SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans)

162 more reviews
Viewed 457 times 
Reviewed by:snuzal
photo

 
 
About snuzalstar
NA NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 7/7/07
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:7/19/10 0:52 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
goosegreen said...
I'm with you. There's a couple of small things that annoy with this pattern but nothing that can't be fixed. ;) I feel that the back pockets are too big for my bum. Yours look great!
7/19/10 4:30 AM
Rebecca D said...
You got a great result with these. Thanks for a thorough review.
7/19/10 6:33 AM
MNBarb said...
I sense your disappointment. It seems to come to me when I have really high expectations for a pattern/fabric. Sometimes you need to put the thing in your closet for awhile and pull it back out in a few days. I think the jeans fit you nicely in front and back. Lots of people had problems with the zipper. Go back and look at your derriere photo, you might not be seeing that it looks quite good!
7/19/10 7:15 AM
Gelbean said...
I think the jeans look great on you!
7/19/10 3:20 PM
snuzal said...
Hmmm thanks guys... I do feel they look nice, I love that bootleg style. But I just think overall I was disappointed with the pattern, it wasn't the be all and end all like so many had made it out to be lol. Now if someone would just make a great pattern for boyfriend jeans that would be fabulous.. haha
7/19/10 3:58 PM
Annette1 said...
GREAT jeans, with a WONDERFUL fit! I love the bootcut, as well. I've never made this Jalie jeans pattern, but I did make the other one, and I converted them to bootcuts, too. Matter of fact, that one might work for your boyfriend jeans, now that I think about it. Very nice!
7/20/10 0:58 AM
susiestitcher said...
Snuzal - Your jeans look wonderful. I also had issues with the back pockets being too long and the placement being difficult. Don't get too discouraged about not liking this pattern as much as others have. I love my jeans from this pattern, but our body types are very different. Your jeans from McCall's 5894 are great. That's why there are so many patterns out there. I have had many disappointments where a pattern seemed to fit everyone else beautifully yet my version was a flop on my body! You might step back for a day or two and then see if there are any drafting changes that would make you feel better about trying this one again. I suggest inserting the zipper using different instructions than the Jalie instructions, as there is a mistake (or problem) in the written instructions and the drawing. I also opted for a different waistband, with good results. Still, you ended up with a great pair of jeans. Yay!
7/20/10 8:06 AM
TanitIsis said...
Interesting how different sizes and body-types make for a different fit---I find the pockets on mine really short! I love this pattern, but then a) it's the only one I've tried and b) my version(s) are so altered they hardly resemble the pattern picture at all anyway! (I didn't even try to do the bias waistband; I made a contoured one.
7/20/10 12:09 PM
snuzal said...
Good suggestions thanks ladies :o) They do look nice on. The bias waistband has already stretched beyond belief. I'm going to put a couple of darts in it today just so it holds in a bit tighter, I will do the swayback adjustment on the next pair as well.
7/20/10 4:17 PM
3HoursPast said...
Hey dolly, my idea is try lengthening the back thigh area a little bit. just an idea. Also you blog won't let me comment in any meaningful way (the brown gets in the way....)
7/23/10 6:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Vogue Patterns 9475 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Other Refashion Contest

photo
by: Mikgirl

Review
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Pants Pattern

Buy Now