Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1113 (MISSES' JACKET AND PANTS) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 687 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 20 people   
Reviewed by:Nikki
photo
Friend of PR
About Nikkistarstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 266
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 94 people
patterns reviewed: 231
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/10 6:40 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
voet said...
It sounds like it was a lot of work, but it turned out beautifully.
6/27/10 6:51 PM
jorgel said...
fabulous coat!
6/27/10 6:55 PM
MNBarb said...
What an interesting process. The colors are rich and lovely.
6/27/10 8:43 PM
QuiltersFan said...
Really lovely.
6/27/10 9:27 PM
whistlin dixie said...
Stunning wearable art! Your choice of colors and the flame theme worked very nicely with this pattern. Thanks for the detailed peek at the process of wet felting. Great job!
6/27/10 10:46 PM
JillyBe said...
Wonderful review of the process, and the result is fabulous!
6/27/10 10:57 PM
sewbehind said...
Gorgeous!
6/27/10 10:58 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Your review of the process was intriguing - thanks so much for so many photos, as it really helped me visualize what you did step by step. VERY helpful. The flame theme totally works. I can see how much time you spent laying out your layers to achieve the theme, and the pattern you chose works really well with the end felted product. Many kudos to you.
6/28/10 0:27 AM
jso4fun said...
Wow! What an amazing job you did, both with the fabric you made, and the jacket. I love it!!
6/28/10 0:58 AM
lamstu said...
Well, now I might have to change my mind - 'art to wear' doesn't usually strike me as either artistic or wearable, but your creation is both. Great details and amazing results!
6/28/10 2:33 AM
Aroura said...
The jacket turned out fantastic! I love how the pattern fits so well with the fire theme felt. Great review and pictures as well!
6/28/10 3:37 AM
Karine said...
Truly a work of art. Your detailed description of the felting process was fascinating. Beautiful result!
6/28/10 6:34 AM
Diane333 said...
Wow! You should get plenty of people coming up to you to ask where you bought your top.
6/28/10 7:53 AM
Auntie Allyn said...
This is a great pattern for your fabulous fabric! Nicely done!
6/28/10 8:07 AM
cindyann said...
This is absolutely fascinating, Nikki! Your work is just beautiful. I'm sure you will get many compliments on your lovely jacket.
6/28/10 9:38 AM
Ann Smith said...
This is incredible. I have seen wet felting demonstrated and it is an amazing process, very labor intensive. You have created a work of art.
6/28/10 11:52 AM
sfshaza said...
What a gorgeous work of art, Nikki. I can imagine it over a slim black dress, or perhaps a slim black dress with a mermaid skirt. Stunning!!
6/28/10 6:33 PM
Athene said...
A very beautiful one of a kind jacket. I always enjoy seeing your reviews.
6/28/10 6:37 PM
DorothyK said...
Amazing. You created a work of art. Looks wonderful as a jacket.
6/28/10 6:38 PM
PittyPat said...
The jacket turned out so nicely. Great to see the finished project. Love the flames design. Great job.
6/29/10 9:46 AM
Karendee said...
I have just begun to read about and fall in love with wet felted garments. And I can say your jacket is an amazing piece of art. The artform does seem quite labor intensive, but what glorious results occurred. I simply am in awe of your work and must commend your final product in every detail.
6/29/10 11:40 AM
trishapatk said...
Wow! What a great review and great coat. You captured that fire element so well. It's amazing. thank you for putting up such a detailed review with great pictures. I've been dying to try this type of thing and you made it all the more approachable. Fantastic work, thanks for sharing it!
6/30/10 12:36 PM
slvrsage said...
Great jacket! Thanks for the detailed review of the process!
6/30/10 9:47 PM
slvrsage said...
Great jacket! Thanks for the detailed review of the process!
6/30/10 9:47 PM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, this is fabulous!!! What a lot of work to make felt in pieces large enough to sew with. Beautiful result!!
7/1/10 1:37 PM
Rybe said...
Wow! It turned out great! I love the fire
7/1/10 3:41 PM
AnneM said...
What a fascinating process. The motif will keep you warm in addition to the wool garment. It looks particularly nice as worn (ie, in the 'not flailing your arms around' picture), where it seems like the fire is caressing you. Great jacket, and thanks for the detailed felting explanation.
7/2/10 5:04 PM
goosegreen said...
I did a felting class once & really enjoyed the process but it took all day just to get a piece the size of a bag. I can only sit here in amazement at your jacket. It's just gorgeous & must've taken quite a while!
7/2/10 10:57 PM
loti said...
Very informative review, what a project, love the color palette you used.
7/5/10 3:36 PM
marec said...
I love the pattern, the felting process, the resulting firey flames, the placement of the colors...it all came together so perfectly. I love this jacket on you! truly wearable art.
7/6/10 1:36 AM
debloves2sew said...
What a wonderful jacket. Great Job!
7/7/10 0:01 AM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
a gorgeous well done piece of wearable art
7/8/10 2:42 AM
Amy-may said...
Your jacket is both art and wearable, that's quite an accomplishment! Thank you for the detailed info on the process of felting, how fun to create your own fabric.
7/8/10 11:40 PM
Skymom said...
I'm amazed by how truly flamelike the design is. Fabulous!
7/11/10 9:35 PM
Sew Whatever said...
Oh nikki, I was so disappointed I couldn't vote yet because I wanted to vote for yours! Anyway, it is stellar! very wonderful. I hope you are able to enter it into some wearable art contest near you. alot of the quilt shows have wearable art contests. I am glad you showed me that felting can have detail as well. well done, Sandy in the UK
7/13/10 10:20 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2007-108
photo
Review by samiroquai on 7/10/09
Read Review

Wonder Wallet
Wonder Wallet

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Katy Bags
Katy Bags

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Downloadable Cape Dracula
photo
Review by MissFit on 3/21/10
Read Review

Simplicity 1730 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1730 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6008 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 6008 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us