SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Fashion in Harmony> 902 (Wrap Blouse Party)

Viewed 527 times 
Reviewed by:JEF
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About JEFstarstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 7/27/05
Reviews written: 102
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 94
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/18/10 10:56 AM
Last Updated:6/18/10 11:41 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Izzie said...
I've been waiting to see one of these patterns made up, they look so interesting. I think the top is looking really nice. It looks to me like you need to shorten the waist area so that the wrap part starts higher up so that it fits closer at the waist...is that even possible with this pattern?
6/18/10 11:20 AM
JEF said...
There is a lengthen/shorten line but the ties are at bottom corners so they'd still not be at waist height. It's a puzzle. ETA: I added a layout photo above. The extension pieces (not laid out) add one more tie each.
6/18/10 11:38 AM
CarolynGM said...
That pattern piece in the layout has a very interesting shape. I like the sleeves too. I think it's definitely worth another try.
6/18/10 9:23 PM
sfshaza said...
I, too, think this pattern has potential. It looks lovely on you, especially at the top. It just looks like it needs some tweaking at the hips. Izzie might have it right. I would email the owner of the pattern company. I have chatted with her about another pattern and she's very responsive.
6/19/10 0:01 AM
lamstu said...
Interesting pattern. Although it has not worked for you, it's nice to read about your efforts. If you don't continue, at least one big piece is easier to repurpose....
6/19/10 3:09 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I purchased the jacket pattern and have yet to try it. Just like your top the pattern pieces are a bit unusual. Like others I think you ought to give it one more try. I think you are onto something. Maybe try one of the shorter tops.
6/19/10 9:02 AM
AuntieShel said...
I, too, have been waiting to see a review of a garment from this company, and I also think this top has a lot of potential. I particularly like the black one--the placement of the motif is fabulous (and was probably a happy accident!) I think the strong fabric carries it, for sure!
6/19/10 3:04 PM
Deepika said...
Jennifer, I like the muslin in knit a lot! I think you can make it even more fun by adding some beads at the hem...
6/21/10 8:17 AM
KBT Sewer said...
I was soooo pleased to see how you'd got on with the top. The top half really suits you so, as others have commented, a shorter top may well make all the difference to your overall fit. I do like those sleeves--very flattering and feminine
6/21/10 3:31 PM
drsue said...
I like the muslin too. I wonder if you pattern on your "real" top is just too sweet for this avant guard design. the pattern on the muslin really worked.
6/27/10 1:16 PM
KathySews said...
I think you could save this. It is too long, but maybe by adding 2 or 3 horizontal tucks, you could shorten it and the tucks would look like a hip band/sash
6/27/10 2:35 PM
sew2006 said...
Thanks for the review. I also liked the knit top version, let us know if you try it again.
7/1/10 1:28 PM
JEF said...
Thank you all for the comments and encouragement on my top. I have decided to take that one and continue to treat it like a muslin. So, I shortened it along the lengthen/shorten line a couple of inches. That put a seam RIGHT across my bust. Of course, normally I would make that change on the pattern so that seam wouldn't be there. I mention it so you know where the length is taken out/added in since the pattern shape is fairly odd. That might have helped a smidge with the general look around the hip area but made the arms/around the back too snug. It's wearable but not comfortable. So, I probably took too much up. My next alteration will be a tie-ectomy. I just can't see how these ties can work. They are at the lowest corners of the pattern on the tunic top. So, they either have to tie at the hip (leaving no definition/baggy fabric at the waist) or be angled up (creating no definition/baggy fabric at the waist). So, I'll try moving them to a waist spot and see if that helps. I'll keep you posted. JEF
7/2/10 5:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

New Look 6433

photo
by: LOST_kitty...

Review

Pattern

Vogue Patterns 1315

photo
by: globalgran

Review
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Buy Now