyle said...
It was so cool to see it in person!!!
5/31/10 5:44 PM
Nancy K said...
I also bought this pattern as soon as it came out and I have yet to make it. It looks great on you and thanks for the tips on the sleeves.
5/31/10 3:45 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice - love this pattern.
5/31/10 2:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

More Info
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 6-14(Cup A-DD) )

More Info