Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1161 (Rachel Comey Open Back Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 795 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/10 12:39 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Frogstitcher said...
Oh, my gosh. I love your dress. It is so sophisticated but with a dash of fun and flare. If anyone can pull off sewing and wearing this dress, it's you. I wonder..maybe I should make one too. I've just added it to my wishlist. Thanks for the helpful review.
6/29/10 1:05 PM
ggf2005 said...
You did a great job. Don't you just love it when you've done such a good job that people think you spent big bucks!
6/29/10 1:09 PM
pfaffkj said...
This is one cool dress! I love all the distinctive touches. You did a great job. Enjoy!
6/29/10 1:21 PM
SueV said...
love this dress.... and it looked great on you! I would have never noticed this dress, but saw it on you and thought Wow, I gotta make that one!
6/29/10 1:26 PM
lakaribane said...
As you know, I have been waiting for this review, checking your blog EVERY DAY since friday to see when you would put it up, LOL! One question, though: you don't mention Petite alterations at all, did you make them or not? IIRC, the pattern doesn't include any or something like that.
6/29/10 1:35 PM
Ericaeli said...
This dress looks great on you, and I LOVE the back of it. I like how the red topstitching looks too.
6/29/10 2:16 PM
Mufffet said...
What kills me is the illustration of this Vogue pattern! Make beautiful lines in designing a garment and then illustrate it is a print that abolishes the reason for such innovative seaming! YOUR fabric, however, is perfect. The seaming adds to the great look of this dress - the finished garment is really so very nice on you!
6/29/10 2:57 PM
nicegirl said...
lakaribane--I didn't petite it. Luckily, I have a "normal" length torso and really, really short legs. So for the most part I just petite things in the skirt. Here I knew it would be a short skirt and I actually added length!
6/29/10 3:23 PM
callmeRuth said...
Lovely dress---all those seams--wonderful design, very nice!
6/29/10 4:33 PM
jessireland said...
Lovely dress, I think it might just make it to my future projects list!
6/29/10 4:54 PM
jent said...
I would have missed what a great dress this is if not for your version (the fabric choice on the vogue envelope was terrible). It is so cute and way more than a step above Anthropologie. And it looks fantastic on you!
6/29/10 5:11 PM
Deepika said...
Such a cute dress. And it was a treat to see it in person at the PR Weekend. I guess if I skip the underlining and lining, I could maybe sew it in 6 months :) Just kidding. I think we will see a lot more reviews of this dress. I love the fabric you used. How fun that you wore the dress to a PR Weekend made from fabric you bought at another PR Weekend. Love it!
6/29/10 5:28 PM
FreyaStark said...
Really cute and highly distinctive.
6/29/10 5:37 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Great to see this one made up - I just love all the details on it, well worth the 100 years it took to cut it out!
6/29/10 7:38 PM
lauraborealis said...
I'm hearing Michael Kors says, "That is the cutest d*mn dress." Seriously... you need a commission, because you just sold another one of these patterns. Great job!
6/29/10 7:43 PM
4u2cme said...
Such a cute dress. I had overlooked this pattern. I need to give it another look.
6/29/10 7:49 PM
Kay Y said...
This is a seriously cute dress - so nice to have seen it in person!
6/29/10 7:58 PM
lakaribane said...
Well, your answer occured to me the minute I pressed Save since you NEVER mention shortening the bodice of things. I feel so alooone, first Elaine/Selfish and now you! Why was I not long waisted???
6/29/10 9:36 PM
AliceB said...
Love the zest of retro fabric with the beautifully cut dress. :)
6/29/10 11:27 PM
cboots said...
This was such a beautiful dress in person. Thank you for posting the review and the pictures of how you did the inside! Your version looks so much nicer than the one on the envelope.
6/30/10 0:42 AM
Tez said...
Gorgeous dress!
6/30/10 5:56 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
What a cool design! I like your topstitching detail--it really does make those interesting seams stand out. You look lovely.
6/30/10 8:14 AM
Diane333 said...
Love your dress and the accessories.
6/30/10 8:33 AM
Sic said...
Lovely! Thank you for the review - just looking at the pattern I assumed it would be difficult to sew. Now, I may tackle it to wear to an early fall wedding...thanks again!
6/30/10 9:03 AM
Levone said...
Pretty dress..the topstitching is definitely a great touch.
6/30/10 9:34 AM
RobinMCPA said...
I love it! It really turned out great!
6/30/10 10:04 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
This dress is very flattering for you, and you certainly did a beautiful job of sewing it. I enjoyed seeing it in person in Montreal.
6/30/10 11:29 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
You look a-ma-zing. I need this dress in my life.
6/30/10 11:36 AM
mochimo said...
Gorgeous dress!
6/30/10 12:48 PM
Mahler said...
As I said on the spot, lovely, sexy, delicious and gorgeous !
6/30/10 5:49 PM
yummymummy38 said...
wow, really your style, retrochic, Treena. Love the print too and the style lines. Coool...
7/6/10 8:36 AM
Grammy Gin said...
WOW!!!!Love this dress~it is so great on you!! I think the back is the greatest. You did a wonderful job as usual!!!
9/6/10 1:33 PM
Twinset said...
How come did I miss this review??? I love your dress and the print gives it a delicious retro feel!
11/23/10 12:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Butterick 5608 misses top
photo
Review by Claverie on 8/18/11
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern
Shapes High Five Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Fresh Bloom Frock Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Fresh Bloom Frock Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 000
photo
Review by Chris Stus... on 5/2/07
Read Review

McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6845 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6845 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us