SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Ikina Jacket (Ikina Jacket)

9 more reviews
Viewed 471 times 
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo

 
 
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews: 173 (patterns: 173)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 107 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/10 11:35 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
susiestitcher said... (7/7/10 7:40 AM) Reply
This is a beautiful jacket. I really like the pockets. Your garments are always so unique. I love them all. As far as the back wrinkles, it looks like there is too much fabric at the upper back armhole and shoulder area. Could you have someone pin out the fullness there so you can redraw the pattern in that area? It looks good though because of the soft design.
Athene said... (6/30/10 9:43 PM) Reply
Great jacket. Always enjoy your reviews so now I off to read your blog.
Karendee said... (6/30/10 4:37 PM) Reply
Hating to be redundant, but I love your entire outfit. As to your shoulder folds , perhaps a smaller upper body size next jacket.
DorothyK said... (6/30/10 2:29 PM) Reply
I love the jacket and the changes you made, especially the hanging pocket. The entire outfit is very cool.
Barbara V said... (6/30/10 12:52 PM) Reply
Wonderful jacket! The 3" additional length looks very nice. Your whole outfit is smart looking and I really like your salsa blouse with use of border print.
sfshaza said... (6/30/10 9:41 AM) Reply
Thanks, Marec and Martha! Martha, it doesn't pucker where the jacket is sewn to the band, but there are wrinkles at the shoulders, indicating that the fit of the pattern isn't right. I definitely always place bias near the feed dogs when sewing bias to non-bias. And, yes, the hanging pocket is attached to the outside of the jacket. Thanks!
marthamyers said... (6/30/10 8:55 AM) Reply
Good looking jacket. Is the pocket attached to the outside of the jacket? It's very clever. I've made this jacket several times and don't remember problems with the shoulder puckering. Here are 2 possible fixes - stay stitch the neckline right on the seam line, and when sewing the collar on, place the bias piece (the collar) next to the feed dogs. These may not help - just some ideas. I love this jacket. It's a great basic to build on, as you say.
marec said... (6/30/10 1:09 AM) Reply
Great jacket and so "you". I love the fabric and drooled over it when reading your blog (which btw, is fun).
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 78396-1024

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Pattern Details
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Pattern Details