Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Fashion Sewing Group: 1960 (twin set) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2185 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Liana
photo
About Lianastarstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 8/31/03
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 125 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/9/04 11:34 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Georgene said...
Just beautiful! I love all your elegant touches. I know what you mean about watching out for the 'bathrobe effect'. Your cardigan jacket is probably as comfy as a bathrobe, but looks stylish
5/10/04 0:05 AM
jlg said...
What an elegant outfit. I'm impressed with how you took this year's trends and gave them your own style.
5/10/04 5:56 AM
PegL said...
Beautiful outfit! You look very stylish in it too!
5/10/04 7:05 AM
Sew it seams said...
Your outfit is so beautiful!!! I love all your details. The pink tweed is perfect for the bias cut flounce on the skirt. Thank you for posting all the photos. Great review.
5/10/04 7:45 AM
Lynngray said...
Wow, you look Great. Beautiful outfit. Love the color
5/10/04 8:38 AM
SandraB said...
What a great looking outfit. Your extra touches make this simple pattern look so beautiful, elegant and expensive.
5/10/04 9:09 AM
drsue said...
What a wonderful ensemble. Your work and creativity really paid off.
5/10/04 9:10 AM
kathi s said...
Loove your suit! Its a knockout! I adore Chanel style- it's so elegant. Fabrics are perfect and the little touch of selvedge trim really sets them off!
5/10/04 9:24 AM
ragner said...
Wow, that skirt fits you perfectly and it's so flattering! Meeooooww!
5/10/04 10:03 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Wow! Y'know, I was just looking at this pattern the other day, wondering if it was one I needed. Maybe it is... Anyway, the whole ensemble looks fabulous!
5/10/04 10:04 AM
PVA said...
Wow, Liana, you really hit a home run with this one! All I can do is repeat what the others have written. You look like you could walk into any elegant affair and turn every head in the place! Thank you so much for sharing all the details as well as the finished product. I love it.
5/10/04 10:31 AM
AnneM said...
What a nice outfit! Very inspiring. I don't look at that chanel outfit & see much of interest. Obviously I need to work on my outfit imagination, since it inspired such a wonderful outfit from you.
5/10/04 10:54 AM
Liana said...
Thanks everyone. I was pleased with this. Anne, Funny you should mention the Chanel photo. I saw it and liked the effect, then thought, hate the tank top, hate the skirt, color is bad, it's too skimpy. Then I wondered what I saw in it! But the idea is so good. Once we get one of those, we can run with it.
5/10/04 11:36 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Beautiful! What skirt pattern did you use?
5/10/04 2:14 PM
Liana said...
Oopsy Daisy, It's Burda 8566.
5/10/04 2:17 PM
busy91 said...
Very Chanel. You did an awesome job.
5/10/04 3:53 PM
moushka said...
Awesome! Gorgeous! What an inspirational project! Thanks for sharing all te details.
5/10/04 4:13 PM
Jan B. said...
Great outfit, great job! I love all your details. Did you make the ribbon trim you chose not to use on this outfit? Inquiring minds want to know! Thanks for your thoughtful, detailed review.
5/10/04 7:53 PM
Liana said...
Jan B., Yes, I made the ribbon trim too. It was in Threads #12. (I'm a fast worker!) I've been thinking of it for a long time, and thought this might be the season for it, but this wasn't the garment. Sigh.
5/10/04 7:56 PM
MaryBeth said...
This suit is wonderful with all the details you've added. I love the way the cuff are not too big but are distinctive. Inspiring!
5/10/04 8:39 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
So designer!! Just wonderful!!!
5/10/04 8:48 PM
layla said...
Stunning Style !! Love This Outfit !!
5/10/04 9:18 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Very elegant! I have the same tweed fabric. It seemed to work okay with the knit as a trim. Interesting. Love the look of the skirt also.
5/11/04 5:55 AM
Donna Wingfield said...
The top pattern in this twinset has become my very favorite. I've added a dart, made it sleeveless, made it with a funnel neck, made it from cotton knits, wool jersey, and on and on. Liana's review has insprired me to try the cardigan.
7/18/04 12:26 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Liana, somehow I missed this wonderful review! I absolutely love your outfit. I think I am going to shamelessly copy the skirt. ;-)
7/18/04 12:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-112
photo
Review by sandramary on 9/5/09
Read Review

New Look 6223 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6223 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5887 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5887 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used crate cover crate cover
photo
Review by raymondmom on 2/15/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Play Date V-Neck Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Play Date V-Neck Tee Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us