Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4109 (Corsets and petticoats) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1161 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:vande
photo
About vandestar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/08
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/10 8:33 AM
Last Updated:6/17/10 2:33 AM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mazzygirl said...
this is looking great so far, love the contrast of the red lace over white satin! Can't wait to see the finished result.
6/2/10 4:04 AM
arianamaniacs said...
It's not like underwear at all. I was surprised when I looked at the pattern, which I also have. It's beautiful, what a great combo with the red.
6/2/10 4:37 AM
psgates said...
Lovely
6/2/10 8:05 AM
ryansmumAria said...
omg! This is incredible!
6/2/10 8:08 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
Love love LOVELY!
6/2/10 10:06 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Very pretty! I also viewed this pattern thinking wouldn't it be a beautiful dress! Why not, so many of the other patterns look the same. It is beautiful with the red.
6/2/10 10:43 AM
p1xie said...
It doesn't look like underware at all so far. Wow I love how it's coming about and can't wait to see it finished.
6/2/10 11:07 AM
SoVintage said...
I agree Incredible! I have this in my stash somewhere....I can't wait to see it finished!
6/2/10 9:42 PM
Annette1 said...
Soooooooooooooo very pretty! You know, I bought this pattern, knowing full well I would NEVER have a need for the corset OR the slip, but it's just so pretty, I couldn't resist. :o) I can't wait to see your finished project. I LOVE it so far!
6/3/10 0:09 AM
RLL said...
So gorgeous so far! Can't wait to see the finished dress. What does the young lady need it for? Prom? Prom's are over around here, in fact, school is out for summer as of last week.
6/5/10 10:02 AM
Rhoda K said...
So beautiful - looking forward to seeing the finished product.
6/5/10 10:42 AM
Dale C said...
Can't wait to see the finished product! It's looking beautiful.
6/6/10 2:06 AM
tess said...
This is really beautiful, the emboidery is absolutely stunning! Thank you for your detailed review, extremely helpful!
6/6/10 7:45 AM
Bunsnpigs said...
Stunning! YOu aren't really an advanced beginner, are you????
6/6/10 9:22 AM
Fairy_Tinkerbell said...
So beautiful!!
6/7/10 12:24 PM
lesleysews said...
wow wow wow beautiful you are truly talented
6/12/10 3:40 PM
ryansmumAria said...
i'm speechless..
6/17/10 3:41 AM
Mel.J said...
That's beautiful. The lace and the sash really give this a medieval feel I just love.
6/17/10 7:25 AM
cindyann said...
Breathtaking! I'm very impressed.
6/17/10 9:36 AM
AuntieShel said...
Whoa!! That dress is absolutely stunning!!!
6/17/10 9:48 AM
BenaeQuee said...
Wow! That is stunning! The red embelishements with the sash, gorgeous.
6/17/10 10:43 AM
Puppy said...
Simple, striking and absolutely FANTASTIC!
6/17/10 11:26 AM
Aroura said...
Completely amazing!
6/17/10 1:53 PM
Leu said...
Wow. You inspire me. I taught HS for many years. Never saw anything so beautiful at any of the dances. Very lucky young lady.
6/17/10 2:58 PM
kathleencramer said...
Absolutly stunning. What an incredible piece of art work. This could be a wedding dress. It is absolutly exquisite. Nice work.
6/18/10 6:17 AM
Mazzygirl said...
well this turned out beautifully! I love the heart effect of the lace on the bodice too. beautifully finished, I love the back lacing too, welll I love the whole lot really! Would make a stunning wedding dress too. Brilliant effort, I'm sure the recipient was thrilled! (& she looked stunning too!)
6/18/10 7:52 AM
susiestitcher said...
Totally amazing. The dress is really stunning and fits beautifully. Your work is far above Advanced Beginner! I loved seeing the young lady modeling it. You should be very proud of your masterpiece.
6/18/10 8:20 AM
RLL said...
Exquisite! Definition: Characterized by intricate and beautiful design or execution. Yep, that sums up this dress......exquisite.
6/18/10 12:00 PM
vande said...
Thank you so much to all who have stopped by to comment! I can't take too much credit - It is truly a brilliant pattern, and the style and colour choices were from the girl herself (who, like Cinderella, would look brilliant even in rags!) I just plodded along VERY carefully through the pattern, and then spent so many hours handsewing that embroidered lace, found on ebay, that I have no fingertips left (lol). I have changed my skill to intermediate (but I still feel a bit of a fraud with that) - I put in my first invisible zip with this one...and that was not a great experience. I think, if you have a really good pattern, that really suits your model - and then you take a lot of time to make sure that the fit is good - and you google the sewing techniques until your brain fries, before you try them - this is the result!
6/18/10 5:35 PM
AdaH said...
Beautiful, beautiful dress.
6/19/10 0:31 AM
veritate said...
All I can say is... "stunning". This dress is absolutely stunning.
6/21/10 2:01 AM
ClioBklyn said...
GORGEOUS!!
6/30/10 4:24 PM
Christas said...
This is so lovely!
9/29/10 8:34 AM
larpgeek said...
I just wanted to say that seeing what you have done with this pattern is what made be want to try it. That is just too lovely.
1/17/11 8:01 PM
JeanJean said...
Beautiful creation!
10/3/11 11:04 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

McCall's 5616 Girl's Dress
photo
Review by Erica B. on 5/19/08
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3882 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3882 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8886 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8886 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2008-4 Sporty Top
photo
Review by treefrog on 12/28/11
Read Review

Oliver S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us