SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Cutting Line Designs> 59269 (My Hearts a'Flutter)

13 more reviews
Viewed 580 times 
Reviewed by:marthamyers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marthamyersstarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/14/05
Reviews: 152 (patterns: 137)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 74 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/10 10:19 PM
Last Updated:8/28/10 3:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
grey ann said... (9/29/11 4:02 PM) Reply
An update: I have made this pattern twice. I found I didn't have to take the 1/4" out of the upper bodice. I did have to narrow the shoulder and I scooped the neck slightly, then redrew the facings. As a rule, I prefer binding, but the facing on the linen I used looked so smart, and I love her mitered hem. I'm sorry it didn't work for you Martha.
sew2little said... (8/28/10 7:09 PM) Reply
Martha--I appreciate your postings about this pattern, as I too have in waiting in my pattern stash. The batik is lovely--and the top is, I think, more than merely wearable.
jintie said... (6/29/10 9:39 AM) Reply
Grey ann, I did that also and it is a good fit. Marthamyers, you might want to add it back at the waist seam as a precaution if you are not actually short. You can cut it off later if it makes the waist too low. I usually make a FBA on the big 4 but didn't here - just got away with it I think. But next time (definitely a next time) I will drop the bust dart point down- possibly it's too high at present because I took that horizontal fold out above it). You need to use a natural fabric (eg cotton or linen) as the polycotton (or it may be fully poly) that I used makes the shell less drapey than it should be.
marthamyers said... (6/9/10 10:37 AM) Reply
grey ann, thanks for the suggestion. I'll give that a try with the muslin.
grey ann said... (6/8/10 3:49 PM) Reply
As a shorter woman, I often find a top fits better if I take in 1/4-1/2" between the shoulder and armscye notch, on both front and back. Might this solve your problem?
AdaH said... (6/6/10 12:50 PM) Reply
sorry it's not working out. i have this pattern, but have not madfe it yet. thanks to your review i will definitely make a muslin.
Patti B said... (6/6/10 11:07 AM) Reply
Martha, I have made two muslins of this top which looks wonderful on others. So far, it's a 'miss' for me. I like the stitched down facings but had other problems with fit.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details