Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Decades of Style: 4005 - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 536 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:chicaem29
photo
Friend of PR
About chicaem29star
NY USA
Member since: 3/4/09
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/1/10 1:49 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JillyBe said...
Yay I'm SO glad to finally see your review! Unfortunately, I really thought I was ready to move on from my DoS obsession, but now I simply MUST make this blouse.... Gorgeous choices on the topstitching & fabric - I think it will look fabulous w/ a nice cami underneath. And honestly, I LOVE the way the collar drapes & the little tulip bits on the edge of the sleeves - I would just call them both successful design elements.
6/1/10 2:58 AM
FreyaStark said...
It's lovely and a pretty good effort for a beginner. I don't think I would have the patience to do all that meticulous top stitching. Well done.
6/1/10 5:00 AM
Cuffs said...
Your topstitching is divine.
6/1/10 6:26 AM
QuiltersFan said...
I love the topstitching. Very elegant.
6/1/10 9:22 AM
Paris75008 said...
The topstitching is just perfect.
6/1/10 9:33 AM
marec said...
Beautiful, especially your topstitching.
6/1/10 9:44 AM
JanieBee said...
Terrific work, especially the topstitching!
6/1/10 10:13 AM
mastdenman said...
Beautiful blouse. You should wear a nice cami underneath and go with it.
6/1/10 10:48 AM
Skymom said...
Your blouse is gorgeous--the topstitching is impeccable. I'd wear a white or pastel camisole underneath so the show-through looks intentional. Why not, with this lovely sheer fabric?
6/1/10 11:01 AM
maryfrana said...
A beautiful style and I love your topstitching. I could tell it was Perle cotton even in the photo. Great job. And I agree with Skymom on the cami.
6/1/10 11:51 AM
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful. Perfect combo of sheer and topstitching thread.
6/1/10 12:13 PM
MissTaraTara said...
simply beautiful!
6/1/10 12:55 PM
chicaem29 said...
Thanks all! The topstitching wasn't as tricky as I thought it would be, thanks to my 1/4" foot, although it did require some patience. I'm glad you all think it still looks nice despite the effects of being off-grain. JillyBe, 'successful design elements' works for me! I'm sorry for making you wait for this review, the top was done a while ago but needed to be soaked a lot to get my pencil marks out. I can't wait to try this again in a different fabric.
6/1/10 1:31 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Just beautiful! I love everything about it and it fits perfect!!!! A great job!
6/1/10 2:45 PM
sweetviolets said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
6/2/10 1:26 AM
Sharon1952 said...
Stunning details!
6/2/10 6:05 AM
Diane333 said...
I love your top and the detailed collar.
6/2/10 8:28 AM
Obrooks770 said...
Beautiful blouse, you did an awesome job on the topstitching!
6/2/10 9:51 AM
HeyJane said...
Wow, beautiful topstitching. That's a pretty blouse.
6/2/10 1:18 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Beautiful use of topstitching for the collar. Pretty blouse.
6/2/10 10:06 PM
WJean said...
Your blouse is beautiful. I think I may get this pattern!
5/13/11 4:17 PM
Claverie said...
21 Comments?! Wowee! I just discovered your posting and your topstitching is absolutely gorgeous! (Pardon all those '!' ... I'm really impressed.
6/3/11 8:57 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 4110
photo
Review by meli88a on 4/6/08
Read Review

Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)
Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

StyleArc Ziggi Jacket
photo
Review by Jrhee on 2/14/14
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1606 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1606 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6218 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )
New Look 6218 Pattern ( Size NB-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us