SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Cutting Line Designs> 59269 (My Hearts a'Flutter)

13 more reviews
Viewed 568 times 
Reviewed by:marthamyers
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marthamyersstarstarstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 11/14/05
Reviews written: 147
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/10 10:19 PM
Last Updated:8/28/10 3:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patti B said...
Martha, I have made two muslins of this top which looks wonderful on others. So far, it's a 'miss' for me. I like the stitched down facings but had other problems with fit.
6/6/10 11:07 AM
AdaH said...
sorry it's not working out. i have this pattern, but have not madfe it yet. thanks to your review i will definitely make a muslin.
6/6/10 12:50 PM
grey ann said...
As a shorter woman, I often find a top fits better if I take in 1/4-1/2" between the shoulder and armscye notch, on both front and back. Might this solve your problem?
6/8/10 3:49 PM
marthamyers said...
grey ann, thanks for the suggestion. I'll give that a try with the muslin.
6/9/10 10:37 AM
jintie said...
Grey ann, I did that also and it is a good fit. Marthamyers, you might want to add it back at the waist seam as a precaution if you are not actually short. You can cut it off later if it makes the waist too low. I usually make a FBA on the big 4 but didn't here - just got away with it I think. But next time (definitely a next time) I will drop the bust dart point down- possibly it's too high at present because I took that horizontal fold out above it). You need to use a natural fabric (eg cotton or linen) as the polycotton (or it may be fully poly) that I used makes the shell less drapey than it should be.
6/29/10 9:39 AM
sew2little said...
Martha--I appreciate your postings about this pattern, as I too have in waiting in my pattern stash. The batik is lovely--and the top is, I think, more than merely wearable.
8/28/10 7:09 PM
grey ann said...
An update: I have made this pattern twice. I found I didn't have to take the 1/4" out of the upper bodice. I did have to narrow the shoulder and I scooped the neck slightly, then redrew the facings. As a rule, I prefer binding, but the facing on the linen I used looked so smart, and I love her mitered hem. I'm sorry it didn't work for you Martha.
9/29/11 4:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Simplicity 2825

photo
by: cybperry

Review
Neue Mode 23150

photo
by: Debbie Coo...

Review
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Buy Now