SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1111 (Kaleidoscope Top)

1 more reviews
Viewed 697 times 
Reviewed by:Auntie Allyn
photo

 
 
About Auntie Allynstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/18/08
Reviews: 34 (patterns: 34)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 31 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/10 9:10 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
NancyGT said... (8/7/14 11:56 AM) Reply
Thank you for the review. I purchased this and made a mock up muslin, following HP's advise to always make a muslin. Good that I did. The pattern printing was off (seriously off - one piece printed as if it were folded on top of itself and the directions for the asymetrical top which you made were cropped mid column vertically - totally unreadable). The 'under bust' seam was, as you say, much lower than expected. Even in a size 6, the buttons were also much more to the side of my bust than expected - one could NOT wear it open as drawn on the envelope cover. I liked the curve of the neckline -- but all in all, thought that I would redraft most of the pieces should I make it. Ultimately, I threw away the pattern (although I copied the neckline for use elsewhere) and went to something else. Rule 1 - ALWAYS MAKE A TEST PIECE!
thornberry said... (7/15/14 2:31 AM) Reply
Thanks for your review. I've had this pattern for ages and hadn't used it - but now that I see it as a dress, I definitely will! Thanks for making me think beyond the square.
tshores said... (8/24/13 2:43 AM) Reply
I just made this pattern and the bodice is even longer on me--it goes down to my waist! Not at all what the picture shows on the pattern, and I was really disappointed. Should've checked; I only checked width and length. So I'm going to redo the pattern and try it again because I do like the fit otherwise.
Q Valley Mary said... (7/16/10 11:16 AM) Reply
This pattern really shows off your beautiful fabric. And I'll bet it's very comfortable to wear.
Karen6790 said... (7/15/10 9:55 PM) Reply
I like the proportion on you, at least how it ended up - and the color of course is fabulous.
Gelbean said... (7/15/10 9:40 PM) Reply
Very nice! The color is great on you!
michellep74 said... (7/15/10 11:57 AM) Reply
Very cute! I like seeing this made as a dress--I was considering that, too.
Nancy K said... (7/15/10 9:45 AM) Reply
So glad to see this as I bought it too. It looks great on you.
crazygrad said... (7/15/10 9:16 AM) Reply
Cool! I was thinking of making this soon (actually, I was hoping to have the first review). And I did think about making it as a dress. You look great!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2009-102

photo
by: Immelu

Review
Butterick 5932

photo
by: marec

Review
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details