SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Decades of Style> 4005 

3 more reviews
Viewed 555 times 
Reviewed by:chicaem29
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About chicaem29star
NY USA
Member since: 3/4/09
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/1/10 1:49 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Claverie said...
21 Comments?! Wowee! I just discovered your posting and your topstitching is absolutely gorgeous! (Pardon all those '!' ... I'm really impressed.
6/3/11 8:57 AM
WJean said...
Your blouse is beautiful. I think I may get this pattern!
5/13/11 4:17 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Beautiful use of topstitching for the collar. Pretty blouse.
6/2/10 10:06 PM
HeyJane said...
Wow, beautiful topstitching. That's a pretty blouse.
6/2/10 1:18 PM
Obrooks770 said...
Beautiful blouse, you did an awesome job on the topstitching!
6/2/10 9:51 AM
Diane333 said...
I love your top and the detailed collar.
6/2/10 8:28 AM
Sharon1952 said...
Stunning details!
6/2/10 6:05 AM
sweetviolets said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
6/2/10 1:26 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Just beautiful! I love everything about it and it fits perfect!!!! A great job!
6/1/10 2:45 PM
chicaem29 said...
Thanks all! The topstitching wasn't as tricky as I thought it would be, thanks to my 1/4" foot, although it did require some patience. I'm glad you all think it still looks nice despite the effects of being off-grain. JillyBe, 'successful design elements' works for me! I'm sorry for making you wait for this review, the top was done a while ago but needed to be soaked a lot to get my pencil marks out. I can't wait to try this again in a different fabric.
6/1/10 1:31 PM
MissTaraTara said...
simply beautiful!
6/1/10 12:55 PM
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful. Perfect combo of sheer and topstitching thread.
6/1/10 12:13 PM
maryfrana said...
A beautiful style and I love your topstitching. I could tell it was Perle cotton even in the photo. Great job. And I agree with Skymom on the cami.
6/1/10 11:51 AM
Skymom said...
Your blouse is gorgeous--the topstitching is impeccable. I'd wear a white or pastel camisole underneath so the show-through looks intentional. Why not, with this lovely sheer fabric?
6/1/10 11:01 AM
mastdenman said...
Beautiful blouse. You should wear a nice cami underneath and go with it.
6/1/10 10:48 AM
JanieBee said...
Terrific work, especially the topstitching!
6/1/10 10:13 AM
marec said...
Beautiful, especially your topstitching.
6/1/10 9:44 AM
Paris75008 said...
The topstitching is just perfect.
6/1/10 9:33 AM
QuiltersFan said...
I love the topstitching. Very elegant.
6/1/10 9:22 AM
Cuffs said...
Your topstitching is divine.
6/1/10 6:26 AM
FreyaStark said...
It's lovely and a pretty good effort for a beginner. I don't think I would have the patience to do all that meticulous top stitching. Well done.
6/1/10 5:00 AM
JillyBe said...
Yay I'm SO glad to finally see your review! Unfortunately, I really thought I was ready to move on from my DoS obsession, but now I simply MUST make this blouse.... Gorgeous choices on the topstitching & fabric - I think it will look fabulous w/ a nice cami underneath. And honestly, I LOVE the way the collar drapes & the little tulip bits on the edge of the sleeves - I would just call them both successful design elements.
6/1/10 2:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

More Info
BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

BIRTH OF A BUSTIER - A CD Book by Kenneth King

More Info
Simplicity 9025

photo
by: lauramae

Review