SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> La Mia Boutique Magazine> 06-2009-#5 (sweetheart cowl)

Viewed 782 times 
Reviewed by:LynnRowe
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LynnRowestarstar
Member since: 3/9/09
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/26/10 3:21 PM
Last Updated:7/7/10 7:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jlg said...
This is so lovely, and different.
1/8/12 9:54 AM
ChristineX said...
Beautiful top!
7/15/10 11:12 AM
JanJanB said...
I knew there was a reason why I liked it ;D
7/8/10 6:35 PM
LynnRowe said...
Hi JanJanB, I have a PGM dressform, which I purchased from Atlanta Thread Supply (my fave Maxi-Lock supplier). Because I live in a studio apartment, and everything is on display whether you want it to be or not, I wanted a form that looked nice. I don't use mine so much for fitting my garments, I use it more to drape garments on for when I'm handbasting or embellishing, etc. It's so wonderful to have a partner who doesn't move, doesn't talk, and doesn't scream & complain about being stuck with sharp things like pins. :D
7/8/10 5:27 PM
JanJanB said...
Fabulous top and review (as usual). Kind of off the topic, can I ask what kind of dress form you have Lynn. I've been looking for one but don't like what I have seen in the stores so far.
7/8/10 2:18 PM
linda 75142 said...
I. WANT.ONE! But I'll probably never find the magazine/pattern.
7/8/10 10:22 AM
JillyBe said...
That's SO sweet of you to post a pic of the pattern pieces! However, I'm not that good, so could you just make me one in green & send it off to me? Any shade from teal to olive green will do, thanks!
7/7/10 8:44 PM
Catbird said...
You're super helpful, Lynn. Thank you!
7/7/10 8:27 PM
Mel.J said...
Lovely neckline. I've never seen a pattern like that - thanks so much for showing us.
7/7/10 8:00 PM
Nancy K said...
Very pretty top
7/7/10 2:21 PM
Sigrid. said...
Pretty, pretty top. What a nice variation on the neckline. I do understand you already made it twice and plan more.
7/7/10 10:14 AM
LynnRowe said...
Catbird, I'll photo the pattern pieces and post after work today. The neckline should be very easy to draft on any scoop neck top. It'll make total sense the minute you see the pattern pieces. :)
7/7/10 10:09 AM
KathySews said...
I love, love, love that neckline
7/7/10 8:30 AM
Catbird said...
NOW you're killing me, posting a version in one of my favorite colors! What a fantastic design; just beautiful. I've studied your photo to see if I can replicate that cowl on another pattern (since I don't have the La Mia magazine) and I think I see how it's done, but would you consider posting a pic of the cowl pattern piece? I would love to make something similar. p.s., I love that 'gratuitous kitty pic' :-))
7/7/10 8:22 AM
zuzu_petal said...
Breathtaking...and inspiring!
7/7/10 7:21 AM
CaliS said...
Wow! Now THAT'S a neckline! Love it.
7/6/10 10:14 PM
nglalala said...
OOo... great tops!!
7/6/10 10:12 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Oh great. You not only enable fabric purchases,but now pattern magazines too! Gotta find this issue stat! It's really cute!
7/6/10 9:39 PM
Jane S said...
I am so jealous! What a wonderful top. fabulous neckline and color.
6/27/10 8:27 PM
Robin Denning said...
such a cute style, I love it!
6/27/10 6:04 PM
Catbird said...
That is very, very pretty! Such an unusual cowl design.
6/27/10 4:51 PM
Barbara V said...
That is the prettiest cowl and a lovely feature on this top. So glad your muslin is well loved and will be worn much!
6/27/10 3:36 PM
Barbara3 said...
Terrific review. Beautiful top!
6/27/10 1:34 PM
mendospot said...
Very pretty top and fun review!
6/27/10 0:39 AM
Mazzygirl said...
this is very nice, love the colour too.... now if only I can find out where to buy this magazine as it sounds great!
6/26/10 11:42 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Very nice top, love the cowl! I would love to have this pattern I haven't seen anything like it. You did a beautiful job and the color is great!
6/26/10 11:32 PM
sewbehind said...
Very beautiful top, Lynn.
6/26/10 10:47 PM
Amy-may said...
Oh, it's wonderful. I have a RTW top that is very similar, even the color. I've tried several times to visualize how to copy it, but obviously I should just buy this issue!
6/26/10 10:42 PM
marec said...
Oh, that's gorgeous.
6/26/10 8:30 PM
Sandi S said...
That is a beautiful neckline!
6/26/10 6:42 PM
Winifred said...
This is so beautiful - I love it. Which issue of La Mia was it in?
6/26/10 6:21 PM
Ann Smith said...
Clever variation on the cowl which keeps it closer to the body. Very cool.
6/26/10 6:08 PM
michellep74 said...
Wow, what a cute twist on a cowl neck top! Seriously, though, I love this.
6/26/10 5:35 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Very nice.
6/26/10 5:26 PM
Nan Kay said...
super, wish I could get the magazine!
6/26/10 5:22 PM
lyndle said...
Fab neckline! I love this top. I covet your fabric, too!
6/26/10 5:12 PM
artkat said...
This is stunning!
6/26/10 4:58 PM
MaryBeth said...
Oh yes. That's a beautiful neckline and a gorgeous fabric. Lucky you!
6/26/10 4:12 PM
o3b said...
What a pretty top! I have never looked at this magazine, but after seeing your top and review, I think I will.
6/26/10 3:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 38229-1005

photo
by: CaraSkates

Review
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

More Info