Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 458 times 158 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:goosegreen
photo
Friend of PR
About goosegreenstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/9/05
Reviews written: 106
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 35 people
patterns reviewed: 102
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:7/6/10 1:04 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jannw said...
very nice..love your topstitching and pocket design
7/6/10 1:37 AM
ClaireEmily said...
Those are great! Really I think the leg shape and general fit looks great =)
7/6/10 1:53 AM
velosewer said...
You do good work. I love the detailing.
7/6/10 2:12 AM
becca a said...
Your top stitching and pocket design are great. I agree, making jeans is addictive.
7/6/10 2:17 AM
lyndle said...
Great jeans. I'm so pleased to see a plus-size review of these (I'm not quite sure you qualify though). I agree, the top stitching is beautiful and you have a good fit. Did you use top stitching thread?
7/6/10 2:50 AM
Sharonspils said...
Fantastic looking jeans, you have done an excellnet job. Love the pockets.
7/6/10 3:32 AM
goosegreen said...
Ooh thank you Lyndle but I think I *am* plus sized in the bottom half! My topstitching thread is a spool just labelled "Jeans Thread" which I had in my stash. No idea who makes it but it is NOT the same as YLI's Jean Stitch which I also have. My secret to topstitching is pressing after every row and using a stitch length of 3.
7/6/10 3:50 AM
Skye said...
Nice looking pair of jeans - great top stitching.
7/6/10 4:02 AM
MNBarb said...
I think you have a good fit and the pocket topstitching looks great. The crotch might come down a bit after a few deep knee bends with the stretch denim, there's just no end to it's relaxing as the day progresses. Nice job!
7/6/10 11:50 AM
MNBarb said...
PS. I agree that everyone should make a pair of jeans. It's so rewarding when they work!
7/6/10 11:52 AM
GlobalMom said...
Nice job. One tip that I picked up recently which works great for topstitching stretch denim is to spray the piece you want to topstitch with spray starch, iron it dry, and then do your topstitching. I've done this several times and it always works like a charm (no stretching during stitching), plus the starch washes out when you're finished. Welcome to the "I made them myself and they fit!" jeans club!
7/6/10 12:39 PM
aliann1 said...
Great topstitching. Can you tell me what make/model of machine you used?
7/6/10 8:05 PM
goosegreen said...
Construction was done on my Janome MC8000 (17 yrs old and still going strong!), overlocking on my Janome 634D and the topstitching was done on my basic Janome mechanical 18W model because my 8000 doesn't like topstitching thread. It also meant I could leave the mech machine set up & didn't lose any of the settings when I turned it off. :D
7/7/10 0:31 AM
JEF said...
Nice jeans -I love you back pockets and will echo the "great topstitching" comments.
7/7/10 10:37 AM
fattyboomboom said...
Wonderful work on your jeans! I am so happy for you, and yes, I have become addicted to this pattern already.
7/19/10 2:37 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2009-106
photo
Review by Lisette on 3/26/10
Read Review

Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 103821-1003
photo
Review by mowse on 7/8/08
Read Review

Veronica Pocketbook
Veronica Pocketbook

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Sewing DVD
Pants Sewing DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8828 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8828 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us