SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5495 (Misses' Top)

60 more reviews
Viewed 880 times 
Reviewed by:ConnieBJ
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ConnieBJstarstar
ON Canada
Member since: 12/31/03
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:6/17/10 0:09 AM
Last Updated:6/17/10 0:16 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Nice review and pretty top!
11/12/10 1:38 PM
MarianS said...
I really like this top! I have to make it!!
8/11/10 10:30 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Sewtoolittle- And I can't believe you had time to comment! Isn't PR Weekend in Montreal a blast?!
6/19/10 1:00 AM
sew2little said...
I can't believe you found time to post on the 17th! Cute top! Marci
6/18/10 10:59 PM
mhk3boys said...
Your top looks great! I love both of your versions. I made and reviewed the top and I had low expectations of this top and was pleasantly surprised it turned out great!
6/17/10 10:44 PM
Gelbean said...
Connie, your tops look great!
6/17/10 8:19 PM
JTink said...
Great top. I wish I had had the same success with the pattern. LinCee, an apple wouldn't be able to wear this. It would work better with a long, less fluffy, torso. I'm short waisted with a little fluff and I couldn't wear it, much to tight. The front was great, but as it went around the sides, we just didn't work ;-) It's not a relaxed fit around the sides.
6/17/10 4:31 PM
CarolynGM said...
I thought that fabric looked familiar! Nice pattern; it made up well. I like the gathering as opposed to twisting.
6/17/10 11:38 AM
frame said...
Your top looks great on you. I'm wondering why you say to avoid this pattern if one is "apple-shaped." Do you think it emphasizes the apple or does it create an apple?
6/17/10 10:22 AM
MNBarb said...
Thanks for the entertaining review! Oh the woes of buying odd sizes of fabric and never having the right amount for a project.
6/17/10 9:29 AM
MarshaG. said...
Great review; funny too! I LOVE the idea of the two coordinating fabrics, especially since it gives at least the illusion of a waist. I admit I've looked at this pattern and thought, "well, I have enough twist tops", but I think I should pick this up next time I'm in Jo-Anns!
6/17/10 8:30 AM
Kay Y said...
HaHa! Needless to say, I love the fabric too! I always wanted a twin... Seriously, this is a pattern I've been wondering about so I'm looking forward to seeing it in person.
6/17/10 8:26 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Connie, you're a HOOT!! Funny review!!
6/17/10 7:05 AM
Mazzygirl said...
love the fabric, I had tagged this pattern already as a must sew, its nice to see it made up & interesting to see the shape of the pattern pieces. this makes me even more keen to try one. love your fabric (did I mention that already?!) - very nice1!
6/17/10 4:12 AM
treefrog said...
Nice top. I enjoyed reading your review
6/17/10 1:58 AM
evildaemonlady said...
I love the fabric that you used, and the cut of the blouse is very flattering!
6/17/10 0:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Amy Butler AB043HR

photo
by: katib

Review
Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Buy Now