SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1113 (MISSES' JACKET AND PANTS)

5 more reviews
Viewed 707 times 
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 267
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 232
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/10 6:40 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Spiralfelt said...
Thanks for this review. I am thinking of using my hand-felted yardage using this jacket pattern (with slight variations) to make a sleeveless felt vest.
6/19/14 10:34 PM
Sew Whatever said...
Oh nikki, I was so disappointed I couldn't vote yet because I wanted to vote for yours! Anyway, it is stellar! very wonderful. I hope you are able to enter it into some wearable art contest near you. alot of the quilt shows have wearable art contests. I am glad you showed me that felting can have detail as well. well done, Sandy in the UK
7/13/10 10:20 AM
Skymom said...
I'm amazed by how truly flamelike the design is. Fabulous!
7/11/10 9:35 PM
Amy-may said...
Your jacket is both art and wearable, that's quite an accomplishment! Thank you for the detailed info on the process of felting, how fun to create your own fabric.
7/8/10 11:40 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
a gorgeous well done piece of wearable art
7/8/10 2:42 AM
debloves2sew said...
What a wonderful jacket. Great Job!
7/7/10 0:01 AM
marec said...
I love the pattern, the felting process, the resulting firey flames, the placement of the colors...it all came together so perfectly. I love this jacket on you! truly wearable art.
7/6/10 1:36 AM
loti said...
Very informative review, what a project, love the color palette you used.
7/5/10 3:36 PM
goosegreen said...
I did a felting class once & really enjoyed the process but it took all day just to get a piece the size of a bag. I can only sit here in amazement at your jacket. It's just gorgeous & must've taken quite a while!
7/2/10 10:57 PM
AnneM said...
What a fascinating process. The motif will keep you warm in addition to the wool garment. It looks particularly nice as worn (ie, in the 'not flailing your arms around' picture), where it seems like the fire is caressing you. Great jacket, and thanks for the detailed felting explanation.
7/2/10 5:04 PM
Rybe said...
Wow! It turned out great! I love the fire
7/1/10 3:41 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, this is fabulous!!! What a lot of work to make felt in pieces large enough to sew with. Beautiful result!!
7/1/10 1:37 PM
slvrsage said...
Great jacket! Thanks for the detailed review of the process!
6/30/10 9:47 PM
slvrsage said...
Great jacket! Thanks for the detailed review of the process!
6/30/10 9:47 PM
trishapatk said...
Wow! What a great review and great coat. You captured that fire element so well. It's amazing. thank you for putting up such a detailed review with great pictures. I've been dying to try this type of thing and you made it all the more approachable. Fantastic work, thanks for sharing it!
6/30/10 12:36 PM
Karendee said...
I have just begun to read about and fall in love with wet felted garments. And I can say your jacket is an amazing piece of art. The artform does seem quite labor intensive, but what glorious results occurred. I simply am in awe of your work and must commend your final product in every detail.
6/29/10 11:40 AM
PittyPat said...
The jacket turned out so nicely. Great to see the finished project. Love the flames design. Great job.
6/29/10 9:46 AM
DorothyK said...
Amazing. You created a work of art. Looks wonderful as a jacket.
6/28/10 6:38 PM
Athene said...
A very beautiful one of a kind jacket. I always enjoy seeing your reviews.
6/28/10 6:37 PM
sfshaza said...
What a gorgeous work of art, Nikki. I can imagine it over a slim black dress, or perhaps a slim black dress with a mermaid skirt. Stunning!!
6/28/10 6:33 PM
Ann Smith said...
This is incredible. I have seen wet felting demonstrated and it is an amazing process, very labor intensive. You have created a work of art.
6/28/10 11:52 AM
cindyann said...
This is absolutely fascinating, Nikki! Your work is just beautiful. I'm sure you will get many compliments on your lovely jacket.
6/28/10 9:38 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
This is a great pattern for your fabulous fabric! Nicely done!
6/28/10 8:07 AM
Diane333 said...
Wow! You should get plenty of people coming up to you to ask where you bought your top.
6/28/10 7:53 AM
Karine said...
Truly a work of art. Your detailed description of the felting process was fascinating. Beautiful result!
6/28/10 6:34 AM
Aroura said...
The jacket turned out fantastic! I love how the pattern fits so well with the fire theme felt. Great review and pictures as well!
6/28/10 3:37 AM
lamstu said...
Well, now I might have to change my mind - 'art to wear' doesn't usually strike me as either artistic or wearable, but your creation is both. Great details and amazing results!
6/28/10 2:33 AM
jso4fun said...
Wow! What an amazing job you did, both with the fabric you made, and the jacket. I love it!!
6/28/10 0:58 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Your review of the process was intriguing - thanks so much for so many photos, as it really helped me visualize what you did step by step. VERY helpful. The flame theme totally works. I can see how much time you spent laying out your layers to achieve the theme, and the pattern you chose works really well with the end felted product. Many kudos to you.
6/28/10 0:27 AM
sewbehind said...
Gorgeous!
6/27/10 10:58 PM
JillyBe said...
Wonderful review of the process, and the result is fabulous!
6/27/10 10:57 PM
whistlin dixie said...
Stunning wearable art! Your choice of colors and the flame theme worked very nicely with this pattern. Thanks for the detailed peek at the process of wet felting. Great job!
6/27/10 10:46 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Really lovely.
6/27/10 9:27 PM
MNBarb said...
What an interesting process. The colors are rich and lovely.
6/27/10 8:43 PM
jorgel said...
fabulous coat!
6/27/10 6:55 PM
voet said...
It sounds like it was a lot of work, but it turned out beautifully.
6/27/10 6:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 07-2012-116

photo
by: shannonsew...

Review
Simplicity 2460

photo
by: JennaF

Review
Take-Along Bags

Take-Along Bags

Buy Now
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Buy Now