SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1099 

20 more reviews
Viewed 704 times 
Reviewed by:lareine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lareinestar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 11/10/06
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 34
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/4/10 3:56 AM
Last Updated:6/6/10 8:29 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lareine said...
Thanks all for the comments. I do have some other shirt patterns that I am going to try, and I've emailed HotPatterns with the problems that I found. At the very least, they need to look at the quality control of their printing process. Glad it's not only me who had the too-small cuffs issue!
6/6/10 2:24 AM
sewmoesew said...
I too have found HP to be very difficult. I have found that the patterns I've made, the wrist (cuffs) are always too small.
6/5/10 5:08 PM
Fran G said...
A sad experience for you! I've never sewn a HP and the unfortunate reviews do not encourage me to do so. I am sure you can find a pattern that works much better for you.
6/5/10 7:56 AM
CarolynGM said...
You did the best you could possibly do with a difficult pattern. There are plenty of really nice shirt patterns available that won't be so hard to work with.
6/4/10 5:02 PM
FreyaStark said...
I'm sorry you had such a bad experience. If you wanted to try again you could find another shirt in the same style from other brands, especially McCalls, which have better instructions and less cluttered tissue.
6/4/10 6:24 AM
Kayseri said...
What a shame this didn't work, it sounds like you gave it a good go. Better luck next time.
6/4/10 5:50 AM
sewsue said...
Thanks for an honest review. I too have had similar experiences with Hot Patterns, and would not recommend them for a beginner at all. I understand your not wanting to continue, and I have "binned" a couple of patterns, and garments before they were even finished. Very disappointing..
6/4/10 0:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Summer Tote

Summer Tote

More Info
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

More Info
Simplicity 2063

photo
by: maria 6705

Review