Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 453 times 158 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:snuzal
photo
About snuzalstar
NA NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 7/7/07
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:7/19/10 0:52 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
goosegreen said...
I'm with you. There's a couple of small things that annoy with this pattern but nothing that can't be fixed. ;) I feel that the back pockets are too big for my bum. Yours look great!
7/19/10 4:30 AM
Rebecca D said...
You got a great result with these. Thanks for a thorough review.
7/19/10 6:33 AM
MNBarb said...
I sense your disappointment. It seems to come to me when I have really high expectations for a pattern/fabric. Sometimes you need to put the thing in your closet for awhile and pull it back out in a few days. I think the jeans fit you nicely in front and back. Lots of people had problems with the zipper. Go back and look at your derriere photo, you might not be seeing that it looks quite good!
7/19/10 7:15 AM
Gelbean said...
I think the jeans look great on you!
7/19/10 3:20 PM
snuzal said...
Hmmm thanks guys... I do feel they look nice, I love that bootleg style. But I just think overall I was disappointed with the pattern, it wasn't the be all and end all like so many had made it out to be lol. Now if someone would just make a great pattern for boyfriend jeans that would be fabulous.. haha
7/19/10 3:58 PM
Annette1 said...
GREAT jeans, with a WONDERFUL fit! I love the bootcut, as well. I've never made this Jalie jeans pattern, but I did make the other one, and I converted them to bootcuts, too. Matter of fact, that one might work for your boyfriend jeans, now that I think about it. Very nice!
7/20/10 0:58 AM
susiestitcher said...
Snuzal - Your jeans look wonderful. I also had issues with the back pockets being too long and the placement being difficult. Don't get too discouraged about not liking this pattern as much as others have. I love my jeans from this pattern, but our body types are very different. Your jeans from McCall's 5894 are great. That's why there are so many patterns out there. I have had many disappointments where a pattern seemed to fit everyone else beautifully yet my version was a flop on my body! You might step back for a day or two and then see if there are any drafting changes that would make you feel better about trying this one again. I suggest inserting the zipper using different instructions than the Jalie instructions, as there is a mistake (or problem) in the written instructions and the drawing. I also opted for a different waistband, with good results. Still, you ended up with a great pair of jeans. Yay!
7/20/10 8:06 AM
TanitIsis said...
Interesting how different sizes and body-types make for a different fit---I find the pockets on mine really short! I love this pattern, but then a) it's the only one I've tried and b) my version(s) are so altered they hardly resemble the pattern picture at all anyway! (I didn't even try to do the bias waistband; I made a contoured one.
7/20/10 12:09 PM
snuzal said...
Good suggestions thanks ladies :o) They do look nice on. The bias waistband has already stretched beyond belief. I'm going to put a couple of darts in it today just so it holds in a bit tighter, I will do the swayback adjustment on the next pair as well.
7/20/10 4:17 PM
3HoursPast said...
Hey dolly, my idea is try lengthening the back thigh area a little bit. just an idea. Also you blog won't let me comment in any meaningful way (the brown gets in the way....)
7/23/10 6:11 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Simplicity 4668 Bag
photo
Review by Allisonsew... on 5/15/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6357
photo
Review by lovenicky on 8/21/10
Read Review

Petite Plus 504 Pattern
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3874 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3874 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8993 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8993 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us