SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2594 (Woven Cowl Top w/ Yoke)

49 more reviews
Viewed 964 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 314 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/10 11:00 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $11.16 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.16 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AuntieShel said...
Wow, this came out really nice!! Love that fabric. I read with interest that it was a cowl top made from woven fabric. I made a cowl from a knit and it falls off my shoulders, which are pretty broad. Am thinking maybe a woven would not do this.
7/8/10 11:07 AM
sewing for fun said...
Love that orange - very pretty and complimentary to your coloring!
7/8/10 11:12 AM
Sigrid. said...
Very pretty top. Good color on you.
7/8/10 11:38 AM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful colour on you. Lovely top and I think it is cute that you will have some cash whilst travelling in Hong Kong in a secret spot.
7/8/10 12:08 PM
sydney800 said...
Very cute top, and great color. I have this pattern, but have not made this view. I will rethink it with your comments about the partial front facing in mind!
7/8/10 1:06 PM
Levone said...
Pretty top! I just bought this pattern recently, so glad to see you review it.
7/8/10 1:08 PM
EveS said...
Really pretty top and I agree that it looks great on you! I've been rethinking my love affair w/ cowls since they all do seem to misbehave...what a brilliant idea to use a weight! I wonder if a chain stitched into the cowl would work, too...???
7/8/10 1:17 PM
Elona said...
How pretty! This top seems to come out particularly nicely in georgette.
7/8/10 1:23 PM
Elke said...
Very cute and love the orange on you!
7/8/10 1:23 PM
MNBarb said...
Love this style and color on you. The entire outfit is beautiful!
7/8/10 4:13 PM
FreyaStark said...
A cute top.
7/8/10 6:28 PM
Annette1 said...
PERFECT color for you, and the top is REALLY cute. I've eyed this pattern several times myself. I LOVE your idea of the weight to help with the front drape. It hangs beautifully.
7/9/10 0:05 AM
Handmade by Carla said...
Cute top and the color is a nice selection.
7/9/10 0:07 AM
KiarasMom said...
I LOVE this top on you -- the fit, the colour ... just lovely! Thanks also for the comprehensive review. I'm so tempted to pick up this pattern now. LOL!
7/9/10 0:28 AM
Diane333 said...
This is a great look on you and the color is especially flattering.
7/9/10 7:07 AM
HLT said...
Cute top! Great use of the coin weight!
7/9/10 7:14 AM
sandramary said...
Thanks for the review. I have made up this top in a knit as I am a bit scared of bias, but might summon up the courage now!
7/9/10 7:47 AM
RLL said...
This is fabulous on you. The style and color is perfect. The weight is genius!
7/9/10 2:17 PM
mylittleelephant said...
I love the fabric you used and the back's so cute as well, definitely better and more inspiring than the pattern model photo.
7/9/10 3:32 PM
lynne leblanc said...
you look great in that top--very flattering and fun
7/12/10 1:26 AM
Sew4Fun said...
I absolutely love your top! I'm thinking of sewing this pattern with a silk gauze and rayon twill lining. Your review has given me hope I can pull it off. :) Thanks for the really helpful review!
1/24/12 1:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Buy Now