Online Sewing Class: Fit the Tee to a T
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5418 (MISSES' /MISSES' PETITE DRESS)

1 more reviews
Viewed 571 times 
Reviewed by:harmony758
photo

 
 
About harmony758star
Member since: 6/19/09
Reviews: 14 (patterns: 14)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/9/10 7:42 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
harmony758 said... (6/10/10 3:21 PM) Reply
@lynnrowe: I think you're on to something. I though it could use essentially a lining. Same amount of fabric on both sides to even it out perhaps.
lostinvegas0 said... (6/10/10 3:21 PM) Reply
I love the Idea of this dress as well. I wonder if Vogue 1012 is a better alternative.
carolynw said... (6/10/10 8:50 AM) Reply
Agree with Ingiepops - nice looking on the envelope but obviously not well drafted? or thought out by Vogue. Maybe we should ask why?
Ingiepops said... (6/9/10 11:55 PM) Reply
It's such a pity that no-one seems to have had luck with this pattern, it looks so nice on the envelope!
LynnRowe said... (6/9/10 10:11 PM) Reply
I was so intrigued when this pattern came out as to how on earth the neckline could support the weight of all that jersey, that I bought the pattern just to find out. IMO, the original dress just has to have undersupport, there's no other way that neckline could hold up all that fabric. After a lot of pondering, I would attach the neckline foldover, temporarily or permanently, to a bra specific to that dress. Got a spare bra handy to experiment with? :D
Auntie Allyn said... (6/9/10 8:27 PM) Reply
I agree that, theoretically, it's a marvelous dress, but the reality doesn't quite match up. I ran into the same problems as you when I made it.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8821

photo
by: sewmytime

Review
McCall's 5590

photo
by: Cat n Bull

Review
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Pattern Details