SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1090 (MISSES' DRESS)

Viewed 439 times 
Reviewed by:ConnieBJ
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ConnieBJstarstar
ON Canada
Member since: 12/31/03
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/10 1:31 PM
Last Updated:5/31/10 1:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rhoda K said...
Very nice - love this pattern.
5/31/10 2:51 PM
Nancy K said...
I also bought this pattern as soon as it came out and I have yet to make it. It looks great on you and thanks for the tips on the sleeves.
5/31/10 3:45 PM
BlossomKyle said...
It was so cool to see it in person!!!
5/31/10 5:44 PM
Gelbean said...
Great dress Connie. So glad I got to see it in person.
5/31/10 7:29 PM
carnelian said...
Yes...rummaging/organizing is inspiring. Thanks for your informative and companionable review.
5/31/10 8:35 PM
jaeng said...
Love this dress. Great fabric and color choice.
6/1/10 9:00 AM
Babe B said...
Groovy!
6/1/10 9:36 AM
moushka said...
Super sixties vibe, smashing in navy and white. Great dress, very flattering.
6/1/10 5:52 PM
Margaret said...
Very nice, love the colors!
6/2/10 11:33 AM
miriamlaila said...
Gorgeous! you've inspired me to try it. I love the colour choice too - looks so sharp and fresh.
1/2/11 9:17 PM
valkyrie01 said...
The dress looks great on you! I am a fellow Canadian who also made it, btw, with linen from the downtown Toronto Fabricland, which (tragically) has closed down! I made the body in a mustard yellow and the hem, cuffs and neckline in orange. It is a VERY comfortable dress. I actually sewed most of this by hand as I was enjoying the feel of the linen. I would suggest that you line it; I lined it in silk chiffon (which actually was more $$ than the linen!) which feels delicious, but you could get away with a regular lining fabric. I find that the dress moves better with the lining and has a bit of weight, which is not thick or cumbersome. It helps the dress hang, swing and sit well. One thing I think is that they should suggest shoulder pads. This is a square shaped dress that is almost independent of the body when worn, so the shoulder pads help it hang by giving the shoulders a better shape. I myself would make it again if I did not already have so many patterns left to be made in my stash! Overall great job and it looks good on you!
8/22/11 1:39 AM
SavageCoco said...
I made this dress last summer. It looks great on YOU. Me - absolutely horrid. I did superb construction, probably the nicest work I've ever done. And it ended up in the recycle pile. DB said it was just horrid. But YOURS - gorgeous on you! Lesson learned - shoulda made a mock-up.
1/6/12 1:17 AM
ImListening said...
Thank your for your review. You refer to other reviews, but as of my viewing, yours is the only review of this pattern here. Your dress looks nice. The color combination you chose looks fresh.
5/26/12 5:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Simplicity 4076

photo
by: Karen2931

Review
Simplicity 5540

photo
by: PAMomof3

Review
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Buy Now