SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda Plus Fashion Magazine> 02-2010-420 (Waistcoat/vest)

Viewed 741 times 
Reviewed by:Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Irene Qstarstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 109
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/10 2:15 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Scousegal said...
So beautiful and creative. Fancy compiling the pieces as you did. Quilted effect makes it so unique Looks great. Thank you for sharing!!
8/15/10 4:03 AM
pfaffkj said...
I love your piecing technique -- you created a wonderful piece of fabric for your vest. The buttons are perfect. Beautiful result. Congratulations.
7/10/10 12:41 PM
ClaireEmily said...
That is the most amazing vest! It absolutely looks like clothing, but with something extra. The amount of time that must have taken...........well, it was worth it!
7/8/10 5:39 PM
marec said...
This is just so beautiful. The colors are so complementary, and the buttons are perfect. The amount of work that goes into piecing this vest really paid off in a gorgeous piece of wearable art!
7/6/10 1:40 AM
Heatherrique said...
Irene, this is geometric couture! Eyecatchingly delightful!
7/3/10 2:52 PM
AnneM said...
I absolutely adore this. It is really nice. What a great way of using the little pieces. Your instructions are great on the process you used to put it together.
7/2/10 8:36 PM
Athene said...
Wonderful results - and so cool to use different buttons. You have a beautiful vest - I can certainly appreciate all the work that went into creating this project.
7/2/10 3:49 PM
Rybe said...
I love it! It turned out perfectly! That vest really was the perfect choice for the piecing you did, and the piecing looks amazing! I wish I had your patience, haha!
7/1/10 3:57 PM
Jane S said...
You made so many great design decisions to make this beautiful vest. The scale of the pieces i perfect for a garment, the subtle color choices and the fitted vest design. Bravo, it looks wonderful on you.
7/1/10 6:47 AM
Rebecca D said...
Very cool and so elegant. Great fit, too.
7/1/10 6:29 AM
JillyBe said...
Fun and extraordinary! As a button freak, I really love the varied buttons - so perfect for the vest. Great job :)
7/1/10 2:16 AM
slvrsage said...
Great vest! I love the colors, and the pattern. I also thank you for the detailed review of your process. It will help in my next scrap project!
6/30/10 9:29 PM
moushka said...
Beautiful and flattering!
6/30/10 7:36 PM
wsm2408 said...
That is fantastic!! It suits you so well and combined with that shirt is really flattering and feminine. I admire your patience in puting it all together! What an inspiration.
6/30/10 5:35 PM
PittyPat said...
Great job on the making the fabric from small pieces. Glad you got it done in time.
6/30/10 4:57 PM
Rhoda K said...
Beautiful vest and love your colors.
6/30/10 4:41 PM
BillieJean said...
Absolutely beautiful!
6/30/10 3:55 PM
KathySews said...
very beautiful and lots of work. wear it proudly
6/30/10 3:40 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I like the small piecing and the subdued color pallette you have chosen. It is very nice looking and very wearable. It definitely is a work of art and deserves a signature.
6/30/10 3:19 PM
RLL said...
Wow, I am so WOW'd! What a lot of love and time went into this. Beautiful. I always watch for your reviews and have been wondering where you were. I guess you were busy sewing a lot of little peices together...Hehe.
6/30/10 2:37 PM
Aroura said...
Oh my, this turned out fantastic! I love the "quilted" effect. I can't believe each little piece was originally a scrap, it looks like it's own whole fabric. Great job! It is really very pretty!
6/30/10 2:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Simplicity 2358

photo
by: shalloon

Review
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

Buy Now