Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Nikko Jacket (Nikko Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 872 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:JillyBe
photo
About JillyBestarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/20/10
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 53 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/10 11:19 PM
Last Updated:7/1/10 10:15 AM


See other patterns in this category: Quilts    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RadarRadiance said...
Great jacket and so original. Your review and all the pictures were wonderful. Very unique and cool at the same time. Looks great on you.
6/30/10 11:39 PM
Aroura said...
Wow JillyBe, that looks so fantastic. The back is so beautiful, the tree is perfect. IT was certainly worth all your hard work. What a lovely piece of art, that is so very very wearable! Wonderful review, I really enjoyed reading it. The whole thing is really fantastic!
6/30/10 11:52 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Me too, me too. Love it, and you look so pleased with yourself, as indeed you should.
7/1/10 1:46 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, this beautiful jacket truly is a work of art.
7/1/10 6:18 AM
thirteenstitches said...
WOW!!! I LOVE this! You did a beautiful job. Great fabric choice. AND when you get tired of it you can send it to me ; )
7/1/10 7:32 AM
Diane333 said...
Outstanding job. Very creative and distinctive.
7/1/10 8:17 AM
marthamyers said...
Thanks for this fabulous review, not only of this pattern, but your process. I thoroughly enjoyed this and your result is truly stunning - an wearable! Thanks for sharing with PR. What a treat!
7/1/10 8:32 AM
sewin said...
You did an amazing job. I love everything about the jacket. Beautiful.
7/1/10 8:59 AM
ryansmumAria said...
jillybe, WOW! This is brilliant. It is so beautiful and you are an artist. It looks great on you. Congratulations, it is a show-stopper.
7/1/10 9:16 AM
Karine said...
Creative design, professionally done - really, really nice result. Congratulations!
7/1/10 9:24 AM
PittyPat said...
Love the jacket and the tree was well worth all the work on it! Great job.
7/1/10 9:33 AM
Terri K said...
Congratulations on this fabulous jacket! You fashioned a classy work of art that looks great on as well. Thank you for sharing the process and all the construction details.
7/1/10 11:24 AM
AuntieShel said...
Thank you, thank you for this wonderful review/tutorial/creative process. This, to me, is truly wearable art. Absolutely love the seam around the body that you used to shorten the jacket and then kept. The tree is fabulous--is it freeform? Exquisite jacket and wonderful review, thank you!
7/1/10 12:07 PM
sew2little said...
Fabulously beautiful! Seeing your buttonholer makes me long for my old Singer buttonholer!
7/1/10 12:14 PM
sfshaza said...
JillyBe, this is a pattern I've been mulling over for some time. You really made it work for you and your artistic process is so interesting. Beautiful!
7/1/10 1:35 PM
Rybe said...
Your jacket is so great! The tree on the back makes me smile, hehe! I love it from the thread to that awesome lining! I'm glad it turned out so wonderfully!
7/1/10 3:49 PM
colormefun said...
I think this is stunning. Even though it's loose-fitting, the pattern changes you made really make it sleek. Especially the waist highlighting pleat you added. I'm really impressed.
7/1/10 4:48 PM
Birgitte said...
Absolutely gorgeous and it looks amazing on you. Congratulations on completing a time/mind-consuming project with such excellent results.
7/1/10 5:37 PM
whistlin dixie said...
Soooo glad you stretched yourself on this gorgeous jacket! Your artistic eye, meticulous sewing skills, and excellent reviews/tutorial have both instructed and inspired me. There's just one thing I don't agree with: *silhouettes like this are so wrong for my body type!* I think the jacket looks terrific on you! It's very flattering, and I'm sure you'll get a lot of wear out of it. Excellent job!
7/1/10 8:59 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
WOW! fa bu lous!
7/1/10 9:03 PM
grey ann said...
I think it looks fabulous on you - the length is perfect and I like the 3/4 sleeves. Your embellishment and use of the fabrics is great. Congrats on ending up with a lovely garment and conquering all those naughty fabrics! You made a small, and still shortened/took in. May I ask what size jacket you'd usually buy/wear?
7/1/10 9:13 PM
JillyBe said...
Thank you everyone for your wonderful comments! I'm just basking in the compliments, I must admit! AuntiShel I did a quick sketch of the tree, and then vaguely followed that in cutting it out. Dixie you're a doll, thanks! I meant that the long, boxy look of the original pattern was just wrong wrong wrong on me - even after I shortened it I was so disappointed in how the muslin looked on me, until I shortened the sleeves as well - it was the magic touch. Grey Ann I'm still figuring out my sizes in the various pattern companies - my back is broad, so I'm finding I need to adjust for that; but it seems to be 14, give or take here & there. RTW I'm usually a 6 I'm also long-waisted & short-legged.
7/1/10 9:43 PM
Athene said...
Wow very labour intensive - a very beautiful jacket.
7/2/10 3:38 PM
AnneM said...
What a fantastic write-up & pictorial of the process you used to create your beautiful jacket.
7/2/10 4:57 PM
NancyZL said...
WOW! A lovely jacket , unique and beautiful ! Thanks for your review .
7/3/10 5:28 PM
Skyhowie said...
Your jacket is fantastic--and it looks great on you!! Congratulations on a job well done.
7/4/10 10:47 PM
marec said...
What a pleasure to read through your creative journey and to see all the detailed photographs. Your jacket is just lovely, and a work of art.
7/6/10 1:24 AM
yummymummy38 said...
fabulous Asian inspired jacket! Made me think of the Montreal Chinese gardens...
7/6/10 9:04 AM
debloves2sew said...
Beautiful Jacket. Just the right touches everywhere. I love the lining and its ues as piping on the outside is inspired. Great Job!
7/7/10 0:26 AM
Ashford said...
I also love the loose fitting, unusual, creative lines. And, like you, I know they will not work for my body shape. Maybe I will try one more time. You definitely made this pattern work for you. All the effort and time you put into the design shows. Wearing it will make you and everyone who sees it feel good.
7/8/10 5:49 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Gorgeous embellishment to a stunning jacket! I enjoyed seeing the pictures that chronicled your work.
7/8/10 8:18 PM
G_l_e_n_d_a said...
What a beautiful labor of love. Congratulations on a very wearable piece of art.
7/9/10 7:14 PM
pfaffkj said...
Your jacket is stunning, JillyBe. I'm in awe. Truly a piece of art -- and wearable to boot! Wear it with pride.
7/10/10 12:35 PM
cleverclogs said...
WHAT A BEAUTIFUL JACKET! Thanks too for the very informative review.
7/11/10 9:32 AM
Aroura said...
Now that it is all over, I just have to say, I really think you deserved to win! I absolutely LOVE your jacket. I know how much work and love you put into it, sewing it from scratch, and all the gorgeous and creative details. You did the most fantastic job!!
8/2/10 2:21 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
This is beautiful, truly wearable art. What a wonderful project. I made this jacket in black wool crepe years ago and I have almost worn it out. My is a lot more free flowing but you have really fit the pattern to your frame.
8/19/10 11:45 PM
beth5646 said...
Your jacket is beautiful. The artist in you really shines through on this one. Thanks for the great review and tutorials. I am getting ready to cut my muslin for this jacket and I refer to your review. Thanks.
2/24/11 10:12 PM
beth5646 said...
Your jacket is beautiful. The artist in you really shines through on this one. Thanks for the great review and tutorials. I am getting ready to cut my muslin for this jacket and I refer to your review. Thanks.
2/24/11 10:12 PM
Linda E. said...
wow Ilove that jacket.. if you need something else to do you could make me one.. lol
12/28/11 10:05 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Other 2007 Wardrobe Contest
photo
Review by boppingbet... on 7/31/07
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Betsey Apron Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5365
photo
Review by CarolynGM on 9/10/09
Read Review

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5682 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5682 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 8 )
Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 8 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us