Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1175 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 715 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR
About SueVstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 427
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 106 people
patterns reviewed: 394
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/12/10 1:41 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Audrey B. said...
So cute! I bet you could wear a tank under it and a belt over it to dress it down.
7/12/10 2:24 PM
BeckyNoSleep said...
That is very cute, and unique. It would look great as a jumper over a leotard-type top and some leggings!
7/12/10 3:35 PM
annie11 said...
I love the fact that you are sewing something just for the challenge! Your dress turned out really cute, and I'm glad to hear that it was fun to sew. I have a few Vogue patterns that I've never made because I didn't think I'd wear them- I think I might get them out and give them a go just for the fun of it, thanks to your review!
7/12/10 4:46 PM
Lynz said...
I really like your dress. I might give this one a go as your version looks much nicer than the vogue one.
7/12/10 5:47 PM
margk said...
Good on you for going ahead with this. I think it is for a similar reason I enjoy sewing costumes - they may only get worn once, but they are fun!
7/12/10 6:48 PM
donna mel said...
Wow this is beautiful! And looks like it was fun to make.
7/12/10 9:25 PM
Athene said...
Your dress is lovely. Thank you for the review. It is really good seeing this dress on a dressform as it definitely shows how low the neckline is. I have the pattern but have not yet made it and seeing the neckline is very helpful to me.
7/13/10 0:10 AM
nicegirl said...
You are brave to tackle this challenging piece! I think it came out really cute. Would love to see it on you!
7/13/10 1:57 PM
JETrinity said...
Go ahead and wear it backwards. No will know. I have looked at this dress so many times and wondered it anyone would sew it.
7/13/10 6:43 PM
Blooms said...
I would love to see this on you. I have bought this pattern and a voile to make it up as a beach dress.
7/14/10 3:24 AM
Levone said...
Wow, this is a cute dress! I would love to see how it actually looks on you. You should definitely wear it...maybe to a summer wedding or some type of formal/semi-formal event.
7/14/10 4:55 PM
Ann Smith said...
I'm so glad you made this. I've got the pattern too with the same idea that it would be fun to construct even if not wearable by me. I would love to see it on you....
8/7/10 4:14 PM
wzrdreams said...
Could you elaborate more on the sizing and fit? What do you mean by "which brings me to... if any of you want to borrow this dress... you can!" ? Why? Modesty aside, how did this fit you? Did you make the 12 with idea to fit it for yourself? I ask because I want to know how accurate the fit is. The pattern says "close fitting" and we all know how subjective that term is when there is anywhere between 0-2 7/8" ease in "close fitting" dress patterns. I have this pattern and do want to give it a try so more information would be very helpful. Thank you. ETA: Thank you for your additional help and advice!
8/11/10 11:57 AM
MissyBelle said...
Well, I'm silly enough to wear this dress with ankle boots so you've inspired me. You did a great job constructing it.
3/11/11 7:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

McCall's m6508
photo
Review by creatarian on 2/1/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Pleated Mary Janes Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )
Peek-A Boo Elastic Band Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo - 8 years )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8817 Misses Top
photo
Review by jlg on 7/17/13
Read Review

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern
Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5354 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Butterick 5354 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4400 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 4400 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $15.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us