Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 125587-1002 (Waterproof Hiking pants) - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 701 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 221
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 66 people
patterns reviewed: 218
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/10 8:40 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fabulous pants - the details are great and they look like they have come off the rack of a very expensive store!
7/10/10 9:01 PM
RLL said...
Wow, I am so impressed.
7/10/10 9:07 PM
Sharonspils said...
You have done such a fantastic job on these and thank you for showing your additional details. Definately better than the best RTW you could buy.
7/10/10 9:22 PM
goosegreen said...
Really impressive! Your sewing never ceases to amaze. Isn't it great that we can create the perfect item?
7/10/10 9:53 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Amazing outstanding work. Enjoyed all your pictures, they look great!
7/10/10 10:52 PM
margk said...
You have done a beautiful job on these pants. I suspect they will get LOTS of use!
7/10/10 10:53 PM
lynny said...
Beautiful sewing, you must be so pleased, well done.
7/11/10 0:14 AM
Margaret said...
Wow, those pants look GREAT and really well designed! Congratulations!
7/11/10 0:17 AM
Mushywear said...
Absolutely amazing! You did an incredible job!
7/11/10 0:42 AM
Ericaeli said...
Your outerwear always impresses/inspires me. These pants are just awesome, and I imagine they will get a lot of use.
7/11/10 1:12 AM
o3b said...
Drool. Sigh. Drool. I just love your stuff. Seam seal TAPE? I'm going to look for that. I only have a bottle of a roll-on liquid from years ago.
7/11/10 1:54 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Awesome! I'm very impressed.
7/11/10 2:01 AM
Sarsez said...
Congrats - Isn't a truly marvelous feeling to get things figured out and a great pair of pants to boot!
7/11/10 2:35 AM
brissie71 said...
Totally impressed here! I've not ever sewn a pair of pants as fabulous as these. Good on you for giving it a go...and making them turn out so well.
7/11/10 3:35 AM
ClaireEmily said...
These pants are just so impressive! Wow. Enjoy them =)
7/11/10 6:31 AM
MNBarb said...
Your engineering skills bowl me over. The best thing is you have a perfect fit with all of the extras you need for your specific activities. Can you please include your source for extras like snaps, zips, etc if they are something special? The notions are one of the things that can separate RTW from handmade. Your garments always look professionally made.
7/11/10 8:58 AM
Diane E said...
These are terrific pants! Thanks for the detailed review. How inspiring!
7/11/10 10:59 AM
marec said...
Absolute perfection! I really enjoy your work and hope to someday approach your level.
7/11/10 11:23 AM
jannw said...
very impressive..look much better than anything I've seen in the shops! Enjoy them for the next 10 years...
7/11/10 1:11 PM
Sandi S said...
awesome job on these!
7/11/10 4:16 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Oh my goodness!!!! What an amazing pair of pants! Thanks for sharing the photos of how you did the seam sealing. You make it look "easy"! You tempt me to give this a try. Even with the gore-tex fabric, I bet you saved some $ and have a perfect fit to boot! Congrats!!!!
7/11/10 10:36 PM
MareeAlison said...
Treefrog - you did a great job on these. They are amazing.
7/12/10 1:47 AM
JillyBe said...
Wow - GREAT job! As a formerly active outdoorsy type who is very familiar w/ Patagonia (aka PataGucci) & their quality, I'm super impressed with your details!
7/12/10 4:11 AM
FreyaStark said...
Amazing. I am deeply impressed.
7/12/10 5:48 AM
Selina said...
WOW indeed! Those are some amazing pants! Have you considered submiting your design changes to Patagonia?
7/12/10 9:46 PM
nancy2001 said...
Wow! You did a superlative job on these pants.
7/13/10 2:22 PM
Aroura said...
Fantastic job of recreating, and improving, on your inspiration piece. And you drafted it yourself! Amazing!
7/15/10 3:26 AM
rebija said...
I admire anyone who can execute pants this flawlessly! I'd buy them!
7/15/10 10:49 AM
fattyboomboom said...
This is truly commendable workmanship and creativity. I suspect you'll be enjoying the skiing and hiking even more knowing how well you customized your pants.
7/19/10 2:45 PM
AnneM said...
Great job. Very useful, and nothing like custom usefulness! Nice modifications, and thanks for the pics.
7/20/10 8:46 PM
CynthiaSue said...
pretty impressed!!!! very economical if indeed you wear them for 3 years! love the white and black pairing.
7/23/10 0:23 AM
kat86 said...
they're amazing! I do a fair bit of skiing/hiking and didnt know you could buy gore-tex to sew yourself... though I'm a long way from it being worthwhile me trying to make something with it. I'm really impressed, hope you have lots of great trips in them
7/27/10 3:56 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

New Look 6569
photo
Review by snowflake0... on 7/5/10
Read Review

Vogue 8806 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8806 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6548 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Marfy 1101
photo
Review by Sigrid. on 9/1/07
Read Review

Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Late lunch tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt
Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us