SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5495 (Misses' Top)

60 more reviews
Viewed 877 times 
Reviewed by:ConnieBJ
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ConnieBJstarstar
ON Canada
Member since: 12/31/03
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:6/17/10 0:09 AM
Last Updated:6/17/10 0:16 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
evildaemonlady said...
I love the fabric that you used, and the cut of the blouse is very flattering!
6/17/10 0:44 AM
treefrog said...
Nice top. I enjoyed reading your review
6/17/10 1:58 AM
Mazzygirl said...
love the fabric, I had tagged this pattern already as a must sew, its nice to see it made up & interesting to see the shape of the pattern pieces. this makes me even more keen to try one. love your fabric (did I mention that already?!) - very nice1!
6/17/10 4:12 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Connie, you're a HOOT!! Funny review!!
6/17/10 7:05 AM
Kay Y said...
HaHa! Needless to say, I love the fabric too! I always wanted a twin... Seriously, this is a pattern I've been wondering about so I'm looking forward to seeing it in person.
6/17/10 8:26 AM
MarshaG. said...
Great review; funny too! I LOVE the idea of the two coordinating fabrics, especially since it gives at least the illusion of a waist. I admit I've looked at this pattern and thought, "well, I have enough twist tops", but I think I should pick this up next time I'm in Jo-Anns!
6/17/10 8:30 AM
MNBarb said...
Thanks for the entertaining review! Oh the woes of buying odd sizes of fabric and never having the right amount for a project.
6/17/10 9:29 AM
frame said...
Your top looks great on you. I'm wondering why you say to avoid this pattern if one is "apple-shaped." Do you think it emphasizes the apple or does it create an apple?
6/17/10 10:22 AM
CarolynGM said...
I thought that fabric looked familiar! Nice pattern; it made up well. I like the gathering as opposed to twisting.
6/17/10 11:38 AM
JTink said...
Great top. I wish I had had the same success with the pattern. LinCee, an apple wouldn't be able to wear this. It would work better with a long, less fluffy, torso. I'm short waisted with a little fluff and I couldn't wear it, much to tight. The front was great, but as it went around the sides, we just didn't work ;-) It's not a relaxed fit around the sides.
6/17/10 4:31 PM
Gelbean said...
Connie, your tops look great!
6/17/10 8:19 PM
mhk3boys said...
Your top looks great! I love both of your versions. I made and reviewed the top and I had low expectations of this top and was pleasantly surprised it turned out great!
6/17/10 10:44 PM
sew2little said...
I can't believe you found time to post on the 17th! Cute top! Marci
6/18/10 10:59 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Sewtoolittle- And I can't believe you had time to comment! Isn't PR Weekend in Montreal a blast?!
6/19/10 1:00 AM
MarianS said...
I really like this top! I have to make it!!
8/11/10 10:30 PM
Christas said...
Nice review and pretty top!
11/12/10 1:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Buy Now