Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8489 (MISSES' DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 775 times 22 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Quietlife
photo
About Quietlife
AZ USA
Member since: 2/9/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/28/10 12:49 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
Beautiful! I would recommend using a 1 1/2 inch hem on this dress for the weight. It will allow it to hang instead of curl. Did the directions say to do a rolled hem? Better quality garments have wider hems generally speaking. Changing the neckline on this type of garment is very difficult to do. I have attempted to do it and have abandoned the idea when I realized just how much effort and time it would take. It was easier to move onto an other project (I am also a former patternmaker!). You did a very nice job.
6/28/10 12:59 PM
petro said...
I made this. The neckline on me came to bottom of bra level - hopeless! I cut a section of contrasting fabric to fit in the V shape and attached it at the inside where the facing is stitched. My dress was black and white print and the fill in was black. It has pretty much the same visual effect as wearing a camisole, but without the hassle or heat, and the dress does travel very well.
6/28/10 3:07 PM
petro said...
Sorry - forgot to say I love the print you used!
6/28/10 3:11 PM
Quietlife said...
The pattern called for a 5/8" hem. I had read a rolled hem is recommended for jersy's so I tried it. I will most likely add a regular folded hem, but just don't feel like dealing with that much hem right now.
6/28/10 11:06 PM
christinawo said...
The dress looks beautiful. I would just go with the lacy camisole. Changing necklines is a mystery! I've never been successful. Lovely dress and very informative review. Thank you! Chris
6/29/10 10:59 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Quietlife, I find it interesting that someone recommended a rolled hem for a jersey. I have never seen that done and I would recommend against it. Just so you know on future projects. I have seen 2 and 2 1/2 inch hems on jersey tops which gives it a very polished looked especially if you coverstitch it. It also gives the hem weight so it hangs nicely. Enjoy your lovely dress ~ it's beautiful.
6/29/10 11:19 AM
dwindy said...
Quietlife, I have made at least 50 jersey dresses and skirts, and I ALWAYS use a rolled hem (unless I leave the hem raw). I do a lot of ballroom dancing and find that the rolled hem makes a much more flowy skirt
6/29/10 1:42 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Quietlife and dwindy, I was sorting through my 1 million patterns and re organizing them and ran into this pattern. I took a close look at it and realized it was a wide skirt, much wider than it looks. Generally speaking, the wider the skirt the narrower the hemline in order to avoid bulk, so a narrower hem is appropriate. When you said rolled hem I immediately thought serged rolled hem and when my students have done that on skirts it has rarely looks good! On jersey tops, it looks fine. My mistake! So, yes, on wide flowing skirts narrow hems look lovely!
6/29/10 2:01 PM
petro said...
I used a fairly lightweight knit, quite slippery, and as it had a busy pattern got away with overlocking the edge, turning under and stitching - so about a quarter inch hem. I've had this dress a couple of years now, its travelled and not given problems.
6/30/10 2:13 AM
dwindy said...
I use a 2mm Bernina rolled hem foot
6/30/10 10:47 AM
Quietlife said...
I used a 3 thread rolled hem (surger). I will most likely fold under the recommneded 5/8" and top stitch with a double needle at some point.
7/2/10 0:05 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Self Drafted Pattern 117862-1008 lace skirt
photo
Review by French.Sea... on 9/16/13
Read Review

Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Scalloped Hem Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)
Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6415 Pants
photo
Review by RuthieSews on 4/19/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8822 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8822 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6270 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )
McCalls 6270 Pattern ( Size 1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us