SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2594 (Woven Cowl Top w/ Yoke)

49 more reviews
Viewed 964 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/8/10 11:00 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
I absolutely love your top! I'm thinking of sewing this pattern with a silk gauze and rayon twill lining. Your review has given me hope I can pull it off. :) Thanks for the really helpful review!
1/24/12 1:33 AM
lynne leblanc said...
you look great in that top--very flattering and fun
7/12/10 1:26 AM
mylittleelephant said...
I love the fabric you used and the back's so cute as well, definitely better and more inspiring than the pattern model photo.
7/9/10 3:32 PM
RLL said...
This is fabulous on you. The style and color is perfect. The weight is genius!
7/9/10 2:17 PM
sandramary said...
Thanks for the review. I have made up this top in a knit as I am a bit scared of bias, but might summon up the courage now!
7/9/10 7:47 AM
HLT said...
Cute top! Great use of the coin weight!
7/9/10 7:14 AM
Diane333 said...
This is a great look on you and the color is especially flattering.
7/9/10 7:07 AM
KiarasMom said...
I LOVE this top on you -- the fit, the colour ... just lovely! Thanks also for the comprehensive review. I'm so tempted to pick up this pattern now. LOL!
7/9/10 0:28 AM
Handmade by Carla said...
Cute top and the color is a nice selection.
7/9/10 0:07 AM
Annette1 said...
PERFECT color for you, and the top is REALLY cute. I've eyed this pattern several times myself. I LOVE your idea of the weight to help with the front drape. It hangs beautifully.
7/9/10 0:05 AM
FreyaStark said...
A cute top.
7/8/10 6:28 PM
MNBarb said...
Love this style and color on you. The entire outfit is beautiful!
7/8/10 4:13 PM
Elke said...
Very cute and love the orange on you!
7/8/10 1:23 PM
Elona said...
How pretty! This top seems to come out particularly nicely in georgette.
7/8/10 1:23 PM
EveS said...
Really pretty top and I agree that it looks great on you! I've been rethinking my love affair w/ cowls since they all do seem to misbehave...what a brilliant idea to use a weight! I wonder if a chain stitched into the cowl would work, too...???
7/8/10 1:17 PM
Levone said...
Pretty top! I just bought this pattern recently, so glad to see you review it.
7/8/10 1:08 PM
sydney800 said...
Very cute top, and great color. I have this pattern, but have not made this view. I will rethink it with your comments about the partial front facing in mind!
7/8/10 1:06 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful colour on you. Lovely top and I think it is cute that you will have some cash whilst travelling in Hong Kong in a secret spot.
7/8/10 12:08 PM
Sigrid. said...
Very pretty top. Good color on you.
7/8/10 11:38 AM
sewing for fun said...
Love that orange - very pretty and complimentary to your coloring!
7/8/10 11:12 AM
AuntieShel said...
Wow, this came out really nice!! Love that fabric. I read with interest that it was a cowl top made from woven fabric. I made a cowl from a knit and it falls off my shoulders, which are pretty broad. Am thinking maybe a woven would not do this.
7/8/10 11:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1323

photo
by: GoodbyeVal...

Review
Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

More Info
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

More Info