SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5450 (Misses'/Misses' Petite Top, Tu)

26 more reviews
Viewed 598 times 
Reviewed by:LoriLaroo
photo

 
 
About LoriLaroostar
FL USA
Member since: 6/24/10
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/24/10 8:23 PM
Last Updated:6/24/10 8:32 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Levone said...
Pretty top!
6/27/10 10:29 PM
JMarie1962 said...
Really cute fabric and your modification of the gathers looks awesome! After reading your review and another, I'm thinking that eliminating the middle pleat *might* work for me in this top (I'm a 36C... so just on the cusp of "bigger") Love your top!
6/26/10 0:19 AM
sunnysewer said...
so glad to see this made up. I have this pattern and the center folds gave me pause - thought they might come out weird. So the gathers are the answer! very nice.
6/25/10 12:19 PM
Gold said...
Cute top love the fabric print.
6/25/10 10:59 AM
LoriLaroo said...
Coastal Connie: I though the same when I took the pix (blue on blue). I will take a pix of the back and me wearing it in the next few days. MNBarb: I think with a more stable fabric, the pleats would not be as soft-looking, but more defined. I'd try it.
6/25/10 9:14 AM
MNBarb said...
I'm just getting ready to make this top. Thanks for the review. It calls for a less drapey fabric than you used. Do you think the gathers work better for softer fabrics and, maybe, the pleat would work better for more stable fabrics? I like the idea of the gathers but am planning to use a stretch cotton but do have a rayon that could be an alternate.
6/25/10 9:04 AM
lamstu said...
I really like the modification that you made. Also thanks for mentioning about the body types that might not wear it so well - this is very useful.
6/25/10 4:45 AM
Coastal Connie said...
Looks like a cute top. Would be nice to see it on you, since your model is also blue, it is hard to make out the lines in the top. Suggest showing a back view, too.
6/24/10 10:24 PM
Nan Kay said...
Yours version is better than the picture on the envelope! I really like how you changed it!
6/24/10 10:12 PM
sewing for fun said...
Gorgeous top - love your adaptation - prettier than the original.
6/24/10 9:33 PM
Lety said...
What a great alteration, I think I'm going to try it!
6/24/10 8:37 PM
ryansmumAria said...
This is beautiful! I love the colors and the pattern - perfect combination.
6/24/10 8:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Simplicity 2401

photo
by: Kiwi Natio...

Review
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

More Info