SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> La Mia Boutique Magazine> 06-2009-#5 (sweetheart cowl)

Viewed 781 times 
Reviewed by:LynnRowe
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LynnRowestarstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 3/9/09
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 52 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/26/10 3:21 PM
Last Updated:7/7/10 7:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
o3b said...
What a pretty top! I have never looked at this magazine, but after seeing your top and review, I think I will.
6/26/10 3:36 PM
MaryBeth said...
Oh yes. That's a beautiful neckline and a gorgeous fabric. Lucky you!
6/26/10 4:12 PM
artkat said...
This is stunning!
6/26/10 4:58 PM
lyndle said...
Fab neckline! I love this top. I covet your fabric, too!
6/26/10 5:12 PM
Nan Kay said...
super, wish I could get the magazine!
6/26/10 5:22 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Very nice.
6/26/10 5:26 PM
michellep74 said...
Wow, what a cute twist on a cowl neck top! Seriously, though, I love this.
6/26/10 5:35 PM
Ann Smith said...
Clever variation on the cowl which keeps it closer to the body. Very cool.
6/26/10 6:08 PM
Winifred said...
This is so beautiful - I love it. Which issue of La Mia was it in?
6/26/10 6:21 PM
Sandi S said...
That is a beautiful neckline!
6/26/10 6:42 PM
marec said...
Oh, that's gorgeous.
6/26/10 8:30 PM
Amy-may said...
Oh, it's wonderful. I have a RTW top that is very similar, even the color. I've tried several times to visualize how to copy it, but obviously I should just buy this issue!
6/26/10 10:42 PM
sewbehind said...
Very beautiful top, Lynn.
6/26/10 10:47 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Very nice top, love the cowl! I would love to have this pattern I haven't seen anything like it. You did a beautiful job and the color is great!
6/26/10 11:32 PM
Mazzygirl said...
this is very nice, love the colour too.... now if only I can find out where to buy this magazine as it sounds great!
6/26/10 11:42 PM
mendospot said...
Very pretty top and fun review!
6/27/10 0:39 AM
Barbara3 said...
Terrific review. Beautiful top!
6/27/10 1:34 PM
Barbara V said...
That is the prettiest cowl and a lovely feature on this top. So glad your muslin is well loved and will be worn much!
6/27/10 3:36 PM
Catbird said...
That is very, very pretty! Such an unusual cowl design.
6/27/10 4:51 PM
Robin Denning said...
such a cute style, I love it!
6/27/10 6:04 PM
Jane S said...
I am so jealous! What a wonderful top. fabulous neckline and color.
6/27/10 8:27 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Oh great. You not only enable fabric purchases,but now pattern magazines too! Gotta find this issue stat! It's really cute!
7/6/10 9:39 PM
nglalala said...
OOo... great tops!!
7/6/10 10:12 PM
CaliS said...
Wow! Now THAT'S a neckline! Love it.
7/6/10 10:14 PM
zuzu_petal said...
Breathtaking...and inspiring!
7/7/10 7:21 AM
Catbird said...
NOW you're killing me, posting a version in one of my favorite colors! What a fantastic design; just beautiful. I've studied your photo to see if I can replicate that cowl on another pattern (since I don't have the La Mia magazine) and I think I see how it's done, but would you consider posting a pic of the cowl pattern piece? I would love to make something similar. p.s., I love that 'gratuitous kitty pic' :-))
7/7/10 8:22 AM
KathySews said...
I love, love, love that neckline
7/7/10 8:30 AM
LynnRowe said...
Catbird, I'll photo the pattern pieces and post after work today. The neckline should be very easy to draft on any scoop neck top. It'll make total sense the minute you see the pattern pieces. :)
7/7/10 10:09 AM
Sigrid. said...
Pretty, pretty top. What a nice variation on the neckline. I do understand you already made it twice and plan more.
7/7/10 10:14 AM
Nancy K said...
Very pretty top
7/7/10 2:21 PM
Mel.J said...
Lovely neckline. I've never seen a pattern like that - thanks so much for showing us.
7/7/10 8:00 PM
Catbird said...
You're super helpful, Lynn. Thank you!
7/7/10 8:27 PM
JillyBe said...
That's SO sweet of you to post a pic of the pattern pieces! However, I'm not that good, so could you just make me one in green & send it off to me? Any shade from teal to olive green will do, thanks!
7/7/10 8:44 PM
linda 75142 said...
I. WANT.ONE! But I'll probably never find the magazine/pattern.
7/8/10 10:22 AM
JanJanB said...
Fabulous top and review (as usual). Kind of off the topic, can I ask what kind of dress form you have Lynn. I've been looking for one but don't like what I have seen in the stores so far.
7/8/10 2:18 PM
LynnRowe said...
Hi JanJanB, I have a PGM dressform, which I purchased from Atlanta Thread Supply (my fave Maxi-Lock supplier). Because I live in a studio apartment, and everything is on display whether you want it to be or not, I wanted a form that looked nice. I don't use mine so much for fitting my garments, I use it more to drape garments on for when I'm handbasting or embellishing, etc. It's so wonderful to have a partner who doesn't move, doesn't talk, and doesn't scream & complain about being stuck with sharp things like pins. :D
7/8/10 5:27 PM
JanJanB said...
I knew there was a reason why I liked it ;D
7/8/10 6:35 PM
ChristineX said...
Beautiful top!
7/15/10 11:12 AM
jlg said...
This is so lovely, and different.
1/8/12 9:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Butterick 5764

photo
by: heathergwo

Review
Farbenmix Muriel

photo
by: aaltje

Review
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Buy Now