SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Ikina Jacket (Ikina Jacket)

9 more reviews
Viewed 454 times 
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo

 
 
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 165
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 165
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/10 11:35 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
susiestitcher said...
This is a beautiful jacket. I really like the pockets. Your garments are always so unique. I love them all. As far as the back wrinkles, it looks like there is too much fabric at the upper back armhole and shoulder area. Could you have someone pin out the fullness there so you can redraw the pattern in that area? It looks good though because of the soft design.
7/7/10 7:40 AM
Athene said...
Great jacket. Always enjoy your reviews so now I off to read your blog.
6/30/10 9:43 PM
Karendee said...
Hating to be redundant, but I love your entire outfit. As to your shoulder folds , perhaps a smaller upper body size next jacket.
6/30/10 4:37 PM
DorothyK said...
I love the jacket and the changes you made, especially the hanging pocket. The entire outfit is very cool.
6/30/10 2:29 PM
Barbara V said...
Wonderful jacket! The 3" additional length looks very nice. Your whole outfit is smart looking and I really like your salsa blouse with use of border print.
6/30/10 12:52 PM
sfshaza said...
Thanks, Marec and Martha! Martha, it doesn't pucker where the jacket is sewn to the band, but there are wrinkles at the shoulders, indicating that the fit of the pattern isn't right. I definitely always place bias near the feed dogs when sewing bias to non-bias. And, yes, the hanging pocket is attached to the outside of the jacket. Thanks!
6/30/10 9:41 AM
marthamyers said...
Good looking jacket. Is the pocket attached to the outside of the jacket? It's very clever. I've made this jacket several times and don't remember problems with the shoulder puckering. Here are 2 possible fixes - stay stitch the neckline right on the seam line, and when sewing the collar on, place the bias piece (the collar) next to the feed dogs. These may not help - just some ideas. I love this jacket. It's a great basic to build on, as you say.
6/30/10 8:55 AM
marec said...
Great jacket and so "you". I love the fabric and drooled over it when reading your blog (which btw, is fun).
6/30/10 1:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Burda 0006A

photo
by: cabinbaby

Review
Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Jamie Christina Palooza Apron Pattern (JC309PA)

Buy Now
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Buy Now