SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1161 (Rachel Comey Open Back Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 804 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 320
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 311 people
patterns reviewed: 320
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/10 12:39 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Frogstitcher said...
Oh, my gosh. I love your dress. It is so sophisticated but with a dash of fun and flare. If anyone can pull off sewing and wearing this dress, it's you. I wonder..maybe I should make one too. I've just added it to my wishlist. Thanks for the helpful review.
6/29/10 1:05 PM
ggf2005 said...
You did a great job. Don't you just love it when you've done such a good job that people think you spent big bucks!
6/29/10 1:09 PM
pfaffkj said...
This is one cool dress! I love all the distinctive touches. You did a great job. Enjoy!
6/29/10 1:21 PM
SueV said...
love this dress.... and it looked great on you! I would have never noticed this dress, but saw it on you and thought Wow, I gotta make that one!
6/29/10 1:26 PM
lakaribane said...
As you know, I have been waiting for this review, checking your blog EVERY DAY since friday to see when you would put it up, LOL! One question, though: you don't mention Petite alterations at all, did you make them or not? IIRC, the pattern doesn't include any or something like that.
6/29/10 1:35 PM
Ericaeli said...
This dress looks great on you, and I LOVE the back of it. I like how the red topstitching looks too.
6/29/10 2:16 PM
Mufffet said...
What kills me is the illustration of this Vogue pattern! Make beautiful lines in designing a garment and then illustrate it is a print that abolishes the reason for such innovative seaming! YOUR fabric, however, is perfect. The seaming adds to the great look of this dress - the finished garment is really so very nice on you!
6/29/10 2:57 PM
nicegirl said...
lakaribane--I didn't petite it. Luckily, I have a "normal" length torso and really, really short legs. So for the most part I just petite things in the skirt. Here I knew it would be a short skirt and I actually added length!
6/29/10 3:23 PM
callmeRuth said...
Lovely dress---all those seams--wonderful design, very nice!
6/29/10 4:33 PM
jessireland said...
Lovely dress, I think it might just make it to my future projects list!
6/29/10 4:54 PM
jent said...
I would have missed what a great dress this is if not for your version (the fabric choice on the vogue envelope was terrible). It is so cute and way more than a step above Anthropologie. And it looks fantastic on you!
6/29/10 5:11 PM
Deepika said...
Such a cute dress. And it was a treat to see it in person at the PR Weekend. I guess if I skip the underlining and lining, I could maybe sew it in 6 months :) Just kidding. I think we will see a lot more reviews of this dress. I love the fabric you used. How fun that you wore the dress to a PR Weekend made from fabric you bought at another PR Weekend. Love it!
6/29/10 5:28 PM
FreyaStark said...
Really cute and highly distinctive.
6/29/10 5:37 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Great to see this one made up - I just love all the details on it, well worth the 100 years it took to cut it out!
6/29/10 7:38 PM
lauraborealis said...
I'm hearing Michael Kors says, "That is the cutest d*mn dress." Seriously... you need a commission, because you just sold another one of these patterns. Great job!
6/29/10 7:43 PM
4u2cme said...
Such a cute dress. I had overlooked this pattern. I need to give it another look.
6/29/10 7:49 PM
Kay Y said...
This is a seriously cute dress - so nice to have seen it in person!
6/29/10 7:58 PM
lakaribane said...
Well, your answer occured to me the minute I pressed Save since you NEVER mention shortening the bodice of things. I feel so alooone, first Elaine/Selfish and now you! Why was I not long waisted???
6/29/10 9:36 PM
AliceB said...
Love the zest of retro fabric with the beautifully cut dress. :)
6/29/10 11:27 PM
cboots said...
This was such a beautiful dress in person. Thank you for posting the review and the pictures of how you did the inside! Your version looks so much nicer than the one on the envelope.
6/30/10 0:42 AM
Tez said...
Gorgeous dress!
6/30/10 5:56 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
What a cool design! I like your topstitching detail--it really does make those interesting seams stand out. You look lovely.
6/30/10 8:14 AM
Diane333 said...
Love your dress and the accessories.
6/30/10 8:33 AM
Sic said...
Lovely! Thank you for the review - just looking at the pattern I assumed it would be difficult to sew. Now, I may tackle it to wear to an early fall wedding...thanks again!
6/30/10 9:03 AM
Levone said...
Pretty dress..the topstitching is definitely a great touch.
6/30/10 9:34 AM
RobinMCPA said...
I love it! It really turned out great!
6/30/10 10:04 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
This dress is very flattering for you, and you certainly did a beautiful job of sewing it. I enjoyed seeing it in person in Montreal.
6/30/10 11:29 AM
narcissaqtpie said...
You look a-ma-zing. I need this dress in my life.
6/30/10 11:36 AM
mochimo said...
Gorgeous dress!
6/30/10 12:48 PM
Mahler said...
As I said on the spot, lovely, sexy, delicious and gorgeous !
6/30/10 5:49 PM
yummymummy38 said...
wow, really your style, retrochic, Treena. Love the print too and the style lines. Coool...
7/6/10 8:36 AM
Grammy Gin said...
WOW!!!!Love this dress~it is so great on you!! I think the back is the greatest. You did a wonderful job as usual!!!
9/6/10 1:33 PM
Twinset said...
How come did I miss this review??? I love your dress and the print gives it a delicious retro feel!
11/23/10 12:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 78396-1003

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Buy Now