Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1182 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1639 times 11 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 36 people   
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 183
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 264 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/10 10:23 PM
Last Updated:6/20/10 10:26 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
55 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Robin Denning said...
May I be the first to compliment you on this beautiful dress. I am quite in awe of your ability to sew a muslin, pin out alterations, and proceed to create a perfectly fitted dress. Bravo!
6/20/10 10:38 PM
Schnauzer said...
Absolutely gorgeous dress. It lookd fabulous on you!
6/20/10 10:53 PM
caelamb said...
Thank you so much for the step by step pictures. So clear and detailed. The colour of the dress is gorgeous too!
6/20/10 11:04 PM
Coastal Connie said...
Wow! Simply beautiful through out the dress. I would feel very special when ever I would wear a dress so finely constructed. Nice work and thanks for the detailed review!
6/20/10 11:40 PM
Riordan said...
Lovely, lovely dress!! Impeccable fit and construction. I always am in awe of your work!
6/21/10 0:05 AM
Barbara V said...
Oh so beautiful! Lovely detail work and attention to fit. I just love that color -- you look great in it!
6/21/10 0:26 AM
DorothyK said...
Stunning. Beautiful work.
6/21/10 0:27 AM
manola6176 said...
The fitting and hand sewing are awesome and the result is fabulous You are such an example for all of us
6/21/10 3:26 AM
Danvillegirl said...
What a fantastic looking dress!!!!Very figure flattering. Excellent workmanship.
6/21/10 5:19 AM
SpinningJenny said...
What a work of art! This looks fabulous on you - the colour and fit combine for an elegant result. Thank you Kay for the invaluable construction images.
6/21/10 5:53 AM
Mazzygirl said...
what a beautiful dress, such a gorgeoud colour (but then has anyone ever NOT loved the colour range in silk dupioni?!) - such an excellent result, you should gets lots of wear out of this.
6/21/10 6:06 AM
Lori V said...
Your dress is so beautiful and it looks wonderful on you.
6/21/10 6:59 AM
Sharon1952 said...
I've seen this dress in person and it's a stunner! The fabric is interesting in very sublte light play. It fit you to a T and looked delightful in motion also. Impeccable sewing and attention to detail.
6/21/10 7:21 AM
MNBarb said...
Wow, beautiful work, fabric, style! Your attention to detail is amazing. The idea of making an entire muslin garment overwhelms me but, now that I see this final result, I see how essential it can be to a perfectly fitting garment.
6/21/10 7:24 AM
thirteenstitches said...
Gorgeous!!!
6/21/10 7:34 AM
susiestitcher said...
What a stunning dress! I absolutely love all the detailed couture touches you sewed into it. They certainly make a difference in the beautiful fit and drape of the dress. Thanks so much for all the fitting photos. It helps me see what is really necessary when making a garment -- steps that I often don't think about but which can make all the difference. Lovely, lovely, lovely!
6/21/10 7:50 AM
birdmcfarland said...
Wow. This is the kind of thing that is really inspirational. Just fabulous. And you look beautiful.
6/21/10 7:59 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
What a gorgeous dress! This is such a classy pattern and the color is perfect on you!
6/21/10 8:01 AM
carolynw said...
Another one who saw this dress in person and it is absolutely gorgeous - as I told you Kay - you have the perfect figure to carry this off to the max.
6/21/10 8:17 AM
SheBear0320 said...
Another who saw it in person and the computer does not do the true colour justice. Stunning dress and, as someone else said, impeccable fit. Fabulous job Kay!
6/21/10 8:44 AM
donna mel said...
love that dress, kay!!
6/21/10 8:53 AM
mistygirl902 said...
This is absolutely exquisite! Truly couture. I just can't say enough. Well done.
6/21/10 9:02 AM
lamstu said...
I also loved this pattern the minute that I saw it. Seeing your beautiful dress makes me love it even more! If only I had somewhere to wear it....
6/21/10 9:03 AM
Rhoda K said...
I'll have to ditto all above and compliment your hand sewing as well. Great job and beautiful dress.
6/21/10 9:08 AM
mylittleelephant said...
I enjoy watching the process of your muslin a lot, and the beautiful dress that's promised by your muslin, lovely!
6/21/10 9:11 AM
tess said...
Your dress is beautiful in every way, the fit the style the colour and as has been said before the attention you paid to the fine detail is absolutely stunning! You should definately be up for winning a prize for this dress!!
6/21/10 9:11 AM
Julia C said...
Gorgeous dress & very helpful information on fitting.
6/21/10 9:28 AM
cmarie12 said...
Amazing how much hand work and detailing you put into this dress! It's beautiful and looks fantastic on you!
6/21/10 9:47 AM
Mahler said...
Magnifique et tellement parfait sur toi !!! You looked so wonderful !!!!!!!!!!!!!
6/21/10 10:11 AM
sewbehind said...
Gorgeous dress, Kay. Your review was a tutorial! Thanks so much. You do lovely work.
6/21/10 10:26 AM
ryansmumAria said...
oh, my, just beautiful!
6/21/10 10:38 AM
Carol Mendoza said...
Beautiful job. I have this pattern and have wanted to give it a try. Your review has inspired me.
6/21/10 10:41 AM
RLL said...
Oh yea, great craftsmanship with a stunning outcome.
6/21/10 10:52 AM
Ericaeli said...
This is a beautiful dress, and it looks amazing on you.
6/21/10 12:23 PM
MaryDB said...
Love it! Beautiful work, lovely dress.
6/21/10 12:40 PM
Linda G said...
I have been waiting for your dress because I lurk around daily on your blog. This dress is beautiful. It brings back memories of the types of hand sewing I would do for 4-H competition as a high school kid. I had forgotten all about the little "hangy" snap technique. I still do use the thread technique to attach skirt lining. (When I am not finishing the outfit 20 minutes before I need it) The fit is superb, you deserve a purple ribbon!!!
6/21/10 12:58 PM
AuntieShel said...
Not sure what I can add that hasn't already been said--stunning, work-of-art, exquisite, perfect fit...did I leave anything out?? Beautiful dress!!!
6/21/10 1:55 PM
Annette1 said...
BEAUTIFUL, BEAUTIFUL, BEAUTIFUL, both YOU and the DRESS! A GREAT review, as well. You've achieved a PERFECT fit. :o)
6/21/10 2:02 PM
ggf2005 said...
bravo!
6/21/10 2:10 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Such a great dress especially to be made for a PR event. I just know you were a hit. Thanks so much for the review.
6/21/10 2:18 PM
marec said...
Very lovely dress, and thank you for the sewing lesson!! :-) Wonderfully detailed review.
6/21/10 3:05 PM
Christas said...
Absolutely GORGEOUS dress! I don't think the fit could be any better. I love all the extra construction details you have included in your review .... so perfect, as always!
6/21/10 4:14 PM
Sigrid. said...
Simply love the dress: as always impeccably made and the fit is perfect. The end result is gorgeous. Hope you find many occassions for wearing it.
6/22/10 3:11 AM
Catbird said...
I wish I could have seen this in person! What a perfect dress for the occasion, well-fitted and exquisitely made. You look beautiful in it, and as always I'm really grateful for the time you take to document your process. I know that it adds a lot of time to a project, but it's so helpful and so much appreciated.
6/22/10 7:53 PM
EyeSew1 said...
You did a beautiful job! I am working on this same dress for a nieces wedding. Your tips were very helpful!
6/22/10 8:27 PM
Margaret said...
Wonderful dress! It was great to see it -- and you :) in person at the weekend!
6/22/10 9:36 PM
Matilda M said...
Gorgeous dress--elegant as can be. Thanks for all the good instructions. I have no where to wear this little beauty, but it might be fun to make just for the learning experience!
6/22/10 11:44 PM
Athene said...
As everyone has already said, absolutely beautiful and you look so lovely in it. Love reading your reviews.
6/23/10 2:30 AM
lacroise1 said...
Hi Kay, The dress was even more beautiful in person. So nice to meet you at PR Weekend Montreal.
6/30/10 4:46 AM
PolishPoppy said...
I really LOVE your dress and all teh info/pics you provided!
6/30/10 8:28 AM
mamaluv2sew said...
Amazing Work! You are an inspiration indeed! Love the details...it's the lawyer in you!
6/30/10 2:40 PM
JessB said...
Your dress is gorgeous Kay. You are my sewing inspiration!
7/1/10 1:37 AM
Erin D said...
Wow, I learned a lot just from your review. Your dress is fabulous!
7/2/10 0:14 AM
Annapolissewing said...
Way to go with this dress. I saw this on the Vogue website and thought it would take a brave person (or very skilled) to take on this project. So bravo to you for taking it on and doing such a good job with it.
7/14/10 10:36 PM
Fictionfan said...
Thanks for your excellent photos. I've cited them in my review of this pattern. Too bad I did not look at them before I made my dress! As everyone else has said, you did a beautiful job and have a truly gorgeous dress!
7/16/10 5:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

McCall's 5335 coordinates
photo
Review by Linda G on 1/6/08
Read Review

Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8921 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6900 Pattern
Burda 6900 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3745 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by shannie on 8/6/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )
Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Clara Twirl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Clara Twirl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears
10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Details
Price: $89.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maggie
Maggie

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us