SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5495 (Misses' Top)

60 more reviews
Viewed 679 times 
Reviewed by:Nan Kay
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nan Kaystar
MO USA
Member since: 5/27/09
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:6/11/10 3:49 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
violetsnana said...
Thank you SO much for your review. I was in the middle of making his pattern, stuck at that AWFUL facing, waiting for inspiration on how to remedy it, when I had an ah-ha moment and logged on to PR. I used your tip of sewing the V up a ways and viola' I have a finished top now. I wrote a review, inspired by how helpful yours was!
6/17/10 11:14 AM
JessieBear said...
Thanks for the review! I've been thinking about trying this pattern, but I might steer clear now - or at least do a thorough review to see what modifications I need to make before I start cutting!
6/12/10 8:25 AM
Nancywin said...
My first thought was how nice this looks on you. Sometimes when things don't turn out the way we expect, we don't like them for a while. I think you'll find you wear this more than thought. It does look nice on you.
6/12/10 0:51 AM
my horse said...
I say listen to your DH! It looks better than you think it does. Good save on bad draft! Thanks for the review.
6/12/10 0:12 AM
shaner said...
I HOPE being a size 16 isn't that big a deal...being as though that's my size I'm in right now. Cute top, though....just don't want any hurt feelings!
6/11/10 11:05 PM
mhk3boys said...
I agree with your DH, I think yours looks great!
6/11/10 10:04 PM
Knitters Delight said...
That looks great!
6/11/10 7:54 PM
MNBarb said...
I've done the thing where you read the reviews AFTER the construction. Makes you mad since that is a big reason we read these reviews. Very frustrating. Sewing should be more fun than this. It's a bit difficult to see your version since black doesn't photograph well but I think it all worked out OK. In this case, I don't think DH was just trying to be nice. Good rescue of a (sounds like) crappy pattern.
6/11/10 7:21 PM
Kayseri said...
Shame the pattern is poor, after your extra work your top looks good.
6/11/10 6:19 PM
Nan Kay said...
Just read a great discussion in the boards about this pattern, wish I had read it before making it, the answers are all there! Do your own thing with this pattern and it will be great. Just ignore Buttericks methods!
6/11/10 5:33 PM
sewrelaxed said...
I have been trying to get ahold of this pattern for weeks and just literally walked into the house with it. Thanks for the heads up. Your top is really cute, hope you enjoy it
6/11/10 4:48 PM
Rhoda K said...
I like your top and it looks good on you. Sorry you had problems with it, though - a very thorough review, thanks.
6/11/10 4:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2009-110

photo
by: mkruszewsk...

Review
Burda 9702

photo
by: shannonsew...

Review

Pattern

Petite Plus 201 Pattern

Petite Plus 201 Pattern

More Info
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

More Info