SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3760 (Dresses)

8 more reviews
Viewed 525 times 
Reviewed by:birdmcfarland
photo

 
 
About birdmcfarlandstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 8/1/08
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/10 4:37 PM
Last Updated:6/21/10 4:38 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
This is a great style on you. Where did you get the "cushy" rick rack? It's nice. I don't see any glaring fit issues. You could make the waistband a tad smaller but I think it looks wonderful as is.
6/21/10 5:00 PM
birdmcfarland said...
PA Fabric outlet. It's really neat stuff. Almost embroidered. Thanks for the tip on the waist. That's what I was thinking!
6/21/10 5:06 PM
Time4me said...
Well...the dress looks GREAT. And only because you are asking I think you could have used a slight full bust adjustment. It would make the front hang a little better. But really, it looks really good.
6/21/10 5:14 PM
MNBarb said...
Ooh! I've made this dress loads of times, it's a TNT. I also just made my first dress using Marji's method, we must be working on the same page. I really like your version and the plaid fabric is wonderful. Too bad about the poly lining but you will be the only one who knows about that. I don't see the crooked that you see. Nice work! Very flattering.
6/21/10 6:00 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Love the rickrack!! Very cool and very pretty on you. I agree with Time4me on a bust adjustment, just slightly. I don't think I would make the waist smaller or it might give you pulls you don't want. The back looks like the waist could be lifted slightly to lay smooth across you end ;), Hey.... thatís what you get when you have a great curvy figure!!! I think it all looks great regardless, fits better than ready wear. When you mention the collar in the back, is there any way to use a hook and eye at the top of the zipper and the beginning of the collar to pinch it in a little? I remember this style collar from years ago and we use-to-use hook and eyes to help them lay down. Just a thought ;) Great dress and review, you can wear it well!
6/21/10 6:07 PM
ryansmumAria said...
oh this is just fabulous!
6/21/10 7:22 PM
homejewel said...
What a great dress - it looks so good on you. Love the fabric/trim. 5 stars!
6/21/10 7:23 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Oh my! This is really cute and classy. I've seen the other version, but really like this collared version. I think your ric rac really makes the dress.
6/21/10 8:16 PM
Sondra Leigh said...
SWEET! I wanna make this!
6/21/10 8:47 PM
Ericaeli said...
I love this dress! I think it looks great on you.
6/21/10 11:00 PM
TracyTheMaterialGirl said...
That check and pink trim work wonderfully - a beautiful dress.
6/22/10 4:23 AM
SpinningJenny said...
Great fabric, trimming and pattern combination. This is a charming dress on you - classic lines, with a sense of fun. I've had no luck purchasing this pattern in Australia..yet. Hope we catch up soon, because you've really inspired me!
6/22/10 5:48 AM
Deepika said...
Wow! You really took this pattern to the next level. I love your dress, the rick rack and the buttons. It fits you beautifully.
6/22/10 9:47 AM
sewtime said...
Cute dress and great fit!! Love the rick rack!!
6/22/10 11:38 AM
waltzqueen said...
This is a wonderful dress and is perfect for you. I love the fabric choice too. Nicely done!
6/22/10 12:07 PM
Secretsugar said...
What a great dress! Love your fabric choice, rick rack, and well, just everything, I guess! I'm heading to NYC in August and am looking forward to my first trip to the fabric district. Will have to look up Paron Fabrics....
6/22/10 1:53 PM
birdmcfarland said...
thanks everyone! I wish I had somewhere to go so I could wear it!
6/22/10 2:48 PM
Mahler said...
Your dress is lovely, none sewers will never notice what you see in it, wear it with pride it is soooo pretty !!! The fabric and rick rack choice is perfect. From seeing your pictures ( I am not there to see it), as time4fun said, you need more ease at the bust. Adding a bit the the princess seam would be good. Then, take a look at the front arm hole to see if it does not gap and is really flat around your front side. After doing so on a muslin, I would take off a tiny bit in length to the upper back of your dress, it might be too long for your body measurements (again I am not there). It would be a very very subtle swayback correction. You seam not to like the back neck. I always have to make back neckline darts, they make my dress lay flat so much better. Modern patterns do not have them and it is a pity, they add a wonderful fit. After those tiny things you will have the most perfect dress on hearth, worn by such a great looking woman.
6/22/10 10:26 PM
birdmcfarland said...
thanks Mahler for your kind words!!! I might make a couple of changes to it - nip in the waistline and see if I can add neck darts.
6/23/10 6:32 AM
andread said...
Your dress made me buy this pattern, and it's next up in my sewing queue. This looks amazing!
7/5/10 9:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

McCall's 6571

photo
by: pdiddly

Review
Kwik Sew 3290

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Buy Now
Pants Fitting DVD

Pants Fitting DVD

Buy Now