SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Downloadable> 6004 (Azalea)

Viewed 277 times 
Reviewed by:aliesje
photo

 
 
About aliesjestar
CANADA
Member since: 3/27/10
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/25/10 5:28 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
julie w said...
The border print really sets this dress off. I like the alterations you made to this dress, much more eyecatching than those on the Burda webpage in MHO.
6/25/10 8:06 PM
Jeannine1976 said...
I have this pattern and, not having seen it made up until now, am really surprised by your comments. The technical drawing makes it look almost like a babydoll style. Whoops. LOL. You did a great job saving it, though, and I love your BF's comments. Sounds like my husband and his "It's not the most flattering thing I've seen you in".
6/25/10 8:31 PM
lamstu said...
Well, you really saved this one and turned it into a super cute dress that doesn't look at all maternity. The border print is adorable. Congratulations for making it through to the end of a challenging project.
6/26/10 7:13 AM
AuntieShel said...
Well, your finished dress is absolutely stunning on you. That is what I call perseverance--I think the dress would be in the trash with the pattern if it had been me. How sweet and kind your BF sounds. Really, really cute dress and love the fabric!!
6/27/10 4:50 PM
aliesje said...
Thanks so much, Julie! I think it was good experience to jump in and make some major alterations - I'm a much more fearless sewer now! @jeannine i know, i was looking more at the versions people posted on burdastyle, which looked fairly narrow; i guess they probably cut a lot off the sides too? it's possible it's a style that looks best on those girls who are more straight up and down? thanks, @lamstu, it was super challenging, but definitely a good learning piece that I feel really ramped my skills up! it was the fabric that i love so much that kept me from tossing this dress, @auntieshel! otherwise, i may have binned it! and my BF is super sweet - never wants to say anything unkind, and yet had to say something...
6/28/10 4:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

McCall's 6231

photo
by: facesunder...

Review

Pattern

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

You Sew Girl Fedora Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Buy Now